We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, OK dinner.”
Review of Naniboujou Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naniboujou Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've been here a few times and had lovely lunches. This time as we're hiking the North Shore we had to make a stop at Naniboujou because of its history and beauty. We had dinner that for me was just "meh". Tomato soup, house salad, walleye pan fried (way too greasy and no spice) w/ wildrice (dry) and mushy but tasty vegetable mix. Now, my sister really loved her meal. The Superior salad and a wild rice burger. The service was good but I wouldn't return for dinner. I was sad that they didn't serve their fabulous turkey and brie sandwich for dinner...to die for! Anyhow, it still is the coolest, most beautiful lodge with an outstanding history on the North Shore. I'll never pass it by....it's just amazing to look at. Please take a look if you're in the area. And across the road is Judge C. Magney State Park with a fabulous hike up to Devil's Kettle....the water from the falls up there drops into the kettle and no one knows where it comes out! It's a basin, they'e put dye in there to see the water flow route and there's no trace of it. So cool.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank MollyAW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had finished a wonderful two weeks out on the Gunflint Trail, and before heading south and west for home decided to gibe the Naniboujou Lodge a try. We were not disappointed, and will look forward to making a return. The food items were well prepared, flavorful, and tasty. Service was top notch.
Being a former New Yorker and Yankees fan, I especially took delight in dining at a place where the great Babe Ruth had been a member. Art work was also a special treat. Sometime I would like to stay overnight here - just can't get any closer to the lake, and he view is superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I really, really want to give this place five "stars," as it has much going for it. The history, location and uniqueness of the lodge are well worth the trip. If you are looking for a place to unwind, be off line, comfortable and relaxed, then this is the place for you. Near perfect, but not quite. They miss the mark rather disappointingly in customer service.

Coffee. The only "complimentary" coffee is available 7-8 am. It's served in limited quantities, so be prepared to race other guests to get a cup or hassle the staff for multiple refills. Not good. There are no coffee or hot pots available in the rooms. The only other time coffee is available is in the dining room during meals. Frankly, I need coffee more often than at mealtimes. Given the remoteness os this location, the coffee situation is just bad.

Snacks. All the staff leave the hotel at 9:30 pm, so it is best that you get tucked in before then. There are a few candy bars available at the front desk for purchase. Don't even think about chips, nuts or other salty snacks. Beverages are absent too. Again, given the remoteness of this lodge this is a real problem. Pack your goodies ahead of time.

And finally, don't expect any sort of acknowledgment or accommodation if anything goes wrong with your room. Unfortunately, due to recent remodeling and a very heavy rain, there was significant a significant water leak in one corner of our room. We brought it to the attention of the staff right away and they checked on it, then the maintenance workers checked on it and indicated that the problem was something outside of the building. The solution was for us to put towels down and walk on them during our stay. We were accommodating and did not complain - we even changed out the five towels sopping up the mess ourselves. We did not expect to be comped the room, however, we were quite taken back by the owners dismissiveness regarding the situation when we checked out.

In short, we came away from a relaxing stay at a wonderfully unique lodge only slightly off put by the staff and customer service.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
14  Thank moiraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We celebrated Mom's 90th birthday. There were 20 of us for the weekend. The hospitality was great and the food superb. They really went out of their way to accommodate our requests and made the weekend very special. Highly recommended. The hike to the waterfalls was a nice activity and the nightly campfire with smores was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWE2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so special and we were pleasantly surprised at every turn. My husband and I were in Minneapolis for a wedding and decided to extend our trip and explore the beautiful Lake Superior area and we stumbled across the Naniboujou Lodge. We thought it looked a bit old and in need of updates, but were drawn to the beautiful grounds and of course the many strong TripAdviser reviews.

We pulled in and immediately fell in love. The grounds are simply stunning and there was so much space to enjoy. We were across the street from a lovely hiking trail. Additionally, the food at the lodge was excellent! A reminder that the rooms don't have TVs, phones and definitely no wi-f. We also had next to no cell service. But we found it to be a very nice disconnect. I don't know when our travels will take us back to Naniboujou, but I hope they do!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed five nights at the Naniboujou Lodge as part of a Road Scholar program. The dining room is known for its colorful Cree painted ceiling with a large stone fireplace at one end. Meals are delicious and nutritious. The lodge does not have internet access, cell phones do not work, and there are no TVs. The environment is so beautiful that none of these conveniences are needed; we didn't miss them and spent time bird watching and reading in the solarium. One can hike in the State Park across the road on the numerous trails with one leading to the Devils Kettle. The Lake Superior shoreline provides a great opportunity for peaceful and enjoyable walks. There were still ice sculptures floating on the water in May encouraging us to use our imaginations as to what we saw in them. The lodge is a great location to relax and enjoy nature.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but comfortable and look out on Lake Superior where one has a view of beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're ever close to Naniboujou, you'd be a fool to not go. It's one of the most unique places in Minnesota. The location is gorgeous and the inside (especially main dining hall) is even better. The food is great and the staff are very friendly. I can't say enough good things about Naniboujou.

Room Tip: Your swimming pool is Lake Superior and the Fitness Center is the various hiking trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
13.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
13.8 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
37.4 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naniboujou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naniboujou Lodge

Address: 20 Naniboujou Trl, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2141
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naniboujou is a place to come home to! Originally built as a private exclusive club in the 1920's - boasting such charter members as Babe Ruth, Ring Lardner, and Jack Dempsey. Naniboujou is on the National Register of Historic Places and is open seasonally - featuring an award winning restaurant as well as lodging. In keeping with the historic nature, Naniboujou continues to be media free and offers guests an opportunity to unplug, unwind, and completely relax - either in their room, the grand dining room, or on the shore of Lake Superior. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naniboujou Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing