We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, the rest is ok.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naniboujou Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naniboujou Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Mn.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, the rest is ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got there a bit later in the evening so didn't take advantage of all the things they have there, including a solarium, restaurant, etc.

The knotty pine they have in the place is great. Loved that. But the room is pretty small and a bit older.

It is right next to Lake Superior and just across the street from a great state park, which we were able to take advantage of.

Great locaton, but not a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drccds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    27
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Naniboujou is beautiful. The building....the expanse of the grounds and the views of the lake.
I think I could have overlooked a few things, if my initial experience with the reservation clerk via the telephone had gone better. She was rude and impatient as I asked questions. I attempted to choose a room from their website, not really knowing which wing was which. I wanted something quiet and ignorantly assumed that all their rooms would be (come on - we're out in the woods!) Silly me. They have a great restaurant and that means noise. We stayed above the kitchen, and would have loved the room in the winter, but not in July when we needed to have the windows open 24/7. The only time it was quiet was after 10pm and before 6am. Constant hum/noise from the outdoor kitchen venting etc....(could a partial roof be installed to bounce the noise away from the building??) Aside from that, we liked the food, the waitstaff (yeah Sarah!), the English Tea in the afternoon, the Solarium, the Sleep Number bed and the waterfront. Our fireplace room was larger then some that we saw, but the shower was itsy bitsy. If you dropped the soap, you would have to open the door in order to pick it up. I did not notice on the website, whether it said shampoo wasn't provided. We did not get any. I thought they did a marvelous job of keeping the place in good repair. It must take a lot of work just to touch up the paint. We commented on the noise in our room, upon checkout, and were told we should stay in a different one next time. I thought that was a very poor response. A bit of empathy would have gone a long way. Perhaps it was the same woman who took my reservation. I would return for a meal, but would stay in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzyQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remer, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

So three girlfriends and I celebrated a momentous birthday together with a trip along the North Shore in Minnesota. We stayed one night at Naniboujou Lodge just north of Grand Marais, MN. This hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places. Wow! It is truly a hidden gem. The rooms were clean, safe, affordable, and cheerful hotel staff. The highlight was dinner in the Naniboujou great room, painted in bright primary colors of Cree Indian designs, with Minnesota's largest native rock fireplace as the centerpiece. As you walk in, the room absolutely takes your breath away. The menu was delightful, food delicious and wait staff friendly and efficient. The hotel is located right on Lake Superior so you can walk along the beach looking for agates and there is a state park nearby for hiking. Please note: there is no tv or internet coverage, so you may go thru temporary withdrawal from the world at large, but perhaps a pleasant respite from life's demands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusannaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I made my reservation on March 20th, asking for 2 rooms of the east side, facing the lake, and I asked more than once if I would be facing the lake. This was our second time at Naniboujou. everything was great the first time. But very upset this time. I would never again tell people to go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shereen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chante26
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ah - to sit by Lake Superior or read a book in the Naniboujou Lodge Lounge is my idea of a great weekend! This is the place to go for that perfect tranquility to just leave your cell phones and computers at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chante26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for their "Winter Weekend", which is a two night, five meal package. Our room was very nice. The problem was the food. First of all, we had eaten there many times and were always thrilled with the food. We didn't know ahead of time that we wouldn't be choosing from a menu and that each meal would be costing over $25.00. Not one of the meals were worth that amount....a pasta dinner, scrambled eggs + sausage breakfast, a bag lunch with a sandwich & fruit, and a steak Diane dinner. The dinner was the only meal that came close to being worth the money. We were also charged a more than generous gratuity upon checking in. We had some special dietary needs. While we were asked about them, little was done to accommodate them. We found the weekend to be overpriced, and won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a lakeside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Horsepackage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a wonderful historical lodge that offers a great dining experience and a laid-back, restful stay. It's located on the shore of Lake Superior so the sunrises are spectacular. One caveat...there are no TV's in the rooms (no wifi capability either).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyOlathe_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
37.4 mi away
Gunflint Lodge
Gunflint Lodge
#5 of 30 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#11 of 30 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naniboujou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naniboujou Lodge

Property: Naniboujou Lodge
Address: 20 Naniboujou Trl, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2141
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naniboujou is a place to come home to! Originally built as a private exclusive club in the 1920's - boasting such charter members as Babe Ruth, Ring Lardner, and Jack Dempsey. Naniboujou is on the National Register of Historic Places and is open seasonally - featuring an award winning restaurant as well as lodging. In keeping with the historic nature, Naniboujou continues to be media free and offers guests an opportunity to unplug, unwind, and completely relax - either in their room, the grand dining room, or on the shore of Lake Superior. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naniboujou Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing