We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special spot, cold weather, warm staff ”
Review of Bearskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bearskin Lodge
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

If you want to truly get away in the North Woods, this is a wonderful location and destination. Totally not crowded ... 26 miles up the Gunflint Trail. X-country skiing, hiking, sauna, hot tub, cozy quarters and warm staff - Andy, Quinn, Bob, Sue, et al. Luxuriously rustic. Rusticly luxurious. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank JayWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 104 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family of four spent a week at Bearskin Lodge in June. The cabin was amazing and the scenery was breath-taking. We spend a lot of time up North in the summer, but this was our first time at Bearskin. I would have rated this property a 5/5 except for the customer service.

Don't get me wrong - most of the people were outstanding. The lovely gal that took our reservation and the gent that helped us at the front desk to get our wood were both wonderful. But, the older lady that was working there (caretaker, perhaps?) - acted as if we were a big nuisance to her. We had to deal with her a couple of times and it was unpleasant each time. This really soured our experience at Bearskin.

The property is great. The location is ideal. We loved it and our two kids - aged 10 and 12 - both loved it. We won't be going back because of the unwelcoming environment, but if you can handle that, then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearskinLodge, Owner at Bearskin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

It sounds like your family had a delightful, memorable trip to Bearskin Lodge. Bearskin is genuinely a one-of-a-kind resort, a very beautiful and unique family-friendly destination on the edge of the BWCA. Our staff members and owners work long, exhausting hours in the summer but in spite of that, we generally get very positive feedback about the personal quality of our interactions with Bearskin visitors.

Through our summer naturalist programs and our complimentary Monday night picnics, we develop nice relationships with our week-long summer guests. It's been 6 months since you were here, so at this point it isn't easy to reconstruct what happened last June -- but if you stayed a week with us, we most certainly will remember your family. You can help us improve from the incident by emailing us the details of the "nuisance" interaction that bothered you. We're always striving to improve the quality of our guest relationships and perhaps we can learn from this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. There is plenty of hiking,scenery and wildlife to see. The people at the lodge and very kind and helpful. They will go out of their way to make sure your trip is everything you want it to be. We have been going here for years. We always hate to leave and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: descriptions and pictures of the cabins and lodges are on line. They do not have a fitness center o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

There's no doubt that Minnesota's North Shore from Duluth to Grand Portage is a slice of heaven, and Bearskin Lodge only adds to the experience. We stayed in Cabin #2 - extremely clean, nicely equipped with all the amenities you need and no T.V, no wireless access, no CD player - a place to truly decode, unwind and take some deep relaxing breaths.

The views of the lake from your cabin door are beautiful and nature surrounds you in its own beauty of sights and sounds. Hiking trails (cross country in the winter) are plentiful. The drive is only 25 miles to Grand Marais if you find an urge to shop and dine.

Room Tip: Think elegant rustic. This isn't a spa with lush towels and robes. The amenities are fairly bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We return regularly to Bearskin Lodge, enjoying both summer and winter on the Gunflint Trail. This is our slice of heaven, and the second slice comes from the Fruits of the Forest pie made fresh for us by Bearskin staff - do NOT pass this treat by! This August we stayed in the charming and beautifully-equipped Birch Cabin and made the most of summer: berry picking, canoeing, swimming (although quite chilly!), kayaking, fishing, hiking, spectacular star-gazing during the Perseid meteor shower and searching for the allusive moose. Bearskin offered great stuff for our teen and pre-teen, including art activities and leech racing (yes, you read that right), and new this year: paddle boarding. They hardly noticed that they were completely unplugged and read 7 books between them during our week! The staff are always friendly and welcoming. We'll be back again next year in January AND in August.

Room Tip: All the cabins and lodge rooms are beautiful but be aware that the capacity numbers usually include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearskinLodge, Owner at Bearskin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you! That made our day. Bearskin doesn't aggressively pursue Trip Advisor reviews the way many other businesses do. A lovely review like this is always a delightful surprise. Thank you for taking the time to tell us we're doing a good job. Our whole staff works pretty hard to provide a positive experience at Bearskin, so it's fun for all of us when a guest says such nice things online.

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Bearskin. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our cabin was beautiful and immaculate. Blueberry pie was waiting for us on the table. Andy referred a fishing guide who took me on a boundary waters adventure that included a thunderstorm paddle, a hilly and slippery portage, and ultimately, our limit of walleye. Other Bearskin highlights include: The Honeymoon Bluff sunset, canoeing and kayaking on Bearskin, fishing and relaxing on the dock, and just sharing family time in such a peaceful and scenic part of the world. We love Bearskin and we hope to return. Hopefully, well before my next 50th.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 63jayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent three nights in cabin #10. It was a beautiful cabin, with its own private dock, just a short walk down the path. The living area was very nicely furnished with a recliner, couch and a great chair in which to sit and read. The screen porch was awesome, when it wasn't raining. I caught a nice northern pike off the dock and we saw a moose out for a swim while we were riding on the pontoon. Even though we only had one sunny and warm afternoon during our stay, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Oh, and the service from the workers and management was great!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
20.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
19.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
16.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#15 of 32 in Grand Marais
54 reviews
21.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
14.5 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#18 of 32 in Grand Marais
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge

Address: 124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3003
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $100 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakeside accommodation that's big on cross-country skiing and hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing