We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Fish. Neat shop”

Dockside Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish. Neat shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped for lunch in Grand Marais on our way to Thunder Bay ON. We had wanted to go to the Angry Trout but there was a line out the door so we went to the Dockside Fish Market instead. I had the special fresh fried Lake Superior Herring with fries and my husband had the cod with chips. They had fresh fish for sale and other seafood- mussels etc and cheese too. Our food was hot, fresh and delicious. The portions were huge otherwise I would have tried some of the other goodies for sale. Neat little place. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    96
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little price but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Outside seating is not the most comfortable but the ambiance makes up for it. Very good food. Superior whitefish is a good choice, but anything on the menu is good. Staff is very welcoming. Clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveler4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunches...Great Take out Fish Market!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have had lunch at dockside quite a few times. It is just fine for a lunch but not close to having fish at some of the more fine dining places... But having said that usually do stop there for lunch the fish and chips are always served quickly and taste just fine. The view is a pretty much Okay." The best part is the very friendly staff really nice folks. Great place to stop for a quick lunch and to relax for a bit. Dockside has a few really great wines at very reasonable prices. They are a great place to buy fish.. ( it is a fish market) We never leave there without buying their Tuna.....It is the BEST! We love this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Freshest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were camping about 50 miles away and decided to have some great fish. We had the herring baskets. a pile of fillets on a bed of ultra crisp fries sitting out back on the deck looking at the endless water. The fish was cooked perfectly what's more to say except for the great beer selection and they have wine. Along with local catch and other seafood for sale. Don't forget the herring caviar it's spectacular. The chowder is wonderful also. Well worth the drive. Don't Pass by they cook great food very fast !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldfisher132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norborne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped for lunch. Fish was very fresh and tasty!! Loved the tarter sauce! A little breezy on the back deck the day were were there, but we enjoyed our lakeside seats!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing