We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh fish”

Dockside Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with a friend on a cold, rainy day in Grand Marais. We each had one of the soups of the day - flavorful and chunky. I had a wrap sandwich - more food than I needed with the soup, so it went home for later. Not many tables and it filled up fast; people just kept ordering and took food to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deapackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    98
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Any visit to Grand Marais requires a quick stop to purchase some fish at the market. It's caught fresh daily and has fantastic flavor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stopped for smoked fish- had a little lunch. Very nice selection of locally caught fish as well as seafood. The soup was excellent and the whitefish very tasty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and hot, loved it!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick dinner. Had their fish and chips basket with freshly caught whitefish. Mmmmm! Came out hot and delicious! Their tarter sauce had a lovely dill flavor to it, I wanted more to dunk my fish in! The gals there were so friendly, and they were keeping the tables clear and wiped off for more people to enjoy their food. They have a great deck out back with a lovely view of the harbor. I wish I would have had more time to try some of their deli items. If you need a sandwich, chips, cookie, or piece of saran-wrapped chocolate cake, go here! It all looked so good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
308 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stopped here based on other reviewers suggestion of the fish and chips. They were good, nice to have a variety of choices of the fish for the fish and chips. The dining area is small and the day we visited it was very cold so no outside dining. Prepare to take your food to go if the place is busy. Also, try their lemon cake, it is awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing