We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to enjoy Northern MN”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have stayed at the HJL 4 times now, and will continue to return for future trips. The location is excellent on a peninsula on the lake, all cabins are right on the water's edge, and even the road in offers excellent views of the surrounding forests and lakes. We've seen several animals on our trips, as well as caught fish on Hungry Jack Lake. We've also canoed, hiked, hunted, and in general enjoyed the land around the lodge.
Additionally, the hospitality from the owners is great! They are there if you need them, but don't bother you if you just want to enjoy the peace and quiet of the Northwoods. The food in the lodge is good too.
All in all a very good spot to spend a vacation in Northern MN.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReaganBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Can't wait to go back! The cabins are great and so is the staff. I only wish real life was like this! Get up, coffee, go on the lake, fish, come back for lunch, more fishing, back for dinner and the bar, hit the sauna, man life is rough here. Like I said, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickle7o9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you want to get out of the city and leave technology behind, go here. They do have internet and tv at the lodge if you want to have that. We stayed in the linx cabin which was nice and cozy, good beds and a nice wood stove to keep the place warm. Forrest and Ericka were great hosts and their dogs were nice and friendly. The fishing was very good, the one employee Mike knows all the good spots on the lake to find fish and will point them out on a map for you, and use leeches, they just work better. I almost forgot about the sauna, it is a very nice amenity to enjoy if you like. The most relaxing time I have had in a long time. I will be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just stayed in a cabin at the Hungry Jack, perfect spot for rest & relaxation. Very clean place, very comfortable bed. There's nothing more peaceful than watching the sun rise over the lake with a cup of coffee and breakfast from your own kitchen. Short walk from the cabin to the Caribou Rock hiking trail, with a view at the top so awesome I almost want to keep it secret. End the day on your own private deck as the sun goes does down. What could be better? I highly recommend you stay at the Hungry Jack. If you're stressed out - go here now - you will feel better for it! Bonus - in a couple of weeks the fall colors will be amazing!

Room Tip: Fox cabin is perfect for 1-3 people and has the best lake view. They also have bigger cabins to choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for one week last summer. Cabins average. Very steep decent to dock to get boats down each day. Then of course up again at end of the day. No locks on cabins is a bit of a problem as you launch for a whole day gone, leaving your valuables in the cabin. Lots of long portages if you want to go to more than hungry Jack Lake. Two younger people running the place and you can tell by the adding of more ATV trails and less quiet ambiance. I will say the fish dinner was very good and the bar with wifi was nice as well. I would not return to this spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BMcC004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at Hungry Jack Lodge this past weekend. Very nice place on a beautiful lake. Smallmouth fishing excellent with decent walleye results. The cabin was very nice with all the necessities and the main lodge is beautiful. The food was very good and the staff is very helpful especially Mike who took time to answer questions about the lake and area around it. Very nice guy. Had a really good time and felt it was a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As it turns out, the only public boat launch on Hungry Jack (off the Gunflint Trail) is at the Hungry Jack lodge. Its a reasonable fee to launch and park ($10.). However, due to a little misinformation, we understood it would be $5. The lady at the desk corrected me to say $10. (again, no big deal...fair price). I paused long enough just to say, " I must have misunderstood, thought it was $5..."
She was curt and perfunctory to finish the transaction...totally missing the opportunity to have kindly suggested we look around the very beautiful lodge and grounds and consider staying with them in the future....so we could use all their other facilities...including the boat launch.
But we won't likely be back...it didn't seem like a very friendly place !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
13.8 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
985 reviews
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
21.9 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground

Address: 372 Hungry Jack Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2008
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing