We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hungry Jack Lodge the last week of September of this year when the fall colors were peaking. It far exceeded are expectations. We stayed in the Wolf cabin which sits on a small hill overlooking the lake. Every cabin has it's own dock. The cabin reminded me of the cabins we would stay in up north when I was a kid. It was clean and in good repair.It was not luxurious, and I was happy about that. I don't go up north - especially to the Boundary Waters area - to feel like I am living at home. However, if rustic is not your cup of tea, they do have several updated cabins that are very nice and feel more like a home than a cabin. The Wolf cabin was nice, made of logs. It had a small kitchen with a full size refrigerator and apartment size stove that overlooked the lake, a combo living/bedroom with two queen beds and a couch. The beds and some of the log furniture in the cabin is original to the resort and those pieces are beautiful .The bathroom was nice with a tub and shower. There was a bar/eating area between the living area and the kitchen. And there was a nice gas fireplace that kept the cabin cozy and warm. It also had a small deck that held two heavy wood adirondack chairs and a small table. I loved it. They offer meal plans and we chose to get our breakfast and supper at the lodge - Bingo! we got that right! The food was incredible. Ericka is a wonderful cook - amazing actually - and every meal had generous portions. We did not go hungry.
The lodge is huge, made of logs with a big front porch and a large deck in back that overlooks the lake. There is a living room with a big stone fireplace and overstuffed sofas and chairs; there are books to read and games and puzzles you can use. The dining area has beautiful hickory tables and chairs and large windows that over look the deck and lake. There is a very nice bar and game room below with a flat screen TV for watching sports. This area walks out to a covered patio and then on to the lawn and lake. There are also some more heavy wooden adirondack chairs that sit out by the beach. There is a separate small building with his and hers saunas just to the left of the walkout. Forrest, the owner, is a friendly and helpful young man, not to mention handsome. He sat and talked with us a while about the history of the resort, activities in the area, advice about hiking trails etc. We rented a fishing boat one day and found he has very nice boats and motors, as well as canoes and kayaks you can rent. The boat had a fish finder in it and we were amazed at how many fish are in that lake!
We had a wonderful relaxing time and we highly recommend the Hungry Jack Lodge. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Check out Hungry Jack lodge's website. You can view photos of the cabins and pick the type that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My son rented Hungry Jack Lodge and all its cabins for two nights for his fall wedding. Friends came from far and wide and 75 people (including many children) enjoyed the lawn and beach, the Sauna, canoeing on the lake, and fall hiking on the nearby hiking trail.

Erika and Forrest were truly wonderful hosts, helping out with everything from use of a phone to change airplane reservations to providing a great setting (the lodge bar) for a pot luck party the night before the wedding.

Everyone liked the cabins, especially parents with small children. One large extended family found the large Deer Cabin to be perfect for them. Caribou and Elk worked particularly well for the families of the bride and groom. These three cabins are elegant, spacious, and very comfortable.

We had four meals in the lodge dining room - one great pork T-bone meal for families that arrived a day early, followed by a perfectly cooked breakfast the next morning. Then the day of the wedding, all of the guests were treated to a sit-down dinner that was worthy of any of the finest restaurants we have visited. The meal was topped by an excellent wedding cake prepared by one of the lodge chefs. The next morning the breakfast buffet featured the lodge's signature French toast and Blueberry pancakes.

The outdoor wedding was spectacular - how could it have been otherwise, considering the specular setting of Hungry Jack Lodge? But then again, if weather had forced us indoors, the lodge would have worked quite well also. After the wedding, the reception in the lodge's spacious dining room - with its high valeted ceilings and large glass windows looking out on the lake - was particularly elegant.

But the wedding could not have been so wonderful had it not been for Erika and Forrest's attention to the details of providing a seamless experience, from food and lodging to the details like speakers, canoes, sauna, space indoors and out for gathering and activities - everything was really well done.

We highly recommend Hungry Jack Lodge.

Room Tip: Deer Cabin is huge - for extended families. Elk and Caribou are modern with 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpoppendieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Hungry Jack Campground in the Moose cabin for three nights during a very rainy June. The main lodge was lovely, with great views and a charming dining room. The downstairs had a "family game room" feel, which is where we went to hang out on our second and third nights. Pizza and drinks are available in the downstairs area, so we had dinner there on those nights.

Our cabin was cozy with a big wood-burning stove, and some new and comfortable furniture. The kitchen was well equipped, and the bedrooms were small but sufficient for our family of 5. As one reviewer suggested, the cabin is a step above camping (in the rain), but not North Woods luxurious. We had a short trail behind the cabin to the lake and our own dock, which was nice to have, and the view from our deck was lovely.

The property itself appears to be undergoing construction/renovation, since there were a lot of construction noises and equipment around.

We did read about this history of this place, and the previous, who ran the place for many years and spent much time rebuilding and restoring it, passed away unexpectedly, leaving the lodge and campground to his son. Maybe with a little more experience, this place will regain its position as one of the most sought after destinations on the Gunflint Trail.

Room Tip: The tent sites are not near the lake. Take a look at the map on-line so you know what you're bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

All I can think is that perhaps this was once a nice place.

The good: Beautiful lakes nearby, lots of wildlife.

The bad: Everything else.

It appears to be a classic example of what happens when a person leaves his empire to his kid. You know; Kid goes to college, then inherits business and it coasts for awhile resting on it's laurels. Today this place is pretty run-down. In fact, the only part they seem to have fixed up really nice is the main lodge, where he lives with his girlfriend. The cabins have no locks so good luck leaving your valuables for the day while you are out paddling. The owner and his workers spend pretty much every waking hour running ATV's around the property. It felt more like I was at a dirt track than in a peaceful wilderness area. We watched while one worker actually started up the quadrunner at the main lodge and rode it to a nearby building. It took longer to start the machine, drive, then shut it off than it would have to just walk. This was common throughout the day, quadrunner start up, run for 15 seconds, shut off. A good portion of the day also involved listening to their skid loader working on moving rocks and dirt around the property. While they might say they are "improving" the property, one would think this work would be done early in the season or after the masses have gone in the fall, not right at the height of tourist season. The owner never so much as said hello to us or most of the other guests (we tried but he usually walked the other way when we made eye contact). You will also be "greeted" by one of the dogs they let run around the property. It's oh so fun and enjoyable when they rub up against you on your deck or while seated in the dining room trying to enjoy dinner, while the owner looks on and thinks nothing of it. These are outdoor dogs. Pretty gross.

For this place to have existed for so many years it can only mean that the original owner was a much more personable guy who really understood what it is that makes a place successful (happy guests).

If you are looking for just one step above a tent, you will probably be ok. If you want a cabin that will actually keep the bugs out you might be less than satisfied here.

There are other resorts in this area and on adjacent lakes. I would research carefully. Maybe find one run by an older couple who have been doing it for a couple decades.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank world_traveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErickaJB, Manager at Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear World Traveler,

We are truly sorry you thought our establishment was something that it is not. After the TRAGIC loss of Jerry, then the loss of our home and main lodge to a fire; it has taken some time to get to a good place, and back on our feet. Since the rebuild of our home, and lodge, we have been trying to focus on the rest of the resort. Last year we put new windows, and beautiful hardwood floors in three cabins, new appliances in our Premium cabins, and this year we are building a garage to help clean up the property.

Our cabins do not have keys, because there has never been a reason to have them. We are a family resort, hosting people who love and enjoy the outdoors; not people looking to steal from one another.

Forrest and I do have two really great dogs that run the resort with us. They live in the main lodge with us, which is where our restaurant and bar are. We do keep the dogs out of the dining area when people are eating, however most guests let the dogs back in to sit with them. We do have outside dining as well, and just as we ask people inside eating if they mind the dogs being there, we do the same for guests dining outside.

Our lodge is beautiful, and our cabins are rustic & all are different from each other and unique in their own way. We are NOT a Hilton in the woods, we are a Ma & Pa family resort trying to make ends meet in this economy. We do not have cell phone service or good Internet, but we do have great personalities, and always service with a smile :)

We also know, our place isn't always for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We rented the Caribou Cabin for 3 mights. Its just the two of us so we used the second teeny bedroom for our luggage. The cabin is meant for about 10 people and has two sofabeds and a large futon couch. The eating table is gigantic and takes up a lot of room. The kitchen was very good and had most of the accoutrements we needed. It was right on the water with a great view from the deck and had our own dock. We rented kayaks for the 3 days for $25 per kayak per day. They kayaks were small and cheap but did the job. We did a lot of paddling explored the whole lake. The cabin had nice windows that let in lots of fresh air but no bugs! The cabin was a combination of rustic and shabby with a new fridge, stove, windows, bathroom and was clean as a whistle.

Upsides: though it was in the high 80s it cooled off enough every night for comfortable sleep. there are 3 ceiling fans. Large deck with good view. Bathroom good enough, bed comfortable queens in teeny bedrooms. No keys on the property, leanred to relax into trusting (we're from chicago).

downsides: large cabin yet not one comfortable piece of furniture to sit on. Dark even with all lights blazing. The only place we could read was in bed or floating in our kayaks. The deck is nice and large, but it in the full hot sun all day so we couldn't stand to be out on it. Fall and spring would be more pleasant. this may be one of the better cabins there.

General: Forrest (owner) was a nice guy but not invasive. He had given me a lower price on the phone when booking since it was just two of us. The beautiful lodge offers nightly dinners. We tried it one night and had a nice salmon with wild rice and salad.

If I were returning to the area I would select a different lake, maybe a larger and more interesting one.

Room Tip: take caribou or one of the newer cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmousee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We have been coming to Hungry Jacks for last few years. We typicaly make this our base camp for canoeing and camping around the lakes. The owner, Forest, is very caring and kind man providing excellent service. He will always give you good pointer what to do or where to go. The place is located on the beautiful Hungry Jack Lack with gorgeous sunsets. We'll be back again. Canoe into Boundary Waters!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rostov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We recently returned from what has become a yearly trip for us to Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground, located on the Gunflint Trail in Grand Marais, MN. As was the case during all of our previous stays at Hungry Jack Lodge everything was excellent. We were at Hungry Jack Lodge and Campground from August 21st until September 5th this year (2010).

We have stayed at various other log cabins and log sided cabins, over the many visits that we have made to Hungry Jack Lodge. This year we stayed in “Bear Cabin”. "Bear Cabin" is our favorite cabin at Hungry Jack Lodge and is located on the tip of a peninsula that juts out into Hungry Jack Lake. Bear Cabin, though it is one of the smaller cabins available, is our personal favorite cabin because of the spectacular sunsets that can be seen across the lake from within the cabin itself and from its' outdoor deck. The cabin itself was, as always, was very clean. Cleanliness is what we have grown to expect at Hungry Jack Lodge, over the many years that we have stayed there and we were not disappointed.

Though we cooked our own meals in our cabin most nights we did have dinner in the Lodge one night. Both my wife and I had the Walleye dinner. The walleye was top rate! I can honestly say that it was some of the best walleye that I have ever had in my life. Not only was the dinner delicious, the portion was large and more than enough to fill almost anyone. The desert, which was a lemon tart, was also fantastic. Not only was the meal itself great, the view of Hungry Jack Lake from the dining room is beyond what I can describe in words. There are not enough adjectives in the English language to describe the beautiful view that we had while enjoying a truly great meal.

The new main lodge building at Hungry Jack is phenomenal. Words cannot begin to describe this modern, yet rustic appearing lodge. Because it is newly constructed, it has all of the modern amenities that people want and at the same time has that northwoods rustic look and feel to it that most visitors to northern Minnesota have come to expect at a family lakeside resort. The lodge is spacious, modern, impeccably clean and has a spectacular eastern facing view of Hungry Jack Lake through the glass wall in the dining room or from its’ lower level patio.

The upper or main level of the Lodge has a spectacular two story cathedral ceiling and is where the check-in desk is, along with a small gift shop and the dining room area. There is also a relaxing and sitting area with over-stuffed leather chairs and a sofa, in front of a huge two story stone fireplace in this main, entry level of the main lodge building. The décor throughout the main lodge is “northwoods” and has many antiques and items which relate to the northwoods style of life both past and present.

The lower level of the main lodge houses the “Loggers Lounge” bar and recreation room, which was very clean and spacious. There are video games, a pool table and a couple of darts games in the Loggers Lounge along with the actual bar, which has stools made out of huge logs. There is also a sitting area with recliners and a love seat in front of a stone fireplace in the Logger Lounge. Outside the Loggers Lounge lower level door is a large patio made from pavers, which has a table with chairs and a number of Adirondack chairs to relax in while taking in a gorgeous view of Hungry Jack Lake.

The activities available at Hungry Jack lodge are many. There are a number of hiking trails close by. Canoeing day trips into the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCAW) is also very popular and one of our favorite activities. Though my wife and I do not fish, most people seemed to do very well fishing, including kids, who mostly fished from the boat dock. There is a playground area, swimming beach and free sauna located on the rear lawn of the main lodge.

The friendly, courteous staff as Hungry Jack Lodge was and always has been fantastic. They are always there to help make your vacation all that you want it to be. We highly recommend Hungry Jack Lodge and Campground to anyone that wants a relaxing (or exciting) northwoods vacation. The Gunflint Trail area, Hungry Jack Lake, the staff at Hungry Jack Lodge, the available activities, the great food, the moderately priced log cabins all add up to what we think was a fantastic vacation. We will go back to Hungry Jack Lodge again and wish that we never had to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainsportster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
13.8 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
21.9 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground

Address: 372 Hungry Jack Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2008
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing