We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Idle Isle Cafe The

Idle Isle Cafe The
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Brigham City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything was great, but the prices are a bit steep.Lovely historic building with a view of historic downtown Brigham City. Easy walk to shopping and events, including Peach Days in September..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idle Isle Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent local eatery open for lunch and dinner. Taco Soup Wednesday is my favorite. Excellent hot homemade dinner rolls, Idleberry pie, and homemade apricot jam.
Idle Isle Cafe is the second oldest restaurant in Utah. During World War II, when the Bushnell Army Hospital was operating in Brigham City, the Idle Isle encouraged soldiers to regain their strength and heal by offering a free steak dinner to any soldier who could make it from the hospital to the cafe on their own. Stories go that many soldiers would be seen making their way down Main Street on crutches and rolling themselves in wheelchairs to get to that steak dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank armygirlvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
312 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Old but Not Good!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Messy restrooms, wallpaper falling off the walls and below average food indicate this restaurant is old and tired and needs a make over. This was our first visit in a few years and our past impressions were very good. With so many good chain restaurants to choose from, its sad to see one of the diminishing number of independently owed restaurants go downhill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Brigham City Original”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A hometown feel and atmosphere with good food and amazing rolls. These rolls are the heavy ones like grandma used to make! They also have an old fashioned soda fountain and candy counter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missionmomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis County, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I went to the Idle Isle Cafe with some coworkers. I had never been to the restaurant before. I was a little apprehensive when we walked in. The restaurant is quite old looking, and not in a quaint, cute way... more like a falling apart, outdated way. I ordered a BLT and fries, not really expecting much. When my meal came, I was surprised by a big sandwich with crisp bacon, fresh lettuce and tomatoes, not to mention amazing fries! I kept eating even after I was stuffed, because it was so good. Another coworker who had also never been there said the same thing about her burger. Also, their rolls and berry jam were delicious. I would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mombrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idle Isle Cafe The also viewed

Brigham City, Wasatch Range
 
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
 
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Idle Isle Cafe The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing