We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder it's so huge inside ...”

Maddox Ranch House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Brigham City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Maddox Ranch House has been called "Utah's Original Steakhouse" and "One of the most popular eating places in Utah," and truly has a taste and a style all its own. Maddox Ranch House got started the day Irv & Wilma Maddox opened a small cafe along U.S. Highway 89 in Perry, Utah in August of 1949. Today Maddox is owned and operated by the third and fourth generations of family. Located in Perry, Utah, near the mouth of Sardine Canyon, the Ranch House has a special place in the heart of many Utahns. We offer services and facilities for weddings and wedding receptions, banquets and meeting facilities, online gift certificates, information on our drive-thru and take out services and information on our general Ranch House restaurant.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
306 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No wonder it's so huge inside ...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

... so many people want to eat here! It has increased in size over the years because of its popularity. What brings people in? Fabulous food! From the corn pones to the crab salad to the steaks to the fried chicken, we've never had anything that wasn't delicious. Even fish. And lower prices steaks. The servers are attentive and you go out the door satisfied. We look forward to driving to or through Brigham City just so we can eat at Maddox.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    119
    36
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tooele, Utah
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What is the hype? This place is overpriced and average”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been to Maddox 4-5 times, and every time, I come away shaking my head wondering why this place is so great. The food is average, but way overpriced. Service is good. If you want to pay $25-40 for a steak dinner, service in a bustling lodge that is due for a complete make-over, then this is the place for you. PS the rolls ARE great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOGAN, UT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The food and service are consistant!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Maddox has a long well earned reputation. The service is very, very good. They have great fried chicken (skinless), turkey steak, shrimp steak (shrimp that are pounded into a steak then breaded and grilled on a flat top) and awesome beef steaks--always cooked just as ordered. Their salads are always cold and crisp and my husband loves their seafood cocktail. My favorite desert is their raspberry cream pie. No matter if there are just 2 of you or 30 of you their service and food quality is always excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CANZONIERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
220 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful fried chicken”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The fried chicken at Maddox is consistently excellent. We also love the rolls, corn bread, and french fries. The salad and veggies are ok, but it's all about the chicken for us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Great road food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were at a vintage trailer rally nearby and looking for a good local/old time burger place and malt. Everyone sent us to Maddox and it filled the bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddox Ranch House Restaurant also viewed

Brigham City, Wasatch Range
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
 
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Maddox Ranch House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing