We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Migratory Bird Refuge”

Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Migratory Bird Refuge”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an amazingly abundant area for birds and waterfowl. The Visitor Center is fun for all ages and the road leading to the "loop" is a wonderful bicycling road. Very flat and a good length. The refuge is itself a great place to see birds that are migrating through the area as well as resident fowl.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely a stopover for all traveling birds: human as well as avian!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well, if our beloved government Congressional delegations ever get their act together and reopen this national treasure, be sure to stop at the visitor center to check out all of their displays, watch the movie, and visit the gift shop for lots of great books and the best selection of quality jigsaw puzzles I've seen in a long time (yes, this is where I do my Christmas shopping!). Park Service staff as well as bird-loving volunteers are there to help identify the birds you've seen, and they maintain a list of recent sitings that will give you a clue of what you'll see on the auto tour.

Hopefully the birds haven't noticed any changes the past few weeks, and as soon as the refuge opens its gates again, do take the auto tour since this time of year a lot of the migration is taking advantage of this stopover location. We were in the Palm Springs area last week, and unfortunately, couldn't get into the Salton Sea Refuge because of the same government shutdown. But the birds won't reach there for 6-8 weeks, so were told, so that means the Bear River Refuge should be a great place to see birds that are heading south for the winter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorienbaskets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It could have been wonderful”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really wished I could have travelled the refuge but the government got in the way. I did travel as far as the locked gates and that did give me a taste for what it was like - lots of birds, including cranes and curlews, beautiful views across the wetlands to the mountains.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank anglogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level Contributor
321 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful New Visitor Center”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This refuge has a new and beautiful visitor center close to the interstate. We stopped in to view the displays along with a movie they had. Unfortunately, the major part of the refuge is a further drive so instead we had to move on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bird Lovers Flock here!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

State of the art visitors center with movies, hands on exhibits for kids. Lots of special events. Newly paved road creates easy access for all to see so many birds on the refuge. Spring and fall migration seasons are the best, but there are birds and other wildlife out there all year round. Guided tours available and many educational activities for kids and adults.. I have visited with children of all ages, friends and adults who have disabilities. We have volunteered at the refuge as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing