We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, Great info, COLD COLD RIVER” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colorado River Discovery

Colorado River Discovery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colorado River Discovery offers the most fantastic one day rafting trips anywhere on the mighty Colorado River. We provide half-day and full day tours that are perfect for the entire family (kids aged 4 and up). Departing from the scenic town of Page, Arizona, your trip will begin with an exciting and exclusive ride down the two-mile long Glen Canyon Dam access tunnel. At river level, with the dam soaring 700 feet above you, you will board a comfortable pontoon raft for your journey downstream. While on the River, you will experience one of the most dramatic stretches of river in the western United States. Your experienced guide will tell the story of the area’s soaring sandstone cliffs, crystal blue-green waters, abundant wildlife, exploration by Major John Wesley Powell and others, and the river's modern role in the Southwest’s water and power delivery system.A stop to view an impressive set of ancient petroglyphs will offer a you chance to stretch your legs and enjoy your lunch while bearing witness to the area’s former inhabitance by ancient native cultures. If you choose, you may also refresh yourself by wading in the cold, clear river. Come and visit the river that we love... You'll be inspired!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
southern illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great views, Great info, COLD COLD RIVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked this trip at the last minute and we're lucky to get on the next raft. It was a great rafting experience. That part of the river is FLAT so there are no rapids. You even get to park at a beach and check out some Petroglyphs. The sun is very intense and hot. Bring your sunsceen!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stl2570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,530
    262
    75
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is an excellent value trip. The guide was very knowledgable and was full of facts and information. The afternoon half day trip was ideal as we went up to Page from Grand Canyon Village for the day. Took in the lower Antelope Canyon in the morning. The lunch in the cafe prior to departure was fantastic. The trip is well organized and gives you a fascinating bus trip down to the base of the dam. Be aware that it is under Homeland Security restrictions so you are limited in what you can take.
A bargain trip, lots to see and many photo opportunities, not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterR0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a beauitful relaxing way to spend a May morning. Very scenic and Ashley our tour guide made it both fun and informative. I can still picture scenes in my mind of the Dam, the ciffs and the river. We had a real nice time and would recommend this half day tour

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jonnyru49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
“Great Trip down the snake river .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very nice trip we had May 26,2014 with our guide Brent .He gave us tons of information about the river and the mountains .Would do the trip again because there so much to see .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“33 Times on this trip now.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just down river one more time today - on the all day trip to Lees Ferry. The River Guide today was Nate Yazzie and he gave the best narrative of the trip I've ever heard. No small thing. The lunch provided was great. And I'm a junkie for the stuff they sell at their store...a wide selection of Tilley Hats, Tevas, Keens, great shirts and other river gear. You just can't go wrong on this adventure. Its one of those trips where the cost seems expensive up front but when you finish you're shouting, "Wow! What a bargain!" Its a photographer's dream. They have about a dozen restrooms at the check in building and there are restroom stops on the trip. No worries.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverkilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colorado River Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing