We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow at the start - but pace does pickup”

Colorado River Discovery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Colorado River Discovery offers the most fantastic one day rafting trips anywhere on the mighty Colorado River. We provide half-day and full day tours that are perfect for the entire family (kids aged 4 and up). Departing from the scenic town of Page, Arizona, your trip will begin with an exciting and exclusive ride down the two-mile long Glen Canyon Dam access tunnel. At river level, with the dam soaring 700 feet above you, you will board a comfortable pontoon raft for your journey downstream. While on the River, you will experience one of the most dramatic stretches of river in the western United States. Your experienced guide will tell the story of the area’s soaring sandstone cliffs, crystal blue-green waters, abundant wildlife, exploration by Major John Wesley Powell and others, and the river's modern role in the Southwest’s water and power delivery system.A stop to view an impressive set of ancient petroglyphs will offer a you chance to stretch your legs and enjoy your lunch while bearing witness to the area’s former inhabitance by ancient native cultures. If you choose, you may also refresh yourself by wading in the cold, clear river. Come and visit the river that we love... You'll be inspired!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow at the start - but pace does pickup”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

As one earlier reviewer indicates, the first half of the trip is very slow. Yes - I (and my nine year old son) would consider that to be boring despite the best effort from the guide. The pace pickup considerable at the stopover point - where we all enjoyed the cold water. Moreover, on the way back, the guide turned up the motor - and it was much, much more.

The collective poll (my wife, my 9 year old son, and myself) is that the trip was decent.... would give a 3.5 star if it is an allowable rating...

Btw, no need to bring water - they offered water and lemonade.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,621
    274
    79
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st simons island, ga
Level Contributor
159 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well run”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We did a half day which was fine. Wouldn't have wanted more

Company is well run. They called day prior to confirm. For our 1 p trip, they signed us in efficiently at 1230. At 1245 they did an orientation: info on timing, hydration, etc. At 1 p, we boarded motor coaches for 10 minute drive to dam. Note: due to security, only these buses can access the tunnel access to base of dam and river. Similarly, anything you take with you e.g. Wallet, camera, sunblock, must be in a CLEAR bag. They provide water, lemonade, wet bandanas on the raft.

Guides were informative and entertaining. Raft is large and stable altho there are NO rapids in this section. There were 16 people on our raft.

Due to a road closure affecting return trip, we floated about 8 miles and then returned in same route. On the river itself about 3 hrs. There is a stop to get out for bathrooms. Or jumping in very cold CO river.

Fun afternoon. Relaxing. If you want to do this, this is the company to do it with.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, come to relax not a thrill!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was definitely the highlight of our grand canyon trip! We expected it to be a little more adventurous in terms of the rafting but it met our expectations in terms of the quality of the tour. Our tour guide was this really cool hippie lady who shared fun stories and made it really enjoyable! It was pretty much smooth sailing the whole time.. The coolest part was when we it randomly rained and the rocks created a waterfall! So pretty!! Definitely recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Colorado River Discovery”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved rafting on the Colorado River with our guide, Andrew. Our group of nine was paired with another family as we floated down the river. We enjoyed a bagged lunch along the way, which we ordered from their cafe and we were provided with lemonade and water to drink. Andrew told us about the canyon, as well as some history of early explorers. He was knowledgable about the wildlife and trees in the area. This was a relaxing experience where we could just enjoy the beauty of the landscape. We stopped at a beach and some of us actually dove into the 47 degree water. Our group, ages 11-70 agreed this was one of the best things we did on our vacation!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Norris, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The guides really make this experience a fun one. They take good care of their guests, making sure we had water on one of the hottest days on record. The trip is beautiful too, views are lovely. Water is cold, but worth a dip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeekoftheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colorado River Discovery also viewed

 

Been to Colorado River Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing