We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Horseshoe Bend

Horseshoe Bend
Book In Advance
More Info
$272.27*
and up
Colorado River Float Trip from Sedona or Flagstaff
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Page
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseshoe Bend is the intimate Grand Canyon experience (although technically located in Glen Canyon.) The trailhead to this 3/4 mile hike is located just outside of Page, Arizona. It overlooks one of the most spectacular views on the Colorado River, 4 miles south of the Glen Canyon Dam, and 7 miles north of mile zero of the Grand Canyon.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a must see place if you are in or around Page AZ. The hike up there is not too bad, I would say its an easy hike if you are fit enough. The view is spectacular specially during sunset. If you are careful and are not afraid of heights, you can get some amazing pictures from the edge of the rocks. Overall, a very nice experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank travel_170_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,777
    1,537
    218
    16
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth the 3/4th mile hike”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Words cant describe...i felt it was better than the grand canyon. be careful at the end of the canyon, click grt pics.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missmanik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a nice a simple hike. It takes bout 1hr roundtrip. The view is absolutely amazing and the sheer drop off makes this even better. I would recommend being there to see the sun hit the horse and watching the sunset as well. I was short on time and was only there in the morning, I would also recommend getting a wide lens to capture the full horseshoe shot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swivel806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunrise Trip was fabulous”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I got up early and drove the 3-4 miles south on 89 to get to the trailhead. Nice parking lot. The trailhead is clearly marked on the highway with a brown highway sign...so you won't miss the trailhead. No fee. You hike up a sandy hill and then down to the site. There are no guard rails and you have to get pretty near the edge to see the viewpoint that is in all the magazines. It was drop dead gorgeous. I recommend getting there about 15 minutes before the sun hits the rocks for the perfect pic. Lots of photographers were lined up on the edge....so you are unlikely to be alone. The views are as good as you see in the magazines...really!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hike, but SO worth it”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Like so many other reviewers said, it is indeed a HIKE from the parking lot to the actual area from which you can view the river. We were there with an 8 yr old and an 11 yr old. Our trek from the parking lot to the cliffs was long, especially in the blazing mid-day sun. I am pretty sure that there is no bathroom facility at the cliffs. Also, please remember that this can be a very dangerous place because there are no barriers or fences to keep little ones corralled. That said, our kids LOVED it! Like so many other natural wonders in the western US, this is amazing to see in person. Without seriously upgraded photography equipment, it is difficult to photograph the natural beauty and have it look like the photos that you see. I highly recommend using the panoramic function. A side note- I used a Samsung Galaxy S3 and the daylight photos rivaled my Nikon SLR.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horseshoe Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing