We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mixed Bag at Best”

Ken's Old West Steakhouse
Ranked #42 of 58 Restaurants in Page
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag at Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Local reviews of this long- time Page eatery run from horrendous to superb...I'd have to fall in with the folks on the high side of average.

The wait staff are wonderfully friendly and hard working, but the food is not what you would call noteworthy. Good, but not great! For the money, not really a bad dining experience, but not the sort of meal experience that has you wishing you could have eaten more. Now, while my steak was a bit under-done, and had more than it's share of fat; the marinated and broiled shrimp dish that my dining partner ordered were excellent. If this were " Ken's Old West Shrimp House" I'd be asking Ken if he needed a partner.....unfortunately...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    95
    68
    50
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and service, average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a very nice restaurant for an old west ambience. The service was great. The salad was good. But the main course was average. Decent value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maheshwari29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“everything good except the steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

my husband and i loved the salad bar, the potatoes, the waiter was great, the wine....everything except our steak
we each got a different kind of steak and they were both cooked not to order (his rare was more like a medium well) and they weren't very good...which is kinda what you're hoping for from a steak house...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST if you visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The atmosphere is real. When I say "real" I mean "Steakhouse" real. The salad bar is not the most spectacular but, you don't go to a steakhouse to eat salad. The steak is amazing and the service great. Don't go there if you're not prepared to sit in a real bar/restaurant. This is not a classy place, just a good place to eat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good steak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good food. Good service. Small salad bar. Casual attire. Cowboy atmosphere. Would definitely eat here again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B-GEnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ken's Old West Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing