We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palmerton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not Bad but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was July 4th and the other Mexican restaurant was closed. El Tapatio was packed and we waited about 30 mins to get a table. We expected slow service as they were trying to cope with the volume. My bacon wrapped prawns (really jumbo) shrimp were over cooked and dry. Service was pleasant but I think they are worth another try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    336
    78
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“USA round trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Great food, fast delivered.……........................................................................................................................2014

Helpful?
Thank Bo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coker, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The food was good here. Large portions, lots of options. The night we were here, our service was horrible. Could have just been an off night. Also, it seemed a little more expensive than most Mexican Restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This a great place to get a filling, low cost dinner after a day of sight seeing. The food is tasty and plentiful and there lots of options. The service here is great as well. If you like Margaritas, this is the place to get one. Very tasty and BIG! So glad Trip Advisor sent us here. It was perfect!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We liked El Tapatio as soon as we walked in! The restaurant is decorated in cheerful colors, with carved and painted booths. We received a friendly greeting and were immediately shown to our seats.

Complimentary chips and salsa, along with a delicious slaw were placed on the table and we ordered a couple of margaritas while we reviewed the menu. The margaritas were great!

I had the taco salad and my husband ordered steak fajitas. The entrees were delicious, with sides of rice and beans, and plenty of sour cream and guacamole. The portions were generous and we couldn't finish them. There was probably enough left over for another meal.

Sadly, we were in town for only one night, otherwise we would have eaten there again. I'd recommend El Tapatio for an excellent Mexican meal and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing