We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasing to the eyes.”

Vermilion Cliffs National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$298.99*
and up
Arizona Desert Helicopter Tour Including Tower Butte Landing
Ranked #15 of 53 things to do in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“pleasing to the eyes.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We drove for miles and miles on route12 and highway 89. It was very scenic but not as wonderful as I expected it to be. The cliffs and the mountains become very redundant the more you see them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    42
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Circle tours”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a guide through White Pockets with Kyle the owner of Circle tours (vermilioncliffs.net) and it was great. Excellent photo opps and Kyle took you to the best spots for the nest shots being a photographer himself. It is reportedly not the most strenuous hike but there is some scrambling if you want to get tho the highest points. The drive there is long but Kyle is well informed about the geology and will stop any time you want a photo. Because of its remoteness very few people there and you definitely need 4WD and off road tires. Lots of deep sand. Kyle provided sandwiches and water as well...overall a great experience and very special

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Audrey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful place to be”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the afternoon light the cliffs are vermillion as promised. A great view going in either direction, west to the north rim, or east to Lee's Ferry. Some small and friendly motels and restaurants make a stay memorable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank progprac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“South Coyote Butte and Buckhead Gulch”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

To get a sense of the area, I did two treks with Kyle Walker in May '13. It was nicely paced, interesting and I got some good photography. I discovered that Kyle is an avid traveler and has been round the world. He has spent much time in many countries and has interesting observations. Being a traveler himself he understands people who come to him. He is flexible and adapts to one's needs. He is a really good driver on tough trails and knows how to navigate trouble spots.

South Coyote Butte is a permit area and has great views and unique Navaho sandstone rock structures. I liked Buckhead Gulch too as it is a long slot canyon with unique colors in sun and shade. Both are highly recommended. I will go back for more tours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ishamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“White Pockets”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Used local guide to take us, Kyle Walker.
An amazing land formation, well worth the trouble to get there.
Few would find it without a guide.
Unfortunately guide added two people to tour staying at north rim, due to road closure we had to drive an extra hour..got back at 11:00p.m. Found these arrangements very inconsiderate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jmes h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Cliffs National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Vermilion Cliffs National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing