We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rock formations”

Vermilion Cliffs National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$298.99*
and up
Arizona Desert Helicopter Tour Including Tower Butte Landing
Ranked #16 of 53 things to do in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, GA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful rock formations”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As you travel along the cliffs or get into the back roads the views, colors and formations change constantly. Great place to be at sunrise and sunset.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank snap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    45
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“See it on the way to someplace else.....”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Again, I wouldn't say this is a main attraction, but interesting to see on the way to someplace else.

Helpful?
1 Thank mowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We were scenic-ed out ...”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

... by the time we got to Vermilion Cliffs.
Seeing both Bryce Canyon and the Hoodoos and Zion NP by sunset and morning light (and Kolob) we were getting very critical!
They are certainly vermilion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, PA
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Glad we visited.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although I agree with other reviewers about the beauty of the cliffs, my favorite part was the amazing numbers of huge (and I mean absolutely enormous) boulders strewn about at the base of the cliffs, a result of 'cliff erosion'. Some were hundred of yards from the cliff base and, In a number of cases, the ground below these boulders had eroded away leaving them perched precariously atop the remaining pedestals of stone. Never seen anything quite like that before and they were right off the road...no need to hike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank carolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Views of the Tamed Colorado River at the Base of the Red Cliffs”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Was there in October, 2012. So, the Colorado River was flowing very sedately. Felt very small with the Vermilion Cliffs behind as we overlooked the Colorado River with more cliffs across the valley in front. Two bridges cross the river here. One is the 'new' bridge for motorized traffic; the other is the 'old' motor bridge now used for foot traffic. There are historical signs giving a brief history of the people who explored and settled this area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EttersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Cliffs National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Vermilion Cliffs National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing