We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tasty BBQ”

Big John's Texas BBQ
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Big John's Texas BBQ is a family owned barbeque joint who brings a BIG taste of Texas to Arizona. We slow smoke our meats on wood for hours... You DO NOT need a reservation, just come on down! Our restaurant is closed each winter in December and January.
Reviewed October 31, 2015

Peanuts in the shell greet you as you sit down for a meal. Throw the shells on the "floor" if you are eating on the covered outdoor patio. According to my group of 4, the pulled chicken and pulled brisket sandwiches are mouth watering, and the cole slaw was crunchy and savory. If you can, save room for home-made peach cobbler, which they top with ice cream (see if they have the cinnamon ice cream--it is great on the peach cobbler). Then go for a long hike to work off the calories.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Cabledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,172 - 2,176 of 4,989 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

A huge smoking BBQ out on the street enticing passers by, a stage with four guys playing good ol' blue grass, great beer and the there's the food.

The smell is incredible and the portions are great. I had the pound of pulled chicken with their homemade BBQ sauce and it was fantastic. Really tasty and adding the slaw to pour over the chicken was wondrous.

Anyone who stops in Page should check this place out. The servers totally add to the experience too, they aren't just there to serve they take the time to make people feel happy and at home.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

Had the sampler plate and all meats were great. The only thing that could have been a little better was the BBQ sauce, a little vinegary for my taste.
A good food option in this town.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Eckullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2015

Everything is delicious, service is great, price is very good for the quality. Loved the brisket so much we got more to take along for lunch the next day. Best coleslaw too.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank MaryMackMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2015

Great BBQ and outdoor patio with a band. Food was served quickly by pleasant people. We would recommend if you like BBQ.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Vikingnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big John's Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big John's Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.