We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, but not outstanding”

Big John's Texas BBQ
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Big John's Texas BBQ is a family owned barbeque joint who brings a BIG taste of Texas to Arizona. We slow smoke our meats on wood for hours... You DO NOT need a reservation, just come on down!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No complaints, but not outstanding”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed nearby one night and decided to give Big John's a try. It seemed as though it could have been a fun place on the right night, but when I went, there was no entertainment, no one eating outside, and chairs stacked on half the tables inside. This was not particularly late at night and supposedly during the busy tourist season, so I was surprised. The pulled pork was not bad, but far from the best I've had. they did offer a good amount of food for the price and quick service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,351
    927
    291
    87
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner and Free Entertainment”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We decided to try this place after driving past one night and seeing them set up a stage and tables outside. We all had BBQ which was very good. I didn't care for the beans, but I did love the roasted corn on the cob. The band was decent and did a good job of entertaining the crowds. It was a fun choice for dinner for our family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melsie7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

An old gas station turned into a good ol' Texas bbq place, this turned out to be the right choice for us.

Having been with large groups of people all day at Antelope Canyon, we decided to opt for the quieter, emptier, indoor seating of Big John's. Outside seemed fun too.

I had the baby back ribs with cowboy beans and potato salad. My spouse ordered the pulled pork with the same sides. There were peanuts on the table, which is a great idea and brought us back to places from our younger days. :) The food was good and plentiful with a nice selection of sauces to complement if we wanted something more. The ribs fell right off the bone, and the meat was plentiful.

Service? Very good!

Prices? Fair and reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shea1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

They don't make ribs any better than you'll find them here at Big John's. Very meaty, slow cooked to perfection, and a great sauce. Place is not fancy, which is perfectly OK for the quality of the food offered, but couldn't get it a 5 star rating after a visit to the men's restroom which was nearly an appetite killer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Page Az”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We ate here in May. service was good had no wait time in the outdoor seating area! I had ribs my wife had the brisket Both were very good. Service was fast and friendly. They had great roasted corn the day we were there very good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Time235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big John's Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing