We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide, beautiful canyons!”
Review of Overland Canyon Tours - CLOSED

Overland Canyon Tours
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great guide, beautiful canyons!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked the Canyon X and Upper Antelope Canyon tours. Our guide Robin, was very knowledgeable about the area and history, and very friendly and personable. He pointed out great shots that we would have missed, managed to help us get great shots even in the crowded Upper Antelope Canyon and was flexible in doing things in whatever way worked best for us. There were only 4 of us on the tour and I was able to get some amazing shots of sunbeams in Canyon X. The lunch was excellent too! I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    23
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this tour company after reading the reviews on here and we were not disappointed! We were so happy to ride to the canyon in an SUV rather than the open air vehicles used by the other companies. Jackie got us to the canyon right on time and we thought we were moving too quickly through the canyon, but to our surprise if she didn't move quickly we would have missed all the beautiful sun beams that happen only at this time of the day. She was very knowledgeable about the history and geology of the canyon and even gave us a really cool demonstration on the formation of the canyon! We highly recommend her and this company.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac,MD
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I took two tours with overland, an all day canyon x tour and the shorter Antelope Canyon tour, both for photographers. The Canyon x tour with Chris was an outstanding experience. He is a professional photographer and not only led us to the canyon but talked about the area, knew cameras and helped people get the most of the experience and taught how to use our equipment best.
The Antelope Canyon tour with Vivien was the opposite. She is not a photographer and was useless in that domain. While other group leaders with herding people out of the way she was off somewhere, never having explained the system to us. The canyon is overcrowded and there is a system to give everyone a chance to get shots at the best times when light beams come in. But it takes a little bit of agressiveness and organizational skills which she sorely lacks. In theory this tour should have been better with the proper person. Don't waste your time or money if she is leading the tour.

I wondered if both tours were needed. The canyons are different. Antelope is more intricate and has beams of light filtering in if timed right Canyon x has far fewer people and is more of a teaching/learning experience with the right guide. All in all I would recommend both as well as Overland. Part of the problem in Antelope Canyon has to do with the volume of people going through each day and the difficulty of getting shots. A good guide can help their group through it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank psdunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Antelope Canyon Tour”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Overland Canyon Tours seems to be one of the smaller companies giving tours through Antelope Canyon. Upon arriving I was a little disappointed that we would be traveling to the canyon in an old Chevy Suburban instead of one of the more exciting looking trucks the other companies had. However, upon driving to the canyon I was relieved to be inside of a car instead of open to the heat, sand, and dust of the environment. Jackie was an excellent tour guide and very knowledgeable about photography in the canyon. She optimized our camera settings and even took the time to take pictures for us so we had great shots to remember our time in Antelope Canyon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank philliesfan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Canyon x and antelope canyon”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We did the slot canyon tour and opted for Canyon x and Antelope canyon. Canyon x was not just beautiful, but there were only eight of us in the canyon during our tour. Our guide, Robin, was outstanding. He had a wealth of knowledge about the area and of the slot canyons. He was personable, friendly, and made the tour worth every minute. He also pointed out many photo opportunities. Antelope canyon was beautiful, but packed with people. However, Robin even made that into an enjoyable adventure. If you go, see Canyon x and ask for Robin as your guide.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marsha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing