We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are in the area this is a MUST DO”

Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Page
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer private scenic tours of area Slot Canyons with the primary toured canyon being Secret Canyon. We also tour to Staircase, and Passage canyons which are located in the Waterholes Canyon drainage. We guarantee there to be no crowds, offering tours that limit people inside the canyon to 10 or less. We also offer specialized photography tours that allow for extended time shooting within the canyons.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“If you are in the area this is a MUST DO”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this using trip advisor, booked on the phone from the UK and arrived not really sure what to expect. It was fantastic from start to finish, Vance was our guide driver, he was funny and informative, plus not a bad driver!!!!!

The canyon was something to see, with changing colours and temperatures, Vance set up my camera and my photos were great, he even took some for me but I won't be telling my friends that!

He allowed us loads of time to wander round and to take photos, he entertained us with stories about his career, he was so enthusiastic.

Th hummer drive was unbelievable what that vehicle is capable of was awesome.

It is 21/2 hours of pure entertainment DO IT.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    41
    4
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Secret Gem”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

we came to Page specifically to tour Antelope Canyon. After reading reviews of it -- excessively crowded and rushed, we looked for something else. The Hummer adventures offer an off road tour to Secret canyon. Wow what a place. They are the only group that goes there so there are no crowds and you can take your time. The canyon is awesome -- 2.5 times the length of Antelope. This is a definitely a must do!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuAnne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome guide, awesome experience!! No one but us in the slot canyon!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I were visiting the Lake Powell area last week and decided to book the Secret Canyon slot tour with Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures after reading numerous reviews and forums recommending this company and reading about how overcrowded the Antelope slot canyons have become. We were not disappointed.

We showed up at Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures about 20min before our tour departed (we did the 12noon tour) and were greeted immediately when we walked in. We were then greeted by our tour guide, Vance, who introduced himself and the other tour members. We were amazed to realize that it was only us and one other couple that would be on the tour.

We headed out to secret canyon (part of Waterhole Canyon) in the hummer and Vance entertained us with a number of interesting facts about the Navajo lands and the attractions in the area. We were visiting the area during a time of intense rain storms and were pleased that Vance addressed the safety issue with slot canyons and flash floods and explained that the Slot Canyon Hummer Adventure guides are all outfitted with a satellite phone that is connected to the national weather service so if there is any possibility of a flood, the guides would receive warning 45min to 1hr in advance.

Once we arrived at the canyon, it was a short walk to the mouth of the canyon and that's where the fun began. Vance walked us through the canyon and gave us as much time as we wanted to take photos and explore. He made sure that everyone had the right settings on our cameras so that our photos would accurately show the beautiful red hues of the rock in the slot. We were the only people in the canyon until our way out when we passed another one of Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures' small tour groups just coming into the canyon.

The canyon was amazing. The couple that was on our tour had done the Antelope Canyons years ago and commented that Secret Canyon was actually longer and nicer than the Antelope Canyons, and WAY less crowded. There are numerous tour guides with rights to the upper Antelope Canyon and they can take up to 70 people per tour. Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures only takes about 40people per day and only goes into the canyon when the light is good.

Although the tour price does seem high, it is worth every penny for this experience. I would recommend skipping the Antelope Canyons and spending your time and money here. Vance was an awesome guide-very friendly and full of interesting stories and facts. He grew up in the area and we loved hearing about his adventures in the area when he was younger.

This is a must do!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indiagreengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“SO COOL”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was one of the best tours we've done!! It's small and very personal. They only let a few tours go in per day, so when you're there, no one else is. You have the canyon to yourself. It's amazing. The hummer ride is so much fun and then you walk into this unbelievable slot canyon. Our guide took pictures, taught the kids to climb up into these little "caves" and basically made the tour perfect for our family. After doing this tour, I wouldn't go to the bigger tours at the more popular slot canyon in the area...I would absolutely make sure that I could go back on this tour....PHENOMEANAL!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lmv125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
540 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
“AWESOME - the canyon and the hummer!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hummer is a lot of fun getting there, no question about it. But the real winner here is the canyon, the small group size, and the guide. We did the Secret Canyon tour. Our group was 4 people plus the guide, so nearly all of our pictures look like we had the canyon to ourselves; at one point we crossed paths with another group from this company, which I think was also 4 people and a guide. The slot canyon is fabulous, it starts out awesome and just gets better as you go. The guide was great, doing just the right amount of fun with the hummer, absolutely zero pressure to rush along, and great tips on how to get the colors out with your camera. I think the guide's name was Josh, but I forgot to write it down. Highly recommended, and after how great it was, we opted out of Antelope Canyon, feeling like there was no way it could top this experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing