We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visually stunning!”
Review of Antelope Canyon

Antelope Canyon
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$195.69*
and up
Antelope Slot Canyon and Horseshoe Bend Day Tour from Flagstaff
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Page
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located near Lake Powell, this "slot" canyon is considered sacred by the Navajo.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visually stunning!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our families trip to the Antelope Canyon was very picturesque, but it didn't compare to the amazing water carved rock forms that were in this canyon. We were very fortunate to have an amazingly wonderful tour guide. Her name was Sherry she was very helpful.. She set up our groups camera's told us where to take the best shots. Plus she was very informative. I truly enjoyed having her taking us through the Canyon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teenytinyteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,383
    791
    250
    104
    87
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Antelope Canyon”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Antelope Canyon in Page Az. was one of my favorite areas of a 6 week vacation. We went in May and was not overly crowded. I am not sure spectaculor is the correct word to describe the slot canyon's beauty. Page Az had many more natural attractions which kept us busy for 4 days.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doglover34288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressive scenery, when you are able to see something”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's the perfect screen saver material: Shades of brown in different shapes, soothing in the relatively cool air of the canyon. A serene setting, only it's full of people. All queuing to see this wonder of nature. There's nothing serene here. Just try not to trip on one of the many tripods, or try to avoid to be shoved by too many over-zealous photographers.
Actually our day was saved by a guide, whom we were lucky enough to get after we booked a tour via Adventurous Antelope Canyon Photo Tours. The guide, Nate, took us first to Rattle Snake Canyon, where we were practically by ourselves. Expertly, Nate led us through this beautiful canyon, offering advise regarding taking pictures, while not being too technical about it.

After this peaceful tour, we went to Antelope Canyon, where, as mentioned, the experience was a mixture of waiting somewhere in a very long line and, at the same time, being surrounded by these impressive walls.

It was here that the true value of our guide Nate was most evident. He made sure that we saw all the right places, explained about the place, the geology, etc. while advising about taking good pictures. And all the while he minimized, or at least tried to, the impact of the vast crowds around us.

All in all, it was an experience that left us with mixed feelings.
And a piece of advise: Take the earliest possible tour. Later it will be even more crowded, as we saw when we left the place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too Crowded”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is an assembly line that EVERYONE goes to. Rather check out the Secret Canyon Hummer tours: very intimate, close-up encounter with a very attentive tour guide. Bit more pricey, but well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nils J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldUK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectaculor but dissapointing”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really looking forward to visiting Antelope Canyon - and it was amazing BUT absolutely packed - they really could not have got any more trips in if they tried - all the time you are being pushed from one area to the next you cannot just look and enjoy, just took out all the enjoyment of looking at this wonder

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PatTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antelope Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing