We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antelope Slot was Magnificient!”

Antelope Slot Canyon Tours
Ranked #9 of 45 Outdoor Activities in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Antelope Slot was Magnificient!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our guide Vere was the best, very informative and organized. She really tried to get us to see the best of the canyon. It was one of the most beautiful places in the world my husband have ever seen. The ride to the canyon in the back of a truck was adventurous as it was, but to see this magical place and hear the haunting sounds of Chief Tsosie on the native american flute was enchanting. LOVED IT! You have to go at least once in your life to experience it! We took so many pictures and Vere really helped us get the best shots.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynniepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    128
    51
    34
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Guide”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

There are a couple of things that make for a good guide for the Canyon, and Leonard, our guide, had them. First, he knew how to operate the cameras - all of them, from the complex to the point and shoot cell phone cameras - and knew where all the great pictures were. Second, he played a mean flute at the turn around. Third, he was not hurried; he let us take our pictures and did not try to rush us through the canyon (this was not, by the way, appreciated by the tours behind us. Take his tour so you do not wind up behind him). Finally, he drove FAST. Sure, bumpy, but every vehicle you pass is 12 more people who are not ahead of you in the canyon. Trust me, this is important. You do NOT want to be the last tour through at 1:00 p.m. if you can help it. We had a good tour, but the people at the end of the line when we went back looked miserable

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank WhiskeyPriest_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Irene is the best!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading numerous Trip Advisor reviews, my travel companions and I chose Chief Tsosle's tour group and, we certainly picked the best one! We took the 8:30 am tour and had Irene as our tour guide. From the moment you enter their offices to the time you arrive at Antelope Slot Canyon, a marvelous adventure begins. Irene was the absolute best. She explained the canyon prior to our entering it and then quickly helped each of us set our cameras to the exact setting it needed to be to get the best pictures. She did a wonderful job explaining the history of the canyon and the various photos spots along the way. Perhaps the best surprise was when she literally took our pictures for us. Needless to say having an expert take the shots in the canyon made our trip extra special. We all came away with extraordinary pictures of this spectacular spot. I would strongly recommend that you take the first tour available for two reasons; one, the lighting is perfect, and two, there are less people in the canyon at that point. One more note about Irene, not only did she take the time to adjust and take our pictures for us but, she also set our cameras back to their original settings!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AngiePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Crowded but Beautiful”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The owners of this slot canyon seem intent on stuffing too many people into this unique slot canyon. You are rushed in and out so the next truck can be loaded. Simply not enough time. For someone that is used to hiking and taking his time this tour was a bit nerve racking. Glad I saw it will not be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take your breath away beautiful!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made reservations for the Antelope Slot Canyon Tours for the 8:30 AM tour. We weren't sure if the lighting would be as "good" as during peak hours but this time slot fit our agenda. The organization the lady had at the front counter was great! She explained very clearly and courteously to wait to hear our name called and once we heard our name, to climb on the truck. Our tour guide was Irene. WOW! She is phenomenal! She explained how the tour worked (other folks are there, of course), how to set your camera and would point out the different pictures within the canyon, such as the eagle, a heart, etc. She made sure each person had the best camera shots. She spent time with each of us, as well as the whole group. When you go, ask for Irene!

There are other tour groups in the area. After our tour ended, we went across the street where the other tour group was (not for the tour, but for other reasons) and it seemed very disorganized. The workers were shouting out numbers (not names) and the workers seemed confused on what they were doing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fanofwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antelope Slot Canyon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing