We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irene is the best!!!!”

Antelope Slot Canyon Tours
Ranked #9 of 45 Outdoor Activities in Page
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Irene is the best!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading numerous Trip Advisor reviews, my travel companions and I chose Chief Tsosle's tour group and, we certainly picked the best one! We took the 8:30 am tour and had Irene as our tour guide. From the moment you enter their offices to the time you arrive at Antelope Slot Canyon, a marvelous adventure begins. Irene was the absolute best. She explained the canyon prior to our entering it and then quickly helped each of us set our cameras to the exact setting it needed to be to get the best pictures. She did a wonderful job explaining the history of the canyon and the various photos spots along the way. Perhaps the best surprise was when she literally took our pictures for us. Needless to say having an expert take the shots in the canyon made our trip extra special. We all came away with extraordinary pictures of this spectacular spot. I would strongly recommend that you take the first tour available for two reasons; one, the lighting is perfect, and two, there are less people in the canyon at that point. One more note about Irene, not only did she take the time to adjust and take our pictures for us but, she also set our cameras back to their original settings!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AngiePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    128
    51
    34
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Crowded but Beautiful”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The owners of this slot canyon seem intent on stuffing too many people into this unique slot canyon. You are rushed in and out so the next truck can be loaded. Simply not enough time. For someone that is used to hiking and taking his time this tour was a bit nerve racking. Glad I saw it will not be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take your breath away beautiful!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made reservations for the Antelope Slot Canyon Tours for the 8:30 AM tour. We weren't sure if the lighting would be as "good" as during peak hours but this time slot fit our agenda. The organization the lady had at the front counter was great! She explained very clearly and courteously to wait to hear our name called and once we heard our name, to climb on the truck. Our tour guide was Irene. WOW! She is phenomenal! She explained how the tour worked (other folks are there, of course), how to set your camera and would point out the different pictures within the canyon, such as the eagle, a heart, etc. She made sure each person had the best camera shots. She spent time with each of us, as well as the whole group. When you go, ask for Irene!

There are other tour groups in the area. After our tour ended, we went across the street where the other tour group was (not for the tour, but for other reasons) and it seemed very disorganized. The workers were shouting out numbers (not names) and the workers seemed confused on what they were doing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fanofwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience from beginning to end.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I booked an 8:30 AM tour with this company a few weeks in advance. Seeing some of the pictures online had me dying with anticipation. We arrived 20 minutes prior, and the young lady running the counter had everything in order. She was quick and professional, checking us in and taking our payment. While we waited, a tour bus showed up and probably 50 people got off. I was immediately worried, but thankfully, they kept us separate from the tour company.

Myself, my husband, and six other individuals loaded into a Suburban driven by Rob. As he drove to the Navajo Reservation, he pointed out several landmarks. Once on the Reservation, like others have posted, the road is dirt and bumpy! We were bouncing all over the place. You definitely need a big truck/4wd to make the trek. I got real close to my fellow tour patrons, as I about ended up on their laps.

Once inside the canyon, it was breathtaking. There were a lot of other people in there, but they kept everyone moving at a nice pace. Rob gave us quite a bit of history, while pointing out different formations, and all the while helping us all set our cameras to get the absolute best pictures.

I have a regular old digital camera, and am certainly not a professional, but my pics came out wonderfully thanks to Rob.

The canyon is a must experience, and the tour, a must do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank deevamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“unforgettable”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Antelope Canyon itself is magic; not huge, but very special, as you can see on pictures in holiday brochures. It's very narrow, very dark early in the morning - it depends on the sun's position; at some times in the day it's brighter. The Chief is a native American who can handle EVERY camera in the world; don't try to make nice pictures, only he can take the right photograph from the right angle. He'll take your camera and make incredible photographs. Unbelievable. Well worth a visit !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank danzigBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antelope Slot Canyon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing