We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in isolation with caring support”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just spent 4 days in the Lodge, great service, good meals, great choice of beer and wines. Set on a wonderful bay with views of the national park and the sea.
Great walks from the lodge but the team can also organise a raft of trips to the whales, the glaciers and fishing.
Mobile access is intermittent but who cares when on are on holiday.
Excellent rooms, comfortable beds, a good bathroom but watch you head on the roof beam at the corner of the room

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bear Track, and every aspect of our stay was exquisite. The innkeeper, Janie, is a gem; friendly, hard working, knowledgeable, kind, organized. The inn itself is a beautiful log cabin, with a beautiful open fireplace in the lobby. Our room was perfect, with terrific bedding. And the food--the gourmet chef, James, and his sous chef, Paul, made wonderful meals. And don't forget Bandit--the Alaskan malamute who will gladly accompany you on hikes! BearTrack Inn is a treasure on the edge of the wilderness.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Bear Track Inn. The lodge is really comfortable and atmospheric and the staff do a great job making you feel welcome. All the excursions were organised for us and were excellent and we were ferried back and forth to the Inn by Todd and Jason as it is some distance from the activities.
We were sad to leave this comfortable spot perched on the edge of breathtaking wilderness - the people and the place are really special.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PerthExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Bear Track Inn is, as far as I can tell, the premier lodging in Gustavus, at the base of Glacier Bay. Glacier Bay is not to be missed as it seems to be the pinnacle of the entire Inside Passage area and it can all be reasonably enjoyed in just a few days. Bear Track Inn is perfectly comfortable and offers warm and efficient service along with a turnkey vacation experience as they will arrange all of your expeditions and transfer you to and from each event. We spent one day on a cruise of Glacier Bay and one day kayaking with the whales off of Pt. Adolphus. Both events were perfect with unreal wildlife sightings though it helped that we were there during a heat wave so it was lovely weather with no rain or wind.

The rooms are basic but offer everything you could reasonably expect in this remote corner of Alaska. Internet is, indeed, slow but at least they have it! Food was very good, not spectacular, but very hearty and satisfying and there was always something on the menu for everyone in our somewhat choosy family. Afternoon freshly baked cookies and evening appetizers were a highly anticipated event. We'd absolutely stay here again and recommend it without reservations.

Room Tip: We had a room at both the front and back of the lodge. Both seemed fine and equivalent.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank shanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Bear Track Inn is a very comfortable lodge in a scenic spot. SE Alaska is full of cruise ships and cruise ship types, the BTI is the perfect escape from all of that. It is a great base from which to explore the region. It situated at Gustavus which is a little rural village of some charm and on the edge of Glacier Bay which is postcard picture perfect.

The Bear Track Inn organised a perfect suite of excursions for us. We stayed 5 nights and we could have stayed a few more days. We went to Pack Creek and saw grizzlies, flew to Skagway for the scenic railway.( Forget the railway but the flight there and back across the glaciers is spectacular) We took a private boat trip with Josh to the outer coves for whales, otters, sea lions and more bears and it was absolutely worth the extra expense. These additions are not cheap but they are unforgettable.

The BTI is no gourmet lodge, they try and for Alaska it's as good as we had there, but for foodies it does not rate. Still the food is fine and plentiful. Also the internet is very slow, however this was a problem elsewhere in Gustavus as well, so don't plan to work on holidays.

The BTI itself is a clean, warm and homely inn. It’s a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Most of the staff are fine, but some are well a bit too Alaskan. Janie and Mary were a great team and they quietly sort everything and because of them, the Bear Track Inn was a great place to stay.

We really feel as if we have done Alaska now, and that is thanks to the BTI. We would heartily recommend the BTI.

Tip: we left via the local Alaskan ferry system, called the Alaskan Maritime Highway. We took the ferries from Gustavus down to Prince Rupert in Canada via Juneau. This way we ended our stay by sailing down the Inside Passage cheaply and comfortably and with our own cabin. It was a great fun.

Room Tip: Any upstairs room at the at the front of the building are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Bear Track Inn is one of the most relaxing and beautiful places I have ever visited. The staff goes beyond what one would expect and the food is exceptional. I have stayed at the Bear Track 5 times and every time I leave I wish I could stay longer. I just left last week and I’m already planning my next trip to the Bear Track Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As somebody who is almost always cold, Alaska was not high on my list of places to visit. The Bear Track Inn made it well worth the trip, from the little details like providing raincoats, mud boots, and sack lunches, to the nice surprise of finding hot appetizers and coffee wating for me at the end of the day after my excursions. Most nights, a fire was roaring in the open and gorgeous lobby of the Inn. Meals were delicious, especially the fresh crab, and breakfasts always had plenty of selections - if I was hungry I could have my fill of custom ordered eggs, pancakes and daily assortment of fruits, pastries, granola, and yogurt.

The Bear Track Inn has friendly and helpful staff, booked great excursions (whale watching, kayaking, glacier tours), and has a few scenic places within walking distance. The secret gem was picking wild berries just minutes from the front door. The rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laceytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
8.9 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
231 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
133 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#1 of 8 in Gustavus
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn

Address: 255 Rink Creek Rd., Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Price Range: $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear Track Inn is a beautifully handcrafted log lodge situated on 97 acres in Gustavus, Alaska. Walk into a lobby with 30’ windows, suede couches and a huge fireplace. Dine on caribou, buffalo, crab, salmon, halibut and more. All breads, dressing and scrumptious desserts are made from scratch. Guest rooms are spacious and comfortable with down comforters and pillows, and private baths. We are known for our hospitality, and for making your dreams a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Bays Bear Track Hotel
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing