We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy in Gustavus”

Aimee's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gustavus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aimee's Guest House
Ranked #4 of 8 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband, myself, and a friend stayed in the upstairs apartment in late August and found it very comfortable for three adults. The kitchen and living area were spacious enough and the furnishings comfortable. The first evening was warm enough to sit out on the lovely porch and read and enjoy the expansive views. There is one bathroom, but that worked out fine for us. The place is very clean, and we can recommend it to anyone visiting the delightful small town of Gustavus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amblinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Aimee's Guesthouse (and Gustavus generally) were fantastic. My wife and I visited Gustavus in August 2013, staying at Aimee's Guesthouse and loved every minute. We stayed in the spacious top floor apartment which has cooking facilities, a living area, two bedrooms and a covered balcony with a hammock. Aimee was extremely helpful in putting our Guatavus trip together and even organized our activities and our rental car for us before we arrived, which given the time difference between Australia and Alaska was very helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mernath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just spent another wonderful time in Gustavus. It truly is a very special place that I hold close to my heart and Aimee's Guest House is the most beautiful place of all to spend the time.

We stayed in the spacious and sunny upstairs apartment with all the amenities you can think of...just like home. The kitchen was well equipped and has a spectacular view. In fact, from the apartment, you can see the snow capped mountains, the flower filled meadow, the river and the sea! We loved to relax on the porch just to enjoy the view.

My sister fell in love with the house and Gustavus as I did. Thank you very much Aimee for sharing your beautiful home with us. We hope to come back again some day.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

When traveling, we love doing our own thing versus in groups, so when we planned our trip to Gustavus as part of our three weeks traveling the Inside Passage, Aimee's Guest House was the best choice for us. I made the reservations a year in advance, so was able to get the top floor apartment with the covered balcony and highly recommend it. We had also made reservations to rent a car from Bud's Car Rental at the advice of Aimee. Bud met us at the airport on our arrival from Juneau via small plane.

Aimee had made reservations at the inn across the road for our first night. It was OK but we were happy to return to our cozy apartment after dinner. We also had a meal at the park lodge one evening and a pizza at the cafe another day. The kitchen was fully equipped and allowed us to do some of our own cooking, too. One day we drove out to Pep's packing and bought some salmon filets then went to Toshco and bought a huge baking potato, and some green beans, took them back to our kitchen and had a wonderful meal. We also made all of our breakfasts and lunches with food we purchased at the mercantile and had brought along from Juneau. For us, eating out every meal for three weeks gets old after while, so we enjoy doing some of our own cooking.

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay in Gustavus and exploring the area on our own. We did a whale watching trip, an all day kayaking trip to Pleasant Isles, the national park day boat trip, a ranger guided hike, biking on the back roads with the provided bike, and many drives in our rental car. Five days was not nearly enough time, so we hope to return someday and will surely stay at Aimee's again.

Room Tip: Reserve early to get the upstairs apartment.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank archwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family stayed here for an entire week six years ago. I totally fell in love with the place and the entire village. It's the most peaceful place I have ever stayed. Love the rain fall, the birds singing, the wind swooshing through. The view from the upper floor was spectacular. The surrounding meadow was in bloom. Gorgeous.

We explored the park, took a sea kayak lesson then went on an entire day of sea kayaking and drifted among the whales! Sorry, big fellas. We didn't mean to disturb or intrude, but the sea was so calm, we just drifted. Love it, love it, love it.


We are going back next year and hope to get the upstairs apartment this time.

Room Tip: The upper floor has a more spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This guest house is centrally located right on the river in Gustavus. The proprietress provides single speed bikes to get around town, which is an ideal way to see the peninsula although it's a bit of a ride out to the park. My wife and I stayed here for our 7th anniversary and just loved it. It is quiet but close to everything. Has magnificent outdoor spaces. All 3 suites have cooking facilities. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reimer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
2 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
0.9 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#1 of 8 in Gustavus
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
231 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Aimee's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aimee's Guest House

Address: Shooting Star Way, Gustavus, AK 99826
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Salmon River in central Gustavus, the GuestHouse sits on 8 acres of peace and quiet, a respite for independent travelers. The apartments have fully equipped kitchens, private entries, laundry & library. Free wifi and bicycles . Your hostess is available to help with any questions or trip planning, and to make sure your visit is tailored to meet your dreams! We love to share our special hometown, and are pleased to have created comfortable and lovely apartments to explore from and for you to call your own vacation home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aimee's Guest House Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing