We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Lane Inn(Juneau)(Great Value!)
$122
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Juneau(Juneau)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
57
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsother guestsglacier bayaccommodating hostsgreat storieshumpback whalesjanelabikesboatairportdropmiles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are few places you can stay that when you leave you have a real feel of what it is like to actually live there.Thousands visit Glacier Bay every year and very few ever touch the ground. Jan and Ela shared the best hikes, the best stories, and made this stop the most memorable of our entire adventure. Don't' miss our on this wonderful experience! P.S. if Jan offers a whale watch on his boat....say yes! It will be amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyless2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Jonash and Ella are terrific hosts, very accomodating of travelers' needs. They went out of their way to help us with getting around Gustavus -- not an easy feat! Jonash is a master chef -- our breakfasts and dinners were excellent. The inn is comfortable, and Alaska-style, built by hand by Jonash. Their daughters are special people and we felt like part of the family for the two days of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbrownriipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The previous reviews are all spot on, Ela and Jan and their family make the stay at their B&B a wonderful experience. From the time they meet you at the airport until you leave you are made to feel very welcome. Dinner at night can be freshly caught crab, literally fresh out of the water 15 minutes before or amazing Alaskan salmon. The accommodations are comfortable and the house is always very warm. Take one of the many bikes and explore the area or go whale watching on Jan's boat. You won't be disappointed when you spend a few days at Wild Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKDWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A party of three, we stayed at the Inn in early June. The best part of the stay was the genuine hospitality from our hosts .. getting a flavor from them about living in a small Alaskan outpost, suggesting what sights to see, booking our Glacier Bay tour and transporting us there, taking us on a whale watching trip(extra ) and bringing a sea kayak along for one of us. Rooms, washroom facilities, breakfasts were all great and our hosts cooked us a great dinner to boot (extra). One of our most personal stays in Alaska. Definitely would stay again at another Alaska outing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very lucky to find this place. the rooms were great and breakfasts delicious. The best part was meeting Ela and Jan. they were so welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. he even made dinner for the 4 of us on very little notice (extra) which was fantatstic! Salmon cooked on a cedar plank of his own invention. Jan picked us up and returned us to the airport and even took us around town. We spent the 4th of July in Gustavus -a small town celebration which was just perfect. it is worth it to spend time here as Jan tells great stories about his many experiences and even takes people on his boat for a whale watch (extra). They are great hosts.
if you are planning a trip to Glacier Bay you should definitely consider a stay here. you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews