We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bestand friendliest B & B,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bestand friendliest B & B,”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had the honor of being Janusz and Ela's guess in their very friendly bed and breakfast, and it was no continental breakfast, a full, delicious breakfast. First they came to pick us up at the airport and gave us a tour of the area where we might want to explore, visit, or enjoy, They have a large house with a nice comfortable living room with enough seating for everyone and a fireplace, large windows with lots of lights, The bed was very comfortable and cozy and clean as well as the bathroom, they were very informative on what we could do around Gustavus. They also have bikes that we used to go around. on the morning of the departure Ela suggested we took a short hike to a plane crash since we are amateur photographers and enjoy these kinds of outing, all in all we had a great stay, met people from all over the world whom were also staying there, great conversation, great host, great sejour, I would recommend this place to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Tell them what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Jan and Ela and their family are wonderful hosts, welcoming us for 2 nights. Comfortable rooms, great food, help with transportation to the Park, Ferry and Airport. We made friends while here thanks to the open, connecting atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifel0ngtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great B&B run by a couple (Janusz and Ela) who want to make sure you enjoy your time here. We spent 4 nights here and had the best sleep of our trip.
The house itself is large and comfortably furnished--lots of good seating, comfortable beds. The atmosphere is "we are one family", and we met and chatted with everyone staying there. Ela and Janusz go out of their way to provide for the needs of the guests--great breakfasts, dinners (extra) that were great (fresh salmon), transportation to and from the airport or ferry, bicycles which can be used. Janusz offers a whale watch on a boat he built--we had a whale breaching for 20 minutes when we went (I know he arranged that just for us--lol). we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weezie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Wild Alaska Inn for 2 nights but could have stayed another week. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts that Ela prepares wholesome and satisfying and most of all, the hospitality of the owners was so welcoming we immediately felt part of the family. They went out of their way to deliver and pick us up for activities, assisted with organising a seaplane for our departure to Juneau and the whalewatching with Janish was an excellent experience. If you book accommodation, they will assist with organising activities for your stay and this worked well. Overall, a truly memorable stay and would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I loved this family. What wonderful people. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. The breakfast was amazing!! and they definitely told us all we needed to know about Gustavus and the area. I really enjoyed their kids as well, and it was so fascinating to get a sneak peak into the life of "growing up" in small town alaska. Ask the kids about their lives, you will learn alot. There were a few little bitty things i would suggest to improve, put mirrors in the guest rooms and screens on the windows (for the skeeters). Sharing the bathroom is fine, but having a place in the room to get ready would be helpful with sharing. Oh, almost forgot to mention, you do not need a car if you can ride a bike. Town is tiny and only a few miles to the other sides. (they are right in the middle) They pick you up at the airport and will drive you to the airport or ferry, etc. There is only one restaurant in town, your best bet for dinner it to pay them to make it for you, or make reservations at another b&b, they all accept guests. I wouldn't describe this place as private so if you are the loner type, it may not be for you, but if you like meeting other people, want to enjoy an amazing family, and feel at home, it's a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days in the backcountry of Glacier Bay National Park. We stayed at the Wild Alaska Inn two different nights; the night before we set out, and the night after we returned from the park. Both nights were very enjoyable. The house had a very nice ambiance to it, kind of a small lodge. The rooms were very nice as well. Ela cooked us a nice breakfast both mornings we were there, with eggs, sausage, and some pancakes. On our second night, Jan cooked up an amazing crab dinner from which he brought from the Glacier Bay docks. Shall I return to Gustavus, I will definitely return to the Wild Alaska Inn!

Room Tip: We slept in a room with a queen bed the first night, and then a room with 2 twins on the second nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Truly wild. Beautiful rooms. Wonderful, caring owner/operators. Great breakfasts. Helped with all our plans including great NP tour on boat at Glacier Bay. Jan will also set you up with fishing, kayaking or whale watching. My son and I really loved our stay and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
4.5 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
1.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
124 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay

Property: Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Address: 1 Mountain VIew Road, Glacier Bay, Gustavus, AK 99826
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Alaska Inn cedar house is located in lovely little town of Gustavus/Glacier Bay, Alaska -One of the most beautiful spots in the entire state, and a perfect gateway to Glacier Bay National Park.Enjoy Wild Alaska's free service that helps you arrange outdoor adventures of your choice: whale-watching, Glacier Bay Tour, sport fishing, hiking, bird watching, photography, and kayaking that are available nearby. This small family run business would like to provide you with the best, warm, friendly service at competitive prices.. Included in price is Airport/Ferry pick up and drop off.Hot breakfast is included at no extra charge for guests.Also free wireless, free parking and free use of bicycles.After busy day of adventures and activities you can warm up by the fire place, rest and enjoy home cooking during your stay at cozy Wild Alaska Inn.This charming wooden house in Gustavus, Alaska is 0.3 Miles to Wild Alaska Charters and also is the closest Inn to the Glacier Bay National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Alaska Inn At Glacier Bay Gustavus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing