We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with genuine people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Wild Alaska Inn for 2 nights but could have stayed another week. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts that Ela prepares wholesome and satisfying and most of all, the hospitality of the owners was so welcoming we immediately felt part of the family. They went out of their way to deliver and pick us up for activities, assisted with organising a seaplane for our departure to Juneau and the whalewatching with Janish was an excellent experience. If you book accommodation, they will assist with organising activities for your stay and this worked well. Overall, a truly memorable stay and would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I loved this family. What wonderful people. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. The breakfast was amazing!! and they definitely told us all we needed to know about Gustavus and the area. I really enjoyed their kids as well, and it was so fascinating to get a sneak peak into the life of "growing up" in small town alaska. Ask the kids about their lives, you will learn alot. There were a few little bitty things i would suggest to improve, put mirrors in the guest rooms and screens on the windows (for the skeeters). Sharing the bathroom is fine, but having a place in the room to get ready would be helpful with sharing. Oh, almost forgot to mention, you do not need a car if you can ride a bike. Town is tiny and only a few miles to the other sides. (they are right in the middle) They pick you up at the airport and will drive you to the airport or ferry, etc. There is only one restaurant in town, your best bet for dinner it to pay them to make it for you, or make reservations at another b&b, they all accept guests. I wouldn't describe this place as private so if you are the loner type, it may not be for you, but if you like meeting other people, want to enjoy an amazing family, and feel at home, it's a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days in the backcountry of Glacier Bay National Park. We stayed at the Wild Alaska Inn two different nights; the night before we set out, and the night after we returned from the park. Both nights were very enjoyable. The house had a very nice ambiance to it, kind of a small lodge. The rooms were very nice as well. Ela cooked us a nice breakfast both mornings we were there, with eggs, sausage, and some pancakes. On our second night, Jan cooked up an amazing crab dinner from which he brought from the Glacier Bay docks. Shall I return to Gustavus, I will definitely return to the Wild Alaska Inn!

Room Tip: We slept in a room with a queen bed the first night, and then a room with 2 twins on the second nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Truly wild. Beautiful rooms. Wonderful, caring owner/operators. Great breakfasts. Helped with all our plans including great NP tour on boat at Glacier Bay. Jan will also set you up with fishing, kayaking or whale watching. My son and I really loved our stay and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

they do their best to make you feel at home. breakfast meals were very good and freshly cooked. we did rent a car to explore better than the bikes would allow. i believe we covered every mile of road in town. one thing i will say is take care of getting something for your evening meal early, or you could be out of luck.7pm is roll up the street time as far as stores or restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose this bed and breakfast based on the positive reviews and can say that we were very glad we did. Our hosts Jan and Ella are hard working, innovative, gregarious and generous people. The home is cozy and comfortable complete with games for relaxing moments. We were also surprised and pleased to enjoy locally grown and home made foods such as dandelion and spruce syrup and wild mint tea. Additionally, they go out of their way to help you plan and execute your activities. Lastly I would like to add that my ten and thirteen year old sons especially enjoyed the company and fun they had exploring with Jan and Ella's son. Oh, and we should add that they have laundry capabilities that were necessary for a family traveling very lightly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We chose WI based on the reviews we read here. After our visit last month I completely agree with everything the other reviewers have said. They really want their guest to have a good time and work very hard to make this happen. While we were there the Glacier Bay Park boat went out of service one morning. This was something beyond their control, but they were very concerned and tried to do all they could for the guest that missed this fantastic park excursion. Great food, very comfortable accommodations, interesting conversations with a wide variety of travelers. Janish and Ella are the best host ever.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasYellowRose46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
4.5 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#2 of 9 in Gustavus
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
4.5 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay

Address: 1 Mountain VIew Road, Glacier Bay, Gustavus, AK 99826
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range: $133 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Alaska Inn cedar house is located in lovely little town of Gustavus/Glacier Bay, Alaska -One of the most beautiful spots in the entire state, and a perfect gateway to Glacier Bay National Park.Enjoy Wild Alaska's free service that helps you arrange outdoor adventures of your choice: whale-watching, Glacier Bay Tour, sport fishing, hiking, bird watching, photography, and kayaking that are available nearby. This small family run business would like to provide you with the best, warm, friendly service at competitive prices.. Included in price is Airport/Ferry pick up and drop off.Hot breakfast is included at no extra charge for guests.Also free wireless, free parking and free use of bicycles.After busy day of adventures and activities you can warm up by the fire place, rest and enjoy home cooking during your stay at cozy Wild Alaska Inn.This charming wooden house in Gustavus, Alaska is 0.3 Miles to Wild Alaska Charters and also is the closest Inn to the Glacier Bay National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Alaska Inn At Glacier Bay Gustavus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing