We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the pioneering spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In the pioneering spirit”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is as close as I can imagine to witnessing the pioneering spirit of Alaska. Janish and Ela have built a family and a home here with their own hands and ingenuity. Ela, and especially, Janish have stories to tell, and they don't need much urging to tell them.

The B&B is a cozy wood building made by Jan from trees on his property. Our room, the only one with a private bath, was spacious and comfortable. The public area had a nice fireplace which kept the whole house warm. The family lives nearby on the property.

The hot breakfasts were generous and always included items homemade by Jan and Ela with local ingredients such as blueberries or spruce buds. The optional dinners at the shared table were excellent and featured local fish which Jan cooked in the oven on a wooden board which he designed and made.

Room Tip: Have at least one dinner with Jan and Ela.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Wild Alaska in early June. We had just finished a 7 day cruise and wanted to balance that with 5 nights in one spot. This was a great decision! We loved totally immersing ourselves in the little town of Gustavus. We spent a lot of time at Glacier Bay National Park - kayaking, hiking, boating with the National Park Service. In between, we got to stay at WAI and enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Ella and Janish. They provided stories, advice, great conversation, awesome breakfasts, and a comfy warm place to call home - making the overall experience one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLovesVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Janusz and Ella made as feel like at home. They are absolutely great hard working people with knowledge and connections to help you and to make your visit in Alaska most memorable. Best hosts you can wish for. Their place is very clean, food is great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Alaska. The last part of our Alaskan journey was staying at Gustavus at the Wild Alaska Inn. The host, Janish and Ella were so nice, making sure that we were taken care of, even transporting us to Glacier Bay Lodge. They offer bikes and canoes for those who want to go out on their own. The breakfasts that Ella cooked each morning was always varied from eggs, french toast, crapes, hash browns...all with fresh fruit and muffins. If you wish, they also offer evening meals, usually salmon or halibut.
The day before we left, the ferry cancelled so Janish offered to take us back to Juneau on his boat. What a great trip, saw whales, sea otters and sea lions on the way.
Sad to say "good-bye" to such wonderful people. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebegrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a great experience. Janish met us at the ferry dock and immediately took us whale watching. His boat may not be the fanciest but he knew exactly where the Humpback whales were, and we soon found ourselves in the midst of so many we couldn't count them. He also had a hydrophone that he put in the water, so we could here the whales singing and vocalizing. So cool. His wife, Ella, made us a huge and delicious breakfast...one of the best we had in any B&B during our trip. Janish regaled us with stories of his many adventures homesteading in Alaska. We felt like one of the family, and got a taste of what it must be like to live in Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tapps
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the our 5th time returning to stay at the Wild Alaska Inn, Jan and Ella are the best hosts, they make you feel at home, They always make our Alaska trips very memorable, between the whale watching and all the other exciting this to do. At the end of your day you will be ready to come back to there home, and relax, in a very spacious, warm and inviting home. We also were able to use the kitchen when we wanted. I can't say enough, we love to stay at the Wild Alaska Inn. I highly recommend Wild Alaska Inn if you want the real Alaska experience.

Room Tip: all rooms rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djonesLakeTapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Wild Alaska Inn for 3 nights during August 2012. First, I have to say that Janusz and Ella are two of the best hosts you can find. We had more than one interesting conversations with them. And really made you feel like home.

The room we were in was very spacious and impeccably clean. Bathrooms are shared but always clean as well. Breakfast prepared every morning by Ella was also very good and more than we could eat. I really liked that our hosts were having breakfast with us, really made us feel more like friends than clients.

The Inn itself is located halfway between "downtown" Gustavus (if the only road crossing of Gustavus can be considered as such) and the lodge where most of the activities and tours take place. Jan and Ella were almost always available to give us a ride to wherever we wanted to be, and also provided free bikes for us to use at any time. The ride to the lodge by bike takes roughly 40min at a very relaxed pace.

Apart from the stay, Janusz also has a boat and provides the opportunity of private whale-watching and kayaking tours. We opted for the kayaking tour, and although pricey, we were not disappointed since Janusz is guaranteed to find you some whales and drop you close to them (as close as the regulations allow to be precise).

All in all, if we ever return to Gustavus, we have a pretty good idea where we will be staying.

Thanks Janusz and Ella!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
4.5 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
223 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
1.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay

Property: Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Address: 1 Mountain VIew Road, Glacier Bay, Gustavus, AK 99826
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Alaska Inn cedar house is located in lovely little town of Gustavus/Glacier Bay, Alaska -One of the most beautiful spots in the entire state, and a perfect gateway to Glacier Bay National Park.Enjoy Wild Alaska's free service that helps you arrange outdoor adventures of your choice: whale-watching, Glacier Bay Tour, sport fishing, hiking, bird watching, photography, and kayaking that are available nearby. This small family run business would like to provide you with the best, warm, friendly service at competitive prices.. Included in price is Airport/Ferry pick up and drop off.Hot breakfast is included at no extra charge for guests.Also free wireless, free parking and free use of bicycles.After busy day of adventures and activities you can warm up by the fire place, rest and enjoy home cooking during your stay at cozy Wild Alaska Inn.This charming wooden house in Gustavus, Alaska is 0.3 Miles to Wild Alaska Charters and also is the closest Inn to the Glacier Bay National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Alaska Inn At Glacier Bay Gustavus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing