We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Nearby Hotels
$190
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Lane Inn(Juneau)(Great Value!)
$135
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Juneau(Juneau)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
57
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsother guestsglacier bayaccommodating hostsgreat storieshumpback whalesjanelabikesboatairportdropmiles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 71 of 71 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our trip to Alaska and Wild Alaska was excellent. While in Gustavos, we stayed at both the Lodge at Glacier Bay and Wild Alaska. Wild Alaska offered better beds, more privacy, and gracious hosts at a much better price. I would never recommend the lodge to any one, but would definitely recommend Wild Alaska.

During our stay, we had an excellent home cooked breakfast, enjoyed whale watching with Jan and had free use of the bikes to explore the town. Awesome experience we will fondly remember!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had wonderful time during our stay at Wild Alaska Inn. The house is clean, beds are neat, and the breakfast served was delicious. Jan and Ela were always trying to make our stay as pleasurable as it can be. The kayak trip to Glacier Bay was out of this planet, as was the whale watching at Point Adolphus,( we will not forget our kayak with the whales experience!)Jan and Ela were able to find us great deal on Glacier Bay tour boat, for we are very grateful ! It was really spectacular to see all the Glaciers. Gustavus is so remote from civilization, and we feel really lucky to meet our hosts that took such a great care of us. Edward, and Kristina, Chicago

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A friend and I stayed three nights at the Wild Alaska Inn. This was a last-minute trip we scheduled from Juneau because other plans had fallen through. We were looking for less expensive accommodations and came across Wild Alaska Inn on tripadvisor. There were no reviews so we were a little hesitant, but after speaking on the phone with the owners decided to try it. The B&B, its owners, and our Glacier Bay experience were wonderful!

Turns out there were no reviews because until recently the owners were mostly providing fishing charter accommodations (now discontinued). Their five double B&B rooms are in a very nice, two-story, separate house on a five-acre property, with a full kitchen and living room. Our upstairs bedroom shared a bathroom with two other rooms. A land line phone and Wi-Fi is available, but we didn't have cell phone coverage. Hot breakfasts were prepared for us in the B&B kitchen. While we were there we were the only guests.

The B&B is a short drive or bike ride away from Bartlett Cove, where the Glacier Bay National Park Visitor Center and Glacier Bay Lodge are located, and where Glacier Bay boat tours depart. The owners offered us use of their bicycles, but it was rainy, so they graciously shuttled us to and from Barlett Cove. We had all of our dinners at Glacier Bay Lodge.

On our first full day, the B&B owners arranged for us to use one of their double kayaks to paddle among the Beardslee Islands out of Bartlett Cove. This was terrific; a highlight was seeing bears roaming the shorelines. The next day we did the very worthwhile, full-day boat tour of Glacier Bay, where we saw spectacular glaciers and lots of wildlife.

This B&B and Glacier Bay are highly recommended!

Room Tip: You may want to ask about who else will be staying at the B&B, since this could affect your choice of rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews