We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only way to go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
“The only way to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were a group of eight adults(4 alpha males and their wives) and eight children(ages 9-17). When we put the trip together we were wondering whether or not anyone out there could handle this clan. From the initial contact till the final goodbyes Dave ,JoAnn and their wonderful staff took care of us as if we were family. Dave took care of all our bookings--kayaking,fishing, glacier tour,etc. Every day was enjoyed by all. We especially appreciated the fact that after whatever tour or activity we had done,everyone was excited about getting back to the Inn and sharing our experiences with newly found friends and family. The food at the Inn is excellent. Like I said--the only way to go!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesbeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

above and beyond what we usually get at small inns and b&b's. the host took care of seeing that all of us had a special time. he also re-opened the restaurant at 11pm after our flight from Juneu had been delayed. 11 hungry guests enjoyed a gourmet meal of bbq salmon!!!!!!!!.Great place to meet new people.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nana5California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Cool place to relax and explore the great outoors of South Alaska. Glacier Bay glaciers, whale watching, river and ocean fishing and kayaking are all nearby. Enjoy the long summer Alaska sunset sipping wine and nibbling fresh salmon grilled by Dave, the owner-chef, and his friendly staff. Excellent cell and internet wireless conection if you need to keep in touch. The hotel has a surplus stock of good bicycles to move around and plenty of rubber Alaska boots and windbrakers to keep you dry. There is a - not very well trimmed- 9 hole golf course and a driving range in the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sggranados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

The food is fabulous. The staff are wonderful. The rooms are great. The location is excellent. Mixing the guests at large tables for meals was a wonderful way to socialise and meet people, as are the drinks and hors d'oevres at the bar before dinner.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank flitzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We spent three nights at the Gustavus Inn in July and wish we had more time there. The Inn and the grounds are beautiful, and the food is out of this world. In fact, the presentation was so spectacular I actually took pictures of the tables! Dave and JoAnn have truly created a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathie1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

The whole experience at the inn is memorable. The inn is picturesque. The rooms are lovely. The Lesh's garden is one of best I have seen. The food is gourmet. They will provide appropriate meals for children. The hosts and staff are friendly and attentive. Breakfasts were great. Loved the pancakes. Dave will make all the arrangements for the flights from Juneau. Also he will book your kayak, fishing and glacier bay excursions. You will love it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Dave, JoAnn and their team made this another truly fantastic visit. After a great visit (with perfect weather) in 2009, our expectations were high and the Gustavus Inn came through in every respect. We felt like we were visiting old friends, who took care of arranging all of our activities and took care of even the smallest details. Every meal, breakfast through dinner, was an adventure and a treat. (Their food won a well-deserved James Beard award in 2010.) Our accommodations and the chance to swap stories with fellow travelers were also great. We love Alaska and the Gustavus Inn is our favorite destination in the state. We cannot wait to plan another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
6.2 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
2.1 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay

Property: Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Address: One Mile Gustavus Road, PO Box 60, Gustavus, AK 99826
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic homestead completely renovated with private baths, spacious rooms, James Beard award winning garden, wild edible and ocean harvest dining three meals daily, naturalist library, sat tv, cellphone reception, wifi, free bikes, near the beach, tour and airport transfers. Tour planning. Host owners on property to make your visit the best possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavus Inn At Glacier Bay Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing