We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glacier Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible vacation”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent three nights in the cabins at the Glacier Outdoor Center and fly fished for two day. The entire experience was over the top awesome! The cabins we stayed in was very private and secluded. The cabin was clean and comfortable and extremely quiet. We were delighted to have a kitchen and grill on the porch so we could prepare our own breakfast and dinner. We fished the first day with Shane as our guide on the North Fork. The water and scenery were spectacular. There were lots of fish to be caught but keep in mind that the rivers around here don't support many large fish but you do have lots of fun catching cutthroats and rainbows on dry flies all day long. The second day we fished the Middle Fork with Brock. The fish were larger but not quite as plentiful. However that gave us an opportunity to sit for a couple minutes and enjoy the scenery. Great lunch on the river each day. Super friendly staff at every part of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    29
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
105
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The cabin was well maintained and had all the ammenities listed on the company's website. The only addition that I would recommend is some sort of ghetto blaster with auxilary input to play music.

We had a great time hiking and river rafting (also with Glacier Rafting Company) in Glacier National Park. The BBQ worked like a charm and the dishwasher made clean up super easy. Thanks for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Cabin #1 for six nights in August, 2013. Couldn't be happier with the cleanliness, facilities, and comfort. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Many West Glacier reviews complain about the train noise, but honestly, there's nowhere in this valley you can escape that, and the cabins on this property are about the farthest away you can get...we just ran the fan every night for some white noise. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

At the end of June we took our first trip to Glacier. We wanted something better then just a hotel room and decided on a cabin. We chose Glacier Outdoor Center because they had larger cabins we could choose from. When we walked in we knew it was the right decision. It was very clean and stocked will all the supplies you would need. It was comfortable and relaxing. I would recommend it to anyone. We very much enjoyed our stay adding one more day because we wanted to experience more. I would make one suggestion..non slip strips in the tub. It was a little slick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great week staying in one of the Deluxe 3 bedroom cabins. They are clean, new and have everything you need. The staff is great as well. Only problem was the train nearby waking us up once or twice.

The ponds have big trout in them, but we never had the chance to fish.

The location is about 10 minutes from Apgar/West entrance to Glacier NP.

Room Tip: The nice thing about the Deluxe 3 bedroom cabins is they are a little farther from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At the end of June our family of 4 adults and 2 young kids were doing a quick tour of Glacier National Park. Idea was to stay in a different location each night and explore the area each day. Our first stop was West Glacier and we decided to stay at the Glacier Outdoor Center Cabins this time to try and avoid a little of the congestion in West Glacier and Apgar Village. We were overwhelmed by how nice, clean and BIG the cabins were! It was shoulder season so we got a 2-story new construction cabin with sleeping room for at least 10 people for the same price we would have paid for a tiny/outdated/thin walled room or cabin in Apgar. There was a full kitchen with all the necessary utensils/plates/coffee/sugar etc. There were gas fire places downstairs in the "family room" and upstairs in the kitchen. We used the fireplace at night for the down stairs as it was a bit chilly. Cabin had 2 full bathrooms, 2 queen beds in each of the 2 bedrooms and 2-3 sofa sleepers. There was a great upstairs balcony with outdoor seating just off the kitchen and separate entrances on both levels. There was even a bbq, wish we had known- would have stopped at the grocery store on the main highway on the way in to get something to grill! There was nothing we needed...but more time! After seeing the lovely cabin with such comfortable accommodations we wished we had booked a longer stay- one night was not enough! The grounds were beautiful, grassy areas to play, a pond with geese within a short walk from our cabin, sand volleyball court, huge towering pines and cottonwood trees (that were "snowing" when we were there!) Location is perfect- t was literally a 3 min drive to West Glacier shops/restaurants and the entrance to GNP. And as an added bonus we got a discount on our white water rafting trips just for staying with them. Now that we know about this secret location, we will definitely be back and next time we will have to stay longer and have more time to explore and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megtff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a great time in West Glacier. The full kitchen was wonderful. Comfortable set up. So close to the park. Friendly, helpful staff. Cabin was clean & well equipped. Would recommend. Great location. Great to be able to return to a comfortable cabin after a long hike or rafting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
145 reviews
4.5 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
12.9 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Outdoor Center

Property: Glacier Outdoor Center
Address: 12400 Us 2, West Glacier, MT 59936 (Formerly Glacier National Park Cabins & Lodging)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Outdoor Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Outdoor Center offers comfortable accommodations in the heart of West Glacier, with modern cabins with beautiful mountain views and easy access to Glacier National Park. For the full Montana vacation experience, stay in one of our cozy, comfortable log cabins. Located less than a mile (as the eagle flies) from the west entrance to Glacier National Park, our cabins have all the amenities you want along with mountain views and outdoor fun all around. You can play horseshoes, volleyball, and practice casting in our trout pond. Instead of a motel, bed down in one of our log cabins nestled under the peaks of Glacier Park. You'll never sleep better. Our log cabins are your home away from home right in all the action of Glacier National Park. They are a great base camp for all activities in the area including whitewater rafting, scenic float trips, and guided fly fishing.The possibilites are endless for activies around your perfect base camp for Glacier National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Outdoor Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Outdoor Center West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing