We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

My wife and I got engaged in February 2008, and within two months, we had a wedding planned near Glacier National Park to be held in June 2008. This could not have been accomplished without the great help of Susan at The Great Bear Inn. The way it turns out, we were the first official guests of The Great Bear Inn and reserved the whole lodge for three days and nights for our immediate family.

Susan let us know weeks in advance that due to a late winter and long wet spring, the landscaping would not be finished and gave us the option out of our reservation. We understood the situation, and were just gracious that she was doing everything in her power to have everything prepared for our arrival as the first guests.

The lodge is tucked in off the beaten path of Blankenship Road and identified by “The Great Bear Inn Drive” green street sign tacked onto a nearby pine tree. As we pulled up the road and around the bend, out jumped this incredible mountain lodge. We were graciously invited in and began exploring the three different levels of this beautiful lodge. Upon walking through the front door, the entranceway leads to a beautiful great room with floor to ceiling windows with breathtaking views of the opposing mountain range. Off to the right is a fireplace (see home page of their website) that can be enjoyed in the great room, or also on the other side of the wall in the formal dining room (see Amenities page of their website). Adjacent to the dining room is a cook’s kitchen, if you know what I mean, with an additional dining room with three log tables for breakfast every morning. Climbing up the staircase leads you to the four deluxe suites, all in their own corner of the lodge, and downstairs you find the game room with pool table and the grand suites on either end. The grand suites were exactly that, grand. There is a lot of space to relax and each come with a fireplace and a private door that leads you out to your own patio to enjoy the fresh brisk mountain air in the morning. Each suite also comes with flat screen TVs, DVD players, mini refrigerators, and their own bathrooms.

The Great Bear Inn was the perfect place for us as we occupied all six suites and could retreat to them at anytime. There was also plenty of space where both families were able to mingle and get to know each other for the first time. We often found my mother and sister in the kitchen chatting it up with our gracious hosts, Susan and her son, Ryan, and we often found my wife’s dad coming back in from hiking in the mountains. They made us feel so welcome, and did everything in their power to accommodate us and to help us make this weekend a memorable one.

In response to some of the other reviews: Yes, there is a train that passes by down the road, but the train travels from East Glacier to West Glacier on the south end of the park, so if you want to stay reasonably close to either entrance, you will hear a train whistle occasionally. More troubling of all of the reviews, was to say that there was no view. I could sit and soak in the views for hours on end.

We will definitely return to The Great Bear Inn! We look forward to our next stay!

  • Liked — We enjoyed being in the middle of nowhere, but only 10 minutes from Glacier Nat'l Park.
  • Disliked — The landscaping was not yet finished. We are looking forward to seeing the final product in the future.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank glaciergray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    22
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
70
135
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

My family and I stayed at the inn for one night. It was hard to find as there are no street signs to go along with the directions provided. This is more a B&B. The place is new and could be very nice, but................ We found the Inn not very well kept and dirty. The in room coffee pot had mold in it and left over coffee. The grills outside were not cleaned as well and had left over bags on it from previous guest.

We were told there would be no landscaping, which they did not and did not bother us. Most of the night we heard the TV and walking from the room above us and was very distracting as we could not sleep until way after 12 midnight.

Last, but not least, they have big dogs, though all are sweet and really do not bother anyone. However, during the night, these big dogs left their deposits all over the floor in the basement room, just outside our door and room. We had to walk around it to leave, which we did pormptly. We did not stay for breakfast for reasons above.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Another reviewer says that the property's website is deceiving. I disagree...I realized that it was a B&B when I booked our four night stay.

We stayed in the Spirit Bear Grand Suite...one of the larger rooms. It has a nice king bed and a poor hide-a-bed couch (the kind with the springs and frame that you feel all night long). The family took turns sleeping on the couch/bed. When it was my turn, I put the couch cushions on the floor and slept on them.

The bathroom is very spacious, the vanity area had two sinks and was pretty nice. The bedroom area could have used a chair or two for sitting on, since we left the couch set up for a bed during out stay. It is not comfortable to sit on in that configuration. Another end table would have been nice too...there is only one in the room.

The patio was nice to sit out and enjoy the early morning with a cup of coffee made from the in-room coffee maker.

The breakfasts were good, and prepared with enthusiasm by the staff, who were friendly and available, but not overbearing on their guests.

The owners rushed this property open this year before it is totally completed. The landscaping is non-existent, but the setting is wonderful and the view will be beautiful after they get the grass in. One example of the bugs that they are still working on was the smoke alarm that went off at about 12:30am and woke all the guests. There was no reason for this alarm, and the following day the owner had the electrician out to fix the problem.

The location is not available on GPS yet...I have two units, and neither one even recognized the name of the road that the property is located on. The confirmation of our reservation contained a detailed set of directions that helped us to find the Inn.

As another reviewer wrote, the train runs nearby, and you'll hear the whistle throughout the day and night. Personally, I think a train whistle has a romantic feeling, and was willing to forgive it waking me upon occasion.

The owner was very helpful...loaning us a can of bear spray (which we would have paid her for if we had needed to use it)...making recommendations on some trails in the park...even helping us to grill some freshly caught lake trout when we got back from a half-day outing on Flathead Lake.

For having opened just three weeks before our stay, I was pleased and would come back in the future when the bugs are worked out and the landscaping is completed.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusketeerDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

Their website makes you think that this place is an inn but it is a B&B (i thought we would have our own cabin). It is also brand new and unfinished. They claim to have a hot tub but their landscaping isn't even in (and there is no view). Heck, they don't even have soap or other amenities in the bathroom. And you better like the sound of trains at night because you will hear them all night long blowing their horns as the RR crossing is 1/4 mile from the "inn". The house is nice, it is new and if managed right could be a nice place to stay once they have it all finished and have worked the bugs out. Breakfast was good but they made me feel a bit guilty for asking for another waffle, and the coffee could have been better. This is a B&B, you will stay in a bedroom of a strangers house. We had never done that before so it was wierd but maybe this is how it is at these types of places. It is located on a dirt road and is hard to find, had we not had a GPS in our car it would have been very tough.

  • Liked — closeness to the park
  • Disliked — lack of advertised amentities and privacy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlFishBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Property: The Great Bear Inn
Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing