We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great Bear Inn
Nearby Hotels
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glacier Outdoor Center(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$224
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Northern Resort(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Guides Lodge(West Glacier)
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belton Chalet(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$155
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mini Golden Inns Motel(Hungry Horse)(Great Value!)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Travel Inn(Columbia Falls)
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center(Columbia Falls)(Great Value!)
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadow Lake Resort(Columbia Falls)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
214
23
14
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
23
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsgrand roomglacier national parkdogs runningfront lawnpool tableeast entranceour room was spaciousthe main lodgethe lower levelclosed duelaundry facilitiesstayed longerday hikingmini fridgeshort drivewest side
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 264 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for a week at the Great Bear Inn and loved the place! Our room (Grande) was huge and so comfortable, with a great view. But what really made it special was the atmosphere and staff...so friendly and attentive. We had only signed up for 3 of the 6 nights for dinner when we made our reservations but quickly added on 2 more when we discovered how wonderful the food was and how much fun the dinner conversations were! It was a great way to relax after a day of exploring the park and surrounding area. Despite the rain and snow, we had a great trip! Thanks Susan, Ryan, Mary, and the rest. A special thanks to Jackson for providing a surrogate dog to pet while away from ours at home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I vacation in the West Glacier area every September and we love staying at the Great Bear Inn! This year our stay was shorter than normal but we were still able to enjoy the unique ambiance and personal attention from the owners and staff of this beautiful mountain lodge. We actually stayed in two different room types this year due to our schedule and availability. First we stayed in the one of the Grand Rooms on the ground level and my favorite part is the patio table and chairs just beyond the sliding glass door where I would drink my morning coffee and relax in the early evening before dinner. This room is very spacious with a very comfortable king size bed, sofa, sitting area, refrigerator, coffee maker, television, fireplace, vanity and dressing area, and awesome water pressure in the shower. We also had the opportunity to stay in one of their Deluxe Rooms with two queen beds that was just as comfortable and pleasant with its own distinctive characteristics. Everything was very clean and fresh! This Inn is just a few miles from the West entrance of Glacier National Park and the location made the travel time to the various area lakes and rivers for fishing, floating and hiking access for us very easy. The Inn provided a continental breakfast with several choices along with coffee and juice that we were able to help our selves to at our morning convenience. The evenings at the Great Bear Inn were very entertaining and memorable. My husband and I enjoyed meeting the other guests in the main area prior to dinner. The dinners were prepared and served with style and the food was delicious. Thank you Susan, Mary and Ryan! Can’t wait till next year!! Cindy & Jim

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 10 days at this inn. We had rain, snow, and a government shutdown of the glacier national park. However, we loved the inn and the Montana hospitality. We were shown how to use bear spray, told about sites and other areas of interest once the park was shut down. The food was wonderful. We enjoyed talking to the other guest about our days, such as where you might see wildlife, good hiking trails, weather, or simply where to have fun. Our room was comfortable and well cared for by staff. We enjoyed the continental breakfast because we could get up and leave when ready in the morning, spend the day sight seeing and hiking, and then return knowing we could relax and a delicious dinner was still to come. Even when it snows, rains and the government gets in your way you can still have a great time at the Great Bear Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mini grand and the grand. We liked both.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutton930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I did a lot of research, looking for a really nice, comfortable place to stay just outside Glacier NP. The Great Bear Inn was the only place I found that was both very comfortable and very close to the park. We stayed in a cabin just across from the main house. We found it very comfortable, convenient, and peaceful. The cabin had a bedroom, living area with sofa and chairs, eating area, and kitchen downstairs. Stairs led to a large loft with two queen beds and a twin bed.

The cabin was both very quaint (my son was very excited to be staying in a log cabin!) and very comfortable and spacious.

Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
An easy 10-minute drive to Glacier NP. (Get directions from Susan.)

Lots of space to relax.

Spotlessly clean.

Huge bathroom with good shower and large washer/dryer.

Full kitchen. (On the way in, we bought groceries at Mountain Valley Foods, an excellent natural foods store in Kalispell.)

Extremely peaceful setting. The inn is set way back off a very quiet road.

Beautiful view of the mountains from the cabin deck and the inside eating area.

Kid friendly: Lots of space to run around both inside the cabin and outside. Board games can be brought over from the main house.


Cons:
Uncomfortable bed in the bedroom.

The eating area has only a picnic table and two benches. It looked rustic, but we adults would have preferred real chairs with backs.

The cabin was very expensive for the area, but we wanted a comfortable place very close to the park, so it was worth it to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a mixed bag.... too expensive for what it is.... someone's home made into a "Bed and Dinner" lodging. The room we had was nice and large, bed comfortable, though the room was located off the bonus room area. The staff was friendly. I am extremely upset that my dietary restrictions (which were communicated beforehand) were ignored. The web site even offers an alternate meal for diet restrictions - extremely unprofessional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

We regret that your needs were not met. I cannot find any reservation with you listed as a guest in our Grand Room to determine where the mistake generated from. We have so many guests who do not mention any food restrictions until dinner is served, yet our chefs are always happy to replace that meal with another immediately. We wish you would have said something at that time as we would have been more than happy to correct any mistakes for you. Any restaurant holds to that standard willingly and gladly. We hold to that same professional standard. In reference to the Bonus Room being adjacent to your room, our quiet hours are 11:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m. yet we close the Bonus Room at 10:00 p.m. The dinner hour usually wraps up by 9;30.
The Great Bear Inn was built to be exactly what it is, and was never a "home" turned into a lodge.
To assume otherwise is incorrect.
Susan Sullivan
Owner
The Great Bear Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews