We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room ok meals”
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
“great room ok meals”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The room was above average. It was very large & well furnished. It was actually bigger than necessary. The view of the mountains & the well landscaped hotel grounds was great. It had a very nice patio with chairs & table. The staff was very friendly & tried to do everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The only complaint that I had was the food. The meals were good, but not great. Too many "gourmet" items for me. I also do not care for the "family style" atmosphere. The breakfast was great as long as you liked carbs & sugar. No protein available.
I think that this would have been a great place that I would come back to if the meals could be eliminated & a gas grill made available to prepare meals of choice. The price should then be adjusted to about $250.00 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We regret that you were not completely happy with your stay here. Perhaps if you would have familiarized yourself with our website you would have known that we offer a Self Serve Continental Breakfast to our guests; the definition of which is coffee, tea, juices,and rolls. We expanded ours to include kasha cereals along with an assortment of other cereals, a variety of oatmeal,, fresh fruits, bagels, multi grain breads, cream cheese, jellies, etc. Our focus here is the evening meals. As noted on our website, we have two chefs here who specialize in gourmet dining. Our evening meals are served to all our guests at one seating to provide a social environment and has been very successful. To separate our guests at smaller individual tables would defeat the purpose. The vast majority of our guests are here for the gourmet food and the ability to share their stories of the day with other guests. To say that our rooms are larger than necessary is a first for us.
Susan Sullivan
The Great Bear Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    23
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
78
136
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Great Bear Inn is in the top five of special places I've stayed. The location is perfect- close to West Glacier and tucked in the woods off the main road. The hospitality is genuine and warm and the service is excellent. The five friendly dogs running amuck are in charge of greetings and bear protection.
We didn't request to have our room to be cleaned every day but it was done each day anyway. The dinners are marvelous and give you an opportunity to socialize with the diverse and sometimes eccentric folks the Inn attracts.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: The standard room is a good value that's comfortable with a nice bath and good hot shower but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We love Great Bear Inn, the warmth of our hosts and the interesting people we met there!
We just spent three days at the Inn. Would recommend it without reservations. Great location, about 15 minutes from the entrance to West Glacier National Park. Stayed in the mini grand room- excellent, quiet, access to the deck and great views, great bed, extremely clean, very comfortable. Such a friendly place- the management is great and very attentive. The staff is also very friendly, attentive to the needs of the guests. Food is great thanks to the great chef. What we really enjoyed was the evenings get togethers with the guest and dinner. Everyone would congregate in the common great room or deck before dinner to meet each other and share the days experiences. It was a great time to socialize and meet new friends. This continued during dinner and after. Met so many great people.

Room Tip: Loved the Mini Grande- on the same level as great room, dining room and main deck overlooking the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Great Bear Inn while we were hiking/biking in Glacier NP. Mary, the owner was very open and made us feel right at home - so much so that our room wan't ready when we arrived at 4:30pm the day of our reservation. Dinner is included in the room rate, unless you specifically ask not to have it. Since we knew we would be arriving later in the day, we went ahead and had dinner which is supposed to be served around 7:30. The food was very good, but it was also very late by the time dinner was over. Vacations for us are about getting up and out and enjoying the area we are exploring, so we prefer not to eat so late. Anyway, the atmosphere is very nice with a good deck out front and most of the people are friendly and it is good to share experiences about hikes and other activities. There is no daily maid service, but we were told if we wanted our room made up or clean towels to leave the tag on the door. So after a couple of days we did this.....the sign was on for 10 hours while we were away and no one touched our room....it was right across from the laundry room, so it would seem hard to miss it. Anyway, we went ahead and found our own clean towels. About 3 days in, Mary noted that there were bugs coming this time of year and we might see them in the cabin and there was nothing she could do about it. Well we ended up killing an average of 15 each day in our room when we arrived back to the cabin. Not a very pleasant experience to be swatting big (about 2 inches long) bugs each evening. They were in the windows, bedding, sink area, etc. Sorry it was just Yuck! Another issue we encountered was although this was classified as a bed and breakfast, no one was up in the morning. The coffee making was given to a timer which didn't go off the last 3 mornings we were there. My husband was the earliest riser and ended up ensuring we along with the other guests would have coffee in the morning. Although there was a coffee maker in our room, we had run out of the individual coffee packs after the first day. We, along with others made sure the staff knew about this but it didn't seem to change anything. Breakfast is very limited It was very nice to have laundry facilities available so we didn't have to pack as many clothes.
So overall the cabin is lovely and a good place to relax and a good alternative to the "inside the park" experiences, but don;t expect first class service when it comes to your room, supplies or breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksisario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We regret wholeheartedly your experience with us. Each review brings insight to us. As such,
we have revamped our maid service to be standard unless a guest places the Do Not Disturb Sign on their door. Our lodge sits in the middle of the woods, surrounded by thousands of pine trees. We had an unusual heat wave with nights turning very cold. This prevented us from removing the window air conditioners on the top floor. We tried everything to prevent the bugs from entering from outside. However you should never have had to experience bugs in your room. We are installing ductless air conditioning in those units next year and replacing what appears to be inferior windows. Please contact us so that we may offer you a complimentary visit in the future.
Susan Sullivan
The Great Bear Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Great Bear Inn has for us set a new benchmark of excellence in accommodations. The home is warm and welcoming and the staff are sincere and joyful in every guests arrival and stay. We were welcomed and given the tour of the home. We were invited to all the snacks and beverages we wanted and even offered the use of the laundry facilities. The Grand Rooms are LARGE clean and very comfortable. The Great Bear Inn would be a wonderful place to stay if this was the end of the review, but this is just the beginning. The chefs prepare delicious dinners (even with a significant power outage one of our evenings) elegant meals in a casual fun environment. The continental breakfast became pure decadence when I found a the chocolate muffins in the fridge, I wish I had one right now! The food and accommodations together make this a very good value and a wonderful memory of our visit to Glacier National Park.

Room Tip: The grand rooms are down a fight of stairs and next to the rec room with ping pong and pool table. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family of four stayed for a week in July. By the end of the first night, we already felt like we were family. Chef Ryan didn't mind our teenage son hanging out with him while he cooked and even played ping pong with him after dinner. At The Great Bear Inn dinner is a fun filled, slow paced event with a beautiful mountain backdrop. We would spend hours getting to know the other families over gourmet dinner and often would laugh til we cried! The towels were large and fluffy as well as soft beds and sheets. The cabin was perfectly stocked to cook or grill your own meals and had a large bathroom. We even had Kruger Helicopter come pick us up from the backyard for sightseeing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Magie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed five nights this past week and the location is reasonable to the West entrance to the park. For about the same price, you can get very sub-par accommodations in Glacier Park, so stay at The Great Bear Inn. Yes, it is additional driving, but worth the time. Superb in cleanliness, attention to detail, decorating, engaging and friendly staff. Only suggestion would be to have dinner earlier - 7 PM. Cuisine was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
327 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
354 reviews
23.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Property: The Great Bear Inn
Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing