We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly something special”
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Truly something special”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the minute you enter the property this place is bursting with character. We were immediatey welcomed by Ryan (a larger than life character) who made us feel right at home. Ryan was also the head chef and he and fellow chef produced what can only be described as an amazing 5 course meal of international standard. All guests dined together in the main dining room and allowed us to share experiences encountered so far with our travels.

One regret was not staying longer. The other regret was having to leave early in the morning and not getting an opportunity to thank all the staff for a fabulous experience.

We would definately stay here again and for longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny_traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    22
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
70
135
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for the last two nights of our destination wedding trip after getting married at Lake McDonald. What a jewel The Great Bear Inn is! Every staff member we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful (I'm sorry, I'm terrible with remembering names). The continental breakfast was more than adequate to get you going in the morning. The dinners every evening were such a blast that it almost amounted to dinner theater with the commentary on each course! Our room was immaculate and the bed was quite possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in at a hotel or inn. Another plus is that it is located only about 10 minutes away from the west entrance to Glacier. We will definitely be back for future anniversaries!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineFilmGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a few lovely days at Great Bear in early summer. It's quiet, comfortable and the hosts are warm and friendly. We were the only guests at the time, so meals weren't available (other than continental breakfast), but were treated to an upgrade in rooms. Beware that if you are traveling in the shoulder season there may not be enough guests for the mean service, but Susan can provide nice recommendations for dinners.
Would definitely recommend or visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Spent a great week here. Although its quite a drive to the opposite end of the park, we found it well worth it to return to fabulous dinners and wine w/ many fun interesting people. The staff works hard and feels like family. Our room was spacious, comfortable. Highly recommend

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

While traveling on the gravel road, weren't sure what to expect from The Great Bear Inn. We had spent a week in Banff and came to Great Bear for 4 nights. What a wonderful experience! Susan and Mary were such enthusiastic hosts. Ryan and Jake's dinners each night were a delight. It was wonderful to hike by day, have a glass of wine on the deck and know dinner was going to be a delicious surprise. We looked forward each night to exchanging stories and learning places to visit from other guests. Susan, Mary and Ryan were so friendly and eager to make sure our visit was memorable. Taking a helicopter tour of the park is certainly one way to see many places in the park that would take hours of hiking. Having the helicopter land in front of the lodge...what a hoot! I love dogs and there is certainly a variety. Watching three large dogs play with each other like little puppies is a show in itself. (Jackson can be bribed with Triscuits.) We would make a point to go back again if we are ever anywhere near West Glacier. A great place in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights in July 2012 (reviewing this after just looking at pictures of a great trip). We had a not-so-great experience in St. Mary prior to coming, so were thrilled that the house and setting were beautiful driving in. Everyone was very friendly, and the house was permeated by delicious smells of Ryan cooking dinner. Bring your own wine and settle in for a great evening meeting new people over the nightly dinners. It was wonderful to meet other travelers and hear their experiences. We usually like to keep to ourselves on our get-a-ways, but it was really fun! The owners made you feel like part of the family. The food was excellent. My husband loved the andouille stuffed pheasant.

You have access to their washer/dryers, and after 5 days of dirty hikes, we were able to get clean clothes again! Plenty of wildlife abounds, several dogs, mostly very friendly. The only issue we had was there was dog poop on the deck at one point, visible from our window.

Our bed was very comfortable, we were on the first floor, off of the deck. The room was nice. We'd come back here again. We also did the helicopter ride and loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudraRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Great Bear Inn in West Glacier, 2 nights at St Mary Lodge on the east side, then 2 more nights at Great Bear Inn, the week before Labor Day. We have been to many upscale B&Bs, but have never had a better experience than here. Susan and her sister Mary are extremely friendly and helpful hosts and Susan's son Ryan runs the kitchen, making gourmet 4-course dinners nightly. Every course we had was great. I doubt you will find any food to compare, anywhere near the park. There is a BYOB happy hour before dinner every night, to mingle with the other guests and exchange travel tips. Dinner was filled with lively conversation. It was a blast. Breakfast is self-serve, very convenient for getting out early to start your day. Want a helicopter tour? They'll pick you up on the front lawn. Like dogs? They have at least a half dozen, Emmet the Newfoundland, Jackson the Mastiff, Rocky the Husky/wolf, plus several I never learned the names of. Like to laugh? Everyone is part of the party before, during, and after dinner, on the deck, out back, or playing pool. One piece of advice, if you stay in the Grande suite, as we did, you will hear footsteps from the kitchen/dining area above, but this didn't bother us much. We loved this place. Susan, Mary, and Ryan did everything they could to show us a great time (Ryan even took our suitcase to UPS to ship home), along with Jake and the other sous chefs, and their friends. They seemed genuinely disappointed when we had to leave. If we come back to GNP, we will definitely go back. Thanks for a very memorable time, everyone. Great, great job!

Room Tip: Choose the downstairs suite away from the dining area. Very large, gas fireplace, walkout to patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Property: The Great Bear Inn
Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing