We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This inn looks like someone's vacation home. It's relatively small and very woodsy. The only complaint I have with it is in the overdone cutesie bear and faux indian decor. Well, there was one other thing. We never could get our shower to dispense anything other than tepid water. Other than that, it's a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the bed comfortable. In the evening there is a sitdown dinner (four course) that is a welcome treat, prepared by the enthusiastic young chef. Actually, all the staff seem enthusiastic and extra friendly and accommodating. In the morning there is a serve yourself breakfast of yogurt, breads, fruit, etc. The meal setup encourages conversation with the other guests, which we found to be delightful. All in all a good choice to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dini35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We thank you for ending your review on a happy note, however it is frustrating for us that you did not tell us there was a problem with the temperature of your shower water during your stay .We have no idea which room you are referring to in order to fix the issue. We have not heard this complaint from any other guest. Please let us know which room you are referring to. The Inn was built as an Inn not a home, but we are glad it made you feel as if it were a home, as that is what we strive for. We have no desire to compete with large hotels. We are saddened that you did not care for our decor. Since we are next to Glacier Park and near the Blackfoot Indian Reservation, it seemed obvious what style of decor to go with. The "faux indian decor" you mentioned is very authentic and quite expensive. Again, we regret that you did not care for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautiful home with great food, excellent location, and very nice people. Very easy drive to West Glacier entrance and to the main road. Food was great and the room seemed brand new and well-kept. There were four large dogs, which we liked, but families with small children or people uneasy around dogs might want to consider that before they stay here. We wished we had more time here and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Krissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros: Close to West Glacier Entrance, lovely surroundings, great back deck. Dinner served nightly. Washers and dryers of high quality conveniently placed. Spacious rooms, nicely tiled bathroom. Communal dinners with other lodgers. Although lodge has a lot of open space, room feels private.
Cons: Very far from East entrance of Glacier. Dinner served inconsistently at varied times; sometimes 7:45 pm as late as 8:30 pm. Difficult when you have been active all day and hungry by 6:00 pm. No packaged literature/directory or notebook in either room or common area to use as a reference of area. Harder to select activities w/o a local perspective of varied brochures, suggestions. Minimal staff at facility making it difficult to ask questions, discuss issues with room,
etc, w/o a presence in morning.
Would suggest to stay on East Glacier for a couple of days, then West Glacier. Key sights to see on both sides.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just wrapped a two night stay at the Great Bear Inn. The previous comments about the Inn are correct. Susan is a great host (in spite of her misplaced collegiate loyalty), the rooms are quite nice, well furnished and it has a great family atmosphere. My suggestions are that her son use his culinary school training in a fresher, more local approach. He tends to use heavier sauces and products that are not from Montana. Use a lot of fresh berries, regional meats and fresh water fish. In talking to some of my fellow guests from major cities the fresher, simpler approach would be welcomed. However, the atmosphere of eating at their table come dinner time can't be beat for making new friends and learning about each other. Susan also needs to continue to work with gps services and the township to make it easily to find. Once found, I recommend her bed/breakfast/dinner Inn. Lastly, she suggested a helicopter tour of Glacier and it was the outstanding hour of our trip. It's pricey but incredibly worthwhile! I would return!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank starmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Great Bear Inn was a great find! Open only a few years, it is a spectacular lodge with excellent food. The chef prepares fresh dinners daily and guests eat at one long table. Since its a small Inn, you get to meet the other guests in the spacious living room and large deck area.
Its a BYOB also. Had to ask at West Glacier store for directions as there is no sign on the main road which is about a mile or so from the Inn.
It was a pleasure to have such a comfortable quiet room after hiking all day in Glacier. The Inn offers a billiard table downstairs with a great view of mountains. And you can use the laundry room free.We really enjoyed our stay and met a lot of interesting couples from all over the U.S. A great find!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corgikids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Traveling with the whole family, we stayed several nights, and had a wonderful time. I wouldn't hesitate to go back. The food was great, we met fascinating people at dinner (didn't know that there was an "Engineers without Borders" NGO). The room was absolutely perfect, roomy, quiet and comfortable.

Thinking of planning a fall cycling trip around Kalispell/Whitefish area, and I'll likely look to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A very comfortable place to stay. Beautiful location, very friendly staff. The 4 course dinner was excellent - creative and high quality fresh food. Guests eat together on a big dining table. Good time to share travel stories. Bring your own wine or beer as they do not sell alcohol. I truly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
23.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
198 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: $260 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing