We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT VACATION AT GREAT BEAR INN”
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A GREAT VACATION AT GREAT BEAR INN”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Including the bath and dressing area, our room was 18'x38', the largest accommodation we have ever enjoyed. It had a king size tempur pedic mattress, the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in on a vacation. The wall mounted flat screen tv worked perfectly. The signal for my laptop and cell phone was good. The inn has a comfortable parlor, a pool table, a ping pong table and the whole place is clean and comfortable. The dogs and cats are a warm addition. We had dinner all 6 nights, and grilled steak, cornish game hen and other fine entrees were served, and we enjoyed the company of the other guests at dinner. Susan is a gracious and charming hostess, and the sort of person that always finds admission to long term memory. The Great Bear Inn is about 6 miles from the park entrance and is on a gravel road, but that is the only minor negative that I can recall. The view from the porch outside our room and from the balcony upstairs was unforgettable.

John and Eunice Hopkins
Maitland, Florida

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    23
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
76
136
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What an amazing experience this was for our family! We planned to do some day hiking in Glacier National park and decided to stay at the Great Bear Inn due to its proximity to the park and the previous reviews about the warm, welcoming environment.
Our stay was amazing, our 5 year old daughter loved the dogs and the extra attention she got from Susan, Chris and Matt. Susan even stocks children's books in her guest library downstairs!
I personally enjoyed the "before dinner" social time where all the guests gathered on the deck (with a beer, glass of wine or a pop - compliments of the Inn) and talked about what they had done that day, what hikes they recommended, the wildlife they saw and tips and tricks for enjoying the Park. We planned our next hike from the conversations we had with the other guests (it was a full house so we had plenty of options to choose from).
Dinner followed the "social hour" where we enjoyed great food and good conversations with our fellow guests and Susan (the owner of the Inn). One evening Susan organized a presentation show from Nick Fucci, his photography and the stories about his travels were amazing.
We had a wonderful stay, the room was very comfortable, Susan was amazingly accommodating and all in all it was a great place for a family vacation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The few negative reviews I'm reading here are a surprise. First, if you want a real Montana setting, this is the place to be. It's not NYC folks. The Inn is advertised as a "Dine and Recline" with focus on dinner, NOT a Bed and Breakfast. A continental breakfast is just exactly what I woke up too...no different than any hotel/motel offering. I found the grounds fabulous (winter just being over and all), the hostess bends over backward to make you feel at home, and I absolutely loved the fact that Chris spent a good deal of his time and effort experimenting on me, since it was pre-season and fairly quiet. His meals were delicious, interesting and unique. My suite was luxurious, spacious and spotless, as was the rest of the lodge. I was on the lower level and all it takes is to either open the drapes or actually take a step outside to the patio off the suite for the best views in the world. The dogs (and cats) were great and I was well aware of the fact they keep large predators away. Don't the bears wake up around that time of year? If you're looking for a Waldorf, you should probably go where there are Waldorfs. If you are looking for mountains, trees, wildlife, rivers and a beautiful secluded mountain retreat, then look no further than the Great Bear Inn. Thank you, Susan and Chris, for an absolutely fantastic time....I felt quite spoiled and I will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We thought this inn was overpriced for average accommodations. The main lodge was nice with western type furniture, but our room had no view, and only a bed, nightstands, wardrobe, but no seating. The TV was wall-hung, didn't work, and had a tangle of cords hanging all over. The window coverings were cheap. The room was not the quality room you would expect for the price.
The dinner was good, but certainly not gourmet as advertised. Ours was a basic salad, pork chops, packaged rice, broccoli, ice cream with fruit. The wine hour before the dinner was fun. Continental "breakfast" was a covered tray of one or two types of pastries left on the table the night before and coffee that had been set to go off in the morning. There was a pot of water for tea that I had to heat myself, and no fruit, cereal, milk. The owners were not present. We had to stop somewhere down the road for breakfast. The concept of accommodations, dinner, and breakfast is good since this is in a rural area, but the execution is lacking.

Room Tip: Only front rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
It is disheartening that some guests do not read our website prior to making a reservation.
It clearly states that breakfast is contental style and consists of coffee, tea and rolls. Upon check in our guests are clearly informed that we do not have a morning shift as all our energy goes into the evening activities, hence the continental breakfast. The Tea Carafe has a button on the front which heats the water in 30 seconds. All of our upstairs rooms have the same size windows and all look out over the mountains, however the rooms on the other sidealso look over lawn area. These guests were informed that their television was not in working order and that we were expecting technicians in to fix the problem. We had attempted to fix the television ourselves and neglected to rewrap the wiring. As far as our "cheap" window treatments, I am not sure when faux silk double draping with custom rod iron hardware became in poor taste. Further, the dinner value at our Inn is $25.00 per person and includes a hosted Wine hour, fresh hot appetizers, and a three course meal. I regret this person was looking for something they didn't find here. I also noted that the two reviews they have given in their Trip Advisor history are both negative, at least mine scored higher than the other place they visited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I travelled from Florida to see the Rockies and Montana and were delighted to find The Great Bear Inn. We were initially welcomed by the 'pooch patrol' - Emmet, Rocky, Bubba Gump, Mini, Junior and Frenchy. Being dog owners, their presence just added an additional layer of comfort for us. Our rooms were quite cushy, with cozy beds and 'fireplaces' to keep the night chill at bay. The Inn itself is just grand with high vaulted ceilings, a magnificent great room fireplace where one is drawn to curl up with a good book and leave the outside world. The location is far from traffic and the periodic train whistles added a romantic notion to our vacation of indulgence.
Susan has a talent for making her guests feel like long lost friends newly found and warmly welcomed home. She's always acommodating and has a staff that provides service next to none. Chris, their lead chef, surprised us each evening with tasty meals each with his unique twist - the elk was just fantastic ! I'd arranged for my wife, Emily, to attend a 'boot camp' in the kitchen where Matt, second in command of the kitchen, worked with her for an afternoon of great fun preparing an Italian raviolli dish for that evening's meal that had us all laughing and resulted in a scrumptious meal.
Susan's nearby friend, Jim Krueger, operates a helicopter tour service that she recommended and we took the 1 hour aerial tour of Glacier Nat'l Park that will forever remain the highlight of our visit. If you ask her nicely, perhaps a pick up at the Inn might be arranged.........
Thank you, Susan, for a magical visit (hopefully to be repeated someday) and particularly for our last evening's meal with you and your staff. Watching the sun set and the moon rise while dining on the deck was beyond description !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

When we arrived we heard from another couple, that the food was worrisome. Our first dinner arrived and three of us felt compelled to heat the food in a microwave as it arrived undercooked and/or cold. We had baked beans, BBQ'ed chicken and cole slaw twice in our four day there. On the fourth day we left to eat at a restuarant in town.
There was no concern from the owner, but then she wa busy setting up for a wedding that weekend and so didn't have much time for guests. The room was great however.
This place doesn't include much breakfast except for roll and coffee. We thought that odd for a B&B. Watch out, I woudl not recommend this unless they find a real chef.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
So far this season, we have served over 2,000 meals to guests. After observing this person trying to engage the other guests into his/her opinion of the food, management asked that they please find another place to dine their last evening here, which was the first time in the history of this business I have done so. We gladly refunded their dinner value for that evening. As we have a nine day rotating menu, it would be impossible for this person to have been served our Montana BBQ menu twice in four days, which has always been a hit with our guests and includes far more items than they mentioned. Again, breakfast is clearly stated on our website and upon greeting our guests as coffee, tea and rolls only. I also find it sadly amusing that this reviewer found the room great and the "Overpriced Average Accomodations" review was most displeased, yet it was the same room for each of these reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at the Great Bear Inn from Aug 25 - Aug 30, just a quick trip to familiarze ourseleves with Glacier National Park so we can plan our next trip out here. As we rolled up we were met by Susan, the owner, and her friends (Emmett and his pups). Emmett is a 170lb Newfoundland and is the biggest dog I have ever seen, but what a great bunch of friendly, well behaved, and entertaining dogs. We chose the Great Bear due to its location and the fact it is NOT a big resort. It is also beautifully designed and built and offers all the comforts you would want after a busy day in the park or other areas you might want to visit. Susan is a funny and gracious host and just the kind of person we love to hang out with. We (my wife and I) had a blast with her trading jokes and barbs and discussing all kinds of topics. This "at home" kind of atmosphere was further enhanced by her two chefs, Chris and Matt, who are simply excellent cooks. We enjoyed wonderful meals each night and shared our experiences with the other guests at the Inn where we had a wine hour and appetizers followed by our delicious dinner where we all sat around a long table and traded stories. We are not the "big resort" type of folks and the Great Bear was just what we were hoping it would...and so much more. It is out in the woods all by itself but literally only minutes from the entrance to West Glacier. The tranquility and silence with the bright sky above each night were just wonderful. The train whistles did not bother us as they did other guests, it just added to the ambiance. The rooms and the Inn itself are beautifully done and very comfortable. The Great Bear just invites you in! We visited one of the park's resort hotels (Many Glacier Hotel...my god what dump!..in the middle of renovation). Suffice to say we will be back at the Bear next year with better plans for our hikes and exploring and a much longer time...4 days just does not cut it. One other note, a friend of Susan's, Jim Kruger of Kruger Helicopters, took us on a 1/2 hour Helo tour of the park. This is not to be missed. The views are spectacular and Jim is an excellent pilot and provides a great narrative of all the sights as he takes you around the park. Just go for it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rikbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
205 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Property: The Great Bear Inn
Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing