We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO AMAZING! Didn't want to leave. Can't wait to come again.”
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I wanted a romantic, kid-free experience for a few days this summer. So after saving our pennies, we opted for a private, cushy experience. The Great Bear Inn was the PERFECT place to stay. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It was 10 minutes from the park entrance (maybe less). And it was situated on a backroad, secluded from other resorts. Driving up, it seems as though you are going to stay at someone's really nice cabin retreat. It's not really an inn, like the name implies. It's more like a very nice Bed & Breakfast, with more privacy and amenities. They've really hit a niche here, and we couldn't have been more pleased.

Walking in, we were immediately met by the 10 or so other guests (of the 18 guest maximum), during a gourmet happy hour. We were taken to our room (holy smokes, it was so nice), down on the bottom floor. There were pool tables, laundry facilities, only one other suite downstairs, fireplace in the room, Tempur-pedic bed, huge bathroom in each suite, flat screen TV with a zillion channels, private patio, and that's only downstairs. I was pretty pampered, and loved every minute. It's new within the last few years, and had just undergone it's final renovations. Everything, even down to the soap in the bathroom was thoughtful.

The owner, Susan, was a doll! She really made us feel at home. Breakfast was minimal (croissants and muffins), because local diners are best for breakfast. Lunch is on your own. But dinner is a 5 star, 3 course gourmet meal prepared every night by two chefs (one is the owner's son). We had the best BBQ ever (and I am a Texan, y'all), duck, prime rib, Italian, and desserts I could not believe. It started with a "happy hour" wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres (or Pepsi tasting, if you don't drink). :) We mingled with guests (we made great little friendships in the few days we were there). Then we all ate in the dining room with panoramic views—all together at a long table. We were served whatever was prepared for the night (so no menu, but it was all amazing, and they make exceptions for people who don't like certain foods or are vegetarian). The happy hour area and kitchen were in one long room. So we chatted with the very friendly and talented chefs, and marveled at the amazing kitchen (the stoves made me swoon). They also have two brand-new separate cabins for families/groups. And they even have their own culinary garden! I am telling you. It's the greatest way to do this vacation if you are looking for a nicer experience, and don't want to camp stay in a large hotel. It was so friendly and inviting. Everyone was excited to get together in the evening and share our adventures from the day. Thank you, Great Bear Inn, for making Montana a trip of a lifetime!

If you want to read more about our experience here or at Glacier National Park, visit our family blog here: http://www.lyndsayjohnsonblog.com/2011/07/glacier-national-park-recap-note-on.html

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndsayJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just got back from a wonderful trip at Glacier National Park. We stayed several Days a and could have not been more happy with the Accommodations at the Great Bear Inn. Susan and her staff do an amazing job at ensuring that you have everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had a lot of fun at the evening wine hour and the food was out of this world. Since it was only a few minutes from the Park Entrance we found the location very convenient as well. I can honestly say this is the best place to say while you are visiting Glacier National Park. I definitely will be back! Thanks Again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willpski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay when visiting Glacier National Park. A few minutes drive brings you to the west entrance to the park. Our room was extremely comfortable and the dinners were excellent. The inn offers a continental breakfast so you can eat quickly and get to the park. When we were there, the going to the sun road was still partially closed due to snow but we were able to access all the entrances since the driving was easy. The owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome. I was very glad to have stayed here rather than in one of the park lodges and would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Before staying at the Great Bear Inn, our trip of a lifetime was at an inn in the Shetland Islands. Now we think about Susan's hospitality, Ryan and Chris's incredible food, new friends, comfortable and tasteful surroundings.
After a day of exploring and hiking, it was a treat to be pampored by our hosts. Susan
is a true Montana, Glacier treasure.

Richard Tubb and Danny Weaver

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conifers4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This could easily be a novella. There is so much to say about this Inn and the people who make it so, so special.

1. The home itself was beautiful and I want to live there.
2. Susan is the hostess with the mostest. I found her to be charming, energetic and most helpful.
3. The dogs (and cat dog) are well trained, lovable and no one has any reason to complain about them - ever. There is no evidence of the animals in that house or on the grounds. No 'scat', fur or smell. If you chose to ignore them (as some guests did), they will happily ignore you as well. We, however, couldn't get enough of them and showered them with attention.
4. The dinners were incredible. Our girls even started eating things they normally would not eat just because they loved the chefs.
5. Coffee and breakfast muffins were a nice extra for a quick breakfast. There is an in-room coffee maker and mini fridge if you want to have something different or specific for breakfast, but the muffins were really good!
6. Chef Ryan, Chef Chris and up-and-coming Sous chef Matt were all amazingly talented, gracious and just plain fun to be with.

We miss all our new friends at the Great Bear Inn.

Minutes from Glacier, stunning view, wonderful hospitality, clean and amazingly beautiful accommodations, delicious fare - so why are you still looking for a place to stay??

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are incredibly large (comfy for 4!), private and include a walkout patio. I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdludwig33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

its a shame we could only stay one night on our road trip as we had a great time staying in this wonderfull log cabin on the edge of the national glacier park , awsome surroundings and loverly people made our stay very enjoyable and we would recomend it to anyone . Stan and julie --- , northampton , ENGLAND

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I had looked forward to and planned for this trip for years, and we were not disappointed. Our stay at The Great Bear was amazing. The decor is rustic and stylish. The view from the huge deck is beautiful and secluded. Susan, the owner, was helpful and very entertaining. What a personallity! She made sure we knew how to stay safe from bears in the park and loaned us bear spray for the duration of our stay. She referred us to a wonderful pilot for a helecopter tour of the park, and could give directions to anywhere we wanted to go with recomendations of what to look for when we got there.
Our delux room was large, comfortable, clean and quiet. It had all the extras like TV, hairdryer, minifrig, and toiletries, even mouthwash.
By far the best part was the wonderful food prepared by Susan's son Chef Ryan and Chef Chris. Halfway through the day, while walking the beautiful trails and taking in the amazing scenery, we would find ourselves asking, "What do you think we are having for dinner tonight?" The anticipation of those wondereful meals extended the excitement of the day until the final bite of dessert. On the plane ride home we were able to recall every course of every meal for seven days, memorable! While some quest enjoyed wine before dinner, we appreciated having specialty soft drinks available. The conversation was easy and fun. We met some wonderful and interesting people. Susan, her sister Mary , Ryan and Chris all have a special place in our heart for making our dream trip of a lifetime perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connielc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
374 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
594 reviews
5.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: $170 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. This includes Oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits, muffins, toast, fresh juice, cereals, and gluten free cereals, jams, jellies, honey, peanut butter, fresh butter, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing