We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great except for noisy train whistles all night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Certificate of Excellence
wessington springs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great except for noisy train whistles all night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The cabins were really great and the staff was friendly and very helpful with good recommendations for places to see and dine. Loved the cozy atmosphere but we couldn't sleep all night because of the trains running all night and blowing their whistles. It's really too bad too because the rest of the place was really nice! If you can bring earplugs to block out the night noise I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    29
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
126
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

The cabins are sweet, well presented, and clean. The location is fantastic for access to Glacier NP and the surrounding area. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereal, a muffin & fruit
We couldn't fault it until we tried to sleep.
BRING YOUR EARPLUGS as the railway runs close to the property line and the trains run all night and blast their whistles three or four times. 1am, 2am, 3am, 4am, 4.30am, 5am, 5.30... you get the picture.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmcintee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed for an entire week and enjoyed it very much. The cabin was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The shower is roomy, especially if one wants to share it with their significant other. The individual cabins are very romantic. The location is very close to Glacier Park.

The only complaint we have and is no fault of the owners, is the train that blows the wistle during the night, which would be an issue in any lodging in that area. We had to close the windows to solve that issue, since we are light sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstout4498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The cabin was very nice. Sitting outside on the deck was wonderful. The breakfast basket is more than suitable to get you going for the day. If you want more... there are several close by restaurants that serve awesome breakfasts. I was not bothered by either train or road noises. Special note. The staff in all respects is very helpful. Finally, Glacier National Park is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Booked Silverwolf Chalet for our 3-night stay on the west side of Glacier N.P. based on the very positive reviews on this web site. We weren't disappointed. Someone pretty obsessive-compulsive maintains these cabins. They are immaculate, updated, and very comfortable with all the amenities we could want, including a continental breakfast with dry cereal, milk, orange juice, delicious Costco (I suspect) muffins, and fruit. Our cabin was sufficiently private and Janet, who checked us in, was friendly and helpful. One of the highlights for me was the resident cat named Raisin who kinda makes the rounds to see if anyone is interested in giving him some lovin'. He was extremely affectionate and sweet but seemed to have no interest in following us into our cabin as he is an outdoor kitty. We got used to the train whistles after the first night and the traffic on Rt 2 is very quiet after sundown. We would recommend this place in a heartbeat and plan to return on our next visit to Glacier. BTW, we have Verizon as our cell phone carrier and were able to get good coverage here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubiladojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

only 5 minutes from the west entrance and worth the stay since it is much newer and nicer than any of the lodges inside the park. super clean lodge. the owners and cleaning woman were very accommodating to my requests. We got a great tasting free breakfast of muffins, cereal, juice and apples everymorning. the owners fixed the gas heater right away and put a foam topper on my mattress immediately after I requested it. only downside: if you want to visit the east side or warrenton, canada, it is a long drive. reccommend staying for 3 plus days and then staying at a hotel on the east side for a few days. unfortunately, did not see any hotels as nice as this on the east side!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

First off, this place is amazing (and in a great location) and I'd stay here again. However, based on the claims from their website, I think that a few things need to be cleared up. Here is my translation of some quotes from their website, based on what they actually offer:

"Full Baths" = a shower
"Satellite T.V." = on a TV the size of a postage stamp. Many channels had no reception
"Wireless internet available" = You can see the access point but the signal is too weak to connect
BTW, I'm on Sprint and I had no mobile phone coverage here or in Glacier NP.

Again, it was a great place that I recommend. Just know what you're getting (if TV or Internet are important to you)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
5.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.8 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 7 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort

Property: Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Address: 160 Gladys Glen, near Glacier Natl Park - West Entrance, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwolf Log Chalet Hotel West Glacier
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing