We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews were right on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After searching and searching for an affordable first class accomadations we found this place through Glacier National Park. It is very clean, private and comfortable. Granted we were in the park 16 hours everyday but it was great to come back to the cabin and feel right at home. Just a few suggestions: offer a breakfast menu selection versus the muffins and cereal, upgrade the shower head and offer another sitting chair. We stayed in cabin one for six nights and it was shaded and very cool at night, good sleeping weather. The traffic noise was minor and we never had time to watch TV. The WiFi was a great option. Would highly recommend this place and it is the best first class lodging in the area.

Room Tip: Cabin one is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

we had the 2br. delux chalet we love this place will stay again and if only 2 of us will try one of the one room cabins. the grounds are very well kept and we had nice visits with Janet (staff) she new where to go and what to see. the view from the porch was really wonderful. No a/c so if you visit in the summer like we did keep the blinds closed during the day and it will cool down and stay nice temp inside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had some concerns after reading some reviews, but what a delightful experience! Seven miles from West Glacier and all the good stuff. Others mentioned highway noise...didn't even hear it. Railroad noise....barely even heard it. (And I, too, am a light sleeper). We slept with the windows open, except one night when it was too cool, and we actually needed the small gas stove, which worked perfectly. The cabins and grounds are squeaky clean. There is a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, a side table with two chairs, as well as another club chair. Plenty of room!!! Bed is perfectly fine, just not luxury. Shower is roomy, and the hot water works beautifully. It's not the Hilton, and I'm good with that. Small older TV, which we had on all of 30 minutes. It's Glacier National Park!! Go outside! This place is a find, don't miss it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The cabins were very well maintained and comfortable. Since we were doing a lot of traveling into the park, the small TV was of little concern to us. We never turned it on. We found the lack of air conditioning to be no problem since the nights are so cool, and opening the windows was enough to cool things off in the evening. We closed the windows each night, and even though temperatures dipped into the high 40's and low 50's, we never needed the gas stove. The staff was friendly and helpful, giving advice on nearby restaurants, and the handout of activities and trails that we received with our reservation statement was quite helpful. The breakfast basket which contained 2 huge muffins, and fresh fruit, cereals, plus milk, juice,in the refrigerator and ingredients for making coffee were more than enough for us for breakfasts. Something that would have been helpful for us, since my husband is hypoglycemic (think diabetic diet), is to have a high protein item included in the breakfast, not just sweet and high carb foods. We were not disturbed by road noise. We did hear the train, which is about a mile away, in the early mornings, but it was far away, and not bothersome.

Room Tip: A cabin far from the road will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

OK, so our plan was to spend June 25-28 in Canmore Alberta. Well long story short. we were in Lethbridge before we found out for sure that Canmore/Banff was NOT going to happen. All roads washed out by flooding, only emergency traffic allowed. Well things just seemed to domino from there. No cell service (which we expected, but did not expect to need them) at about the same time our GPS decided to die. So back to the States we drove. Fortunately we were able to get a few phone numbers of places near Glacier via a McDonald's internet connection. As soon as we got signal I called Silver Wolf. The owner, Jason answered and was very helpful. Yes he did have a cabin for that night. So at least we were not sleeping in the car that night. After a 2½ hour drive we arrived, Jason was very helpful and understanding. He had rearranged a few thing and managed to get us our cabin for the four nights we needed!!

First impressions... very nice. The lawns were well trimmed, and the cabins very inviting. It was geared towards couples. After checking in we got into our cabin, #1. A nice queen sized bed which was very comfortable. The room included a set of table and chairs, a microwave and small fridge, as well as a coffee maker. A continental breakfast, cereal, muffins, fruit milk and juice, was refreshed every day. The bathroom was roomy enough and came with a hair dryer. The shower had good pressure and hot water came quickly. There were no bureaus in the main room, but some shelving in the bathroom that worked fine for emptying suitcases. On the front of the cabin was a covered porch. Ours was well shaded and I spent some time there writing in my journal. The cabin had no A/C, but the ceiling fan did the trick. A small gas "wood" stove for those colder weather stays. Also the place was spotless. The maid did a fantastic job. The cabins are about 7 miles from the West Glacier entrance, and about a 15 minute drive to Columbia Falls with a grocery store, and plenty of restaurants. Probably won't write a separate review, but Stageline Pizza was VERY good. Takeout mostly, with limited seating.

I read some mentions of train noise. Yes, trains do come through at night and blow their horns. I don't know how many, I only know I was awoken by 3 during the 4 nights. I suspect this would be an issue anywhere in that same area. Though to me it was a minor problem and the pluses far out weigh it.

So to sum it all up, we give it two thumbs up. Clean, convenient, and friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we revisit Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tntmac1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June when it was still chilly at night. We used the gas stove in the room which gave a nice ambiance. As other reviewers have said, the bed was not good. If I had read the reviews I wouldn't have stayed here based on the beds alone. The TV was a 13 inch TV high in the corner of the room, so it was barely visible. For the price they should have decent TV's. Also the room had one chair to lounge in and there was actually room for two chairs. Since there were two of us and we do sit and read at night, it would've been nice to be able to sit together and relax. There is a table with 2 chairs on the other side of the room. Now for some positive: the log cabin will give you the feeling of staying in a real hand hewn log cabin (We know because we lived in a huge hand hewn log cabin for a decade). It is not a large room. But its OK in terms of space if you're not spending lots of time in the room. The bathroom was fine. It is clean, though the cleaning staff did not clean our floor at all and it could've used it. We tipped them generously and the floor still was not cleaned. Also the bedding could've been much nicer. The breakfast was a major carb fest, and we didn't eat it. After the fact, I wish we would've stayed at Lake MacDonald Lodge.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank idyllwildgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very close to your neighbors and the highway. Lots of traffic coming out of the park can be heard easily inside your cabin. There is no air conditioning (even in this 90+ degree weather) so therefore you must leave your windows open at night so that the cabin cools down so that you can sleep comfortably. HOWEVER..."comfortably" is not the word I would use for these beds. For the price we are paying per night...we expected a much higher quality mattress. Clean only gets you so far if you are sore and tired the next day from a restless sleep. The owners are nice and helpful but after all I did rent a cabin to "sleep". By the way, it is not "adult only". We have seen at least 2 kids here in the 3 days we have been here. Doesn't bother me much...however that is not what we were led to believe. If you like to visit with your neighbors then you may enjoy this location. It is only about 7 miles to the West Glacier Park entrance which is very convenient. There are also a lot of attractions & small towns close by that you can visit. Well located is one of this properties best features along with nice owners & clean cabins.

Room Tip: There are no secluded cabins. Pick one in the shade if it is hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
5.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
340 reviews
13.6 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#1 of 8 in Columbia Falls
63 reviews
8.3 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort

Address: 160 Gladys Glen, near Glacier Natl Park - West Entrance, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: $139 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwolf Log Chalet Hotel West Glacier
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing