We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; rather impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I get teased about my pedantic British ways, so when I saw the sign outside, with the twee apostrophes around the word 'two' and the 'Nightly rental' sign, I wondered if there was a message here! But, no, it was a quiet, child-free place to stay (and I loved the sound of the train. It's so evocative.) My only criticisms are that it seemed rather impersonal. We wanted to self-cater but we felt it wasn't made very easy for us. Just a microwave tucked away in a cupboard, the barbecues not being very close by. We were shocked that we were asked to help save the planet by not putting our towels out to be washed, yet we were provided with plastic cutlery and paper plates to be thrown away after use. And for some reason the coffee maker was made up for us, which seemed more controlling than a service we felt . Everyone likes their coffee to be a different strength and made with fresh water, don't they? There were notices and signs all over the cabin too, even down to what we could put on which shelves! It was a great location for the park, but I think if we went back we would find somewhere a bit friendlier to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here 1 night while visiting Glacier Naional Park. This was our first time staying in a cabin and we could have easily stayed here a week because the cabin had everything we wanted. First of all, it was quiet, had plenty of room, gas fireplace, breakfast basket, microwave, and a small refrigerator. It was very attractive inside and out.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room or in this case the cabin before you take it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiegoKonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Close to Glacier National Park, the selection of nice, modern, accomodations is limited. But Silverwolf, about 5 miles from the park entrance, was a wonderful expection. My husband and I stayed in a stand-alone cabin that was beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. We had a queen-size bed, a comfy chair, a table to eat at or use a computer on, and a cabinet with a microwave, small fridge, and coffeepot. The bathroom was roomy and had shelving for our things. Each evening a continental breakfast (cereal, apples, milk, juice, coffee, and downright sinful muffins) was provided for the following morning. Outside was a lovely porch with seating for two. The cabin itself was distant enough from the neighboring cabins to offer privacy and solitude.

There is a train that runs nearby, which many Silverwolf visitors have commented on. We found, although we did hear the train whistle, it was not loud enough, and did not run frequently enough, to really disturb us at all.

Janet, who runs the office, was most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I love this place--we stayed here on our honeymoon ten years ago, and just returned for a night on our 10th anniversary. The cabins are very clean and comfortable, the bathrooms likewise clean and spacious. The basket left for breakfast is ample and good, with milk and juice supplied in the room's mini-fridge. There's a small TV, hooked up to satellite, I believe, as we got plenty of channels, a gas fireplace (which we didn't use, as it was too warm), and a microwave. We got there late, but we called ahead and the very nice owner made arrangements with us to get us into our cabin with no problem. In fact, the only thing we didn't like was that we got there too late to just sit outside for a while and relax! We definitely recommend Silverwolf, and will absolutely return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merricat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The cabins are very nicely furnished, clean, and the owners are helpful and friendly. After staying one night at the dated Glacier Park Lodge, we were extremely pleased with our chalet at Silverwolf. The cabins are comfortable, clean, quite and look new. We highly recommend Silverwolf!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Silver Wolf was a great stay. Just a short drive to the park entrance. If you're looking for comfort and great hospitality this is the place. We weren't expecting the cabins to be this nice compared to others we had seen in the park. Don't expect panoramic views of the mountains because the cabins are tucked in the woods. Not to worry Lake McDonald with unbelievable views is just 15 minutes away. Since this is located outside the west end of the park it is a short 30 minute drive to Whitefish which we took and scored some great pizza at Jersey Boys.

Room Tip: They like things quiet around Silver Wolf. You can party just don't invite the band.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyP-upsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I arrived at the gates of this resort and were enchanted instantly... Our luggage had been lost by the airlines on the way over and everything should have been terrible, except it wasn't. We were greeted by a most wonderful woman at the front desk and she could see that something was wrong, she inquired and we happily told our tale of hum-glummery...

She relayed our predicament to the resort owners and the owners were kind enough to get us some basic amenities like toothpaste and lotions and some other assorted items.

My wife has a gluten allergy and the owners tried to accommodate her needs by getting a dozen eggs and some other assorted items for her breakfast basket; while I still had the fantastic muffin, cereal and other items.

The fridge had some orange juice in it and two pints of 2% milk. It was on and ready to receive the items we had purchased from the grocery store.

The cabin was very very spacious, the bed was firm (which I like), the bathroom was spacious too. The wireless connection was superb from our cabin (#1). As some other reviewers noted, there is indeed a train track some distance between the cabins and at night you can hear them blowing their horns to scare away the wild life. The first night we were there it woke me from a cold sleep, the second night we were there we didn't hear them passing by...likely because we are heavy sleepers and we did a lot of hiking.

I would HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone that want's a nice, quiet, easy access to the park stay in the western side of Glacier Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
5.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
364 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
5.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
13.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,068 reviews
4.5 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort

Address: 160 Gladys Glen, near Glacier Natl Park - West Entrance, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: $133 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwolf Log Chalet Hotel West Glacier
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing