We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Escape!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tremendous Escape!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just got back from a week stay and I couldn't be more pleased with Glacier Wilderness Resort. This is my third stay in the past 10 years and the place keeps improving from new tile around the hot tubs, warmer hot tubs, warmer pool, and (although I was skeptical) newly added gas fireplaces. The kitchens are well stocked with gear that is in great condition. The private hot tubs are the perfect place to soak your achy muscles after 15 miles of hiking in GNP. The resort is small, pleasant, and the staff is responsive but unobtrusive. We didn't have any interactions with fellow guests and that was just what I was looking for - a private secluded cabin in the woods to unwind after long strenuous days of hiking. I will definitely return!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is great place to relax. With on sight swimming pool and exercise facilities you can just enjoy nature or you can go to the park for more adventure. There are numerous activities to partake in. The on sight staff are more than helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

In our minds, this is a perfect spot- small, secluded but with all the amenities mentioned in other reviews. It's a multi-season retreat; endless summer opportunities, views of Glacier's mountains across the river, cross country ski trails and spectacular fall colors. We waited a couple years for the opportunity to book the property and we are so thankful we came. Will definitely return when ever we can. Perfect for families or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tenmiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My family and I just finished a weeks stay at the resort. What a great place.. Cabins are clean and well kept. The resort has a heated indoor pool and each cabin has it's own hot tub on the deck. We highly recommend this resort if your looking for quiet and peaceful place to relax. As someone mentioned in another review, you are roughly 20 mins. from the nearest grocery store and 40 mins. from Whitefish so have some groceries upon arrival.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you are ever able to get into this property you will be lucky, but it is amazing. There are ten log cabins in the wilderness. All have full kitchens, washers and dryers, large hot tubs on the deck, wood burning fireplaces and are located about 10 miles from the west entrance to Glacier National Park. There is an indoor pool, cross country ski trails, and the managers are very accommodating. This is a time share property and availability is very limited, however we were able to stay here several times before we found units for sale on the internet...we are now owners. We have been here at many different times of the year and each trip has been incredible. Just being this close to Glacier National Park is amazing. The only negative is self catering is a must and the closest grocery stores are about 30 miles away in Columbia Falls. Make a good grocery list and shop for the week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mombork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed here as a family and had plenty of room to spread around and relax, and was perfect for making the day trips to and from West Glacier.

The problem is we could have picked a resort closer to Glacier National Park, but picked this resort because of the Internet. If you're looking to use the internet, and deciding your location based on it, don't do it - not here at least. I had some school work to do, and figured I could download some readings and get some work done on one of the off days. My dad had a business call he needed to take one morning. We couldn't do any of it.

We could not even look up family addresses on e-mail to properly address postcards.

Someone also set the hot tub to the max so we weren't able to get the setting fixed until the second to last day.

If a place offers internet but can't even give a strong enough signal to check e-mail, I'm bothered they advertise it in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evoptik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Came to resort by myself and had a wonderful time. Helped myself to the woodbox, beds were comfortable, was able to do laundry, and the hot tub was wonderful! And off the beaten track - so wonderful. I think it was 10 miles to the nearest gas station....I hope to invest in one of these timeshares, beautiful surroundings,

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tikaboohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
7.8 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
7.7 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
9.6 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.2 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Wilderness Resort

Property: Glacier Wilderness Resort
Address: 13400 Hwy 2 East, P.O. Box 295, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten log cabins in the Montana wilderness. Fully furnished, one and two bedroom units each with a hot tub, full kitchen and laundry. TV, DVD and WiFi (nominal fee). Gateway to Glacier National Park. Open year-round; Groomed X-C ski trails, Indoor Heated pool, exercise room and lodge. Enjoy the peace and quite of the Montana wilderness in comfort. We are located Approximately MM 163.1 On US HWY 2 East. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Wilderness Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Wilderness Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing