We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing KOA!”
Review of West Glacier KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Glacier KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazing KOA!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed in dozens of KOAs and this is absolutely one of the best. From friendly, helpful and acccodating staff, to the best facilities for kids (playground and warm pool) and adults (great cook shack), great sites, location and area, this KOA has it all!

We really enjoy the deluxe rv sites, with great deck furniture, a great bar bq and really nice landscaping. Given that are season is so short, we usually open our season here in May, and finish it off in September. We're booked in for next spring already!

Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: The Deluxe RV sites are large, easy to access, satellite-friendly and have nice patios with great Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    46
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
127
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have stayed in many campgrounds but this one has my vote as the best. Facilities are clean, tidy and the staff is extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Our pull through site had a cement patio, bar bq, fire pit, patio furniture and was meticulously landscaped. Who could ask for more....definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've stayed at some nice KOA's but this was near the top or the top! They have most anything you'd need here and their deluxe cabins are laid out in beautifully landscaped spots. We stayed in the medium deluxe...excellent DISH network, HD TV, grill, deck, cabin was spotless, TV in bedroom as well. Heating system in deluxe was outstanding and silent. Cell coverage was excellent. The wifi was ok until people started returning from the park..then it stinks...like most any KOA I've been in. I tethered my iPhone...and my 3G was much better.

I'd stayed here any day of the week. They have two hot tubs and a nice outdoor pool. Store is ok. Wood is $5.95 (whoa).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YooperNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location of the campground is beautiful and it is very well maintained and groomed. The only negative we had was the staff member that checked us in. I was told they just sold the last site that would accommodate our unit so as I thanked him and was leaving he said "Well I guess I could double check". Really?? I was then told they had 1 site left and it was a back in site. We took it and watched over the next 4 days as the lovely patio sites had multiple vacancies every night. It was never suggested that we could take the back in site and move the next day if they were fully booked. There was just no sense of trying to accommodate us. We always try to reserve and will continue to do so. Maybe the friendly hospitality is saved for folks with reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy200821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As with many other reviews I will add my 2 cents to them. This campground is in a great location, very close to Glacier National park entrance and the infamous going to the sun road. We were impressed with how well manicured the campground was. Nice pool and paved roads leading into the park, there were some limestone roads but these were very well maintained. The campground staff was always courteous and I felt the commodities in the store were fairly priced. Down falls of the campground were the restrooms. There seems to be a need for more of them. My children had to wait in line almost every time they went to the showers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhnukesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were thoroughly delighted when we pulled into this KOA after a long day of traveling. We were in a campers cabin after weeks of tenting it in the Pacific Northwest. The beds had very comfortable mattresses on them so all we needed were our sleeping bags. There is a cafe that served breakfast and dinner, an ice cream shop, great wifi, pool and hot tub, and super clean bathrooms and showers. We spent 4 nights and on the third day it poured. It was a Sunday so we asked where we could fine a place nearby where we could watch some football and were told right here in the lodge! So yes, spent the day in a lodge style building watching football and recharging our battery! Wonderful place very close to the National Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trunkbaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location for anyone visiting Glacier National Park. Well kept and close to the western entrance to Glacier, in an attractive forested area. We opted for a Patio RV site, at $89 the best of four levels for our three night stay.

When we arrived we noticed that the site hadn't been cleaned. The manager immediately sent over staff who swept, cleaned the BBQ and put up the umbrella. Things are pretty quiet in the Patio site area. Not so much in the Super Sites section which because of it's large grassy area attracts more families and partiers.

The biggest letdown was the restroom/shower rooms...crowded...quite antiquated. Serve both RV and tent campers. Someone at a sink could glance up at the mirror and see your face as you showered. An employee mentioned that the problem are being addressed in the new addition.

All-in-all our experience was positive. It was a great alternative to the crowded, dusty and noisy National Park campgrounds, which also for the most part aren't reservable.

Room Tip: Row two in the Patio sites if you're in an RV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbzspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
2.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
294 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier KOA

Property: West Glacier KOA
Address: 355 Half Moon Flats Rd., Highway 2, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Glacier KOA, we take personal interest in your camping experience and we want to make it your best. As a past KOA campground of the year, a recipient of the 2010 and 2011 KOA Founders Award, and a regular recipient of the KOA Presidents Award, you can rest assured we know what it takes to make camping great. Our resort-like atmosphere and amenities make us a premier choice for your stay. Located only 2 ½ miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park, you’ll find plenty of outdoor activities to keep you and your family busy and relaxed while vacationing with us. Tour Glacier National Park, reserve a Red-Bus Tour with GPI, book a rafting trip, hit the trails with a guided horseback ride, catch a trout or two in one of Glacier’s many pristine lakes, or be adventurous and take a helicopter tour! Whatever activities you decide to fill your day with, West Glacier KOA is the perfect place to relax from a long day of adventure. We offer a playground complete with a basketball court for you and your children. Our outdoor heated pool and hot tubs provide you with ample opportunity to unwind. Our game room is supplied with multiple arcades for the young ones or the young-at-heart. And if you’re worried about finding the ideal place for breakfast, we have you covered. Start your day right with breakfast straight from our own kitchen. Dinner? That’s a breeze too, with steak, fish, chicken, and ribs fresh and hot off the grill. Finish the evening right with a visit at SCOOPS, our very own ice-cream shop. So if you’re looking for a campground with great location surrounded by mountain panoramic views and northwest pine forests, West Glacier KOA is your campground. Please, take a moment and explore our site-we promise you’ll find plenty to keep you interested, entertained, and most of all, looking forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Glacier Koa Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing