We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”
Review of West Glacier KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Glacier KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at.

The location is a huge plus, it is just outside Glacier National Park, but feels secluded from the traffic on the main hwy.

The KOA staff was very friendly and we felt appreciated as guests. This KOA has an ICE Cream store in the evening, and also an outside area where they will serve you breakfast and supper for a small additional price.

We stayed in the KOA cabins and really enjoyed it as a family; our cabin had two rooms- one room with bunk beds, the other room with a double bed. BRING YOUR OWN BEDDING!

We would recommend this KOA for those who want to stay close to Glacier National Park, and we preferred this KOA over the KOA on the St. Mary side.

Room Tip: Bring your own bedding if staying in a KOA cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDeadVWBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    46
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
126
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edmonton, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Once again we have been WOWED by our stay at the West Glacier KOA. This is a KOA where all the staff treat you like family, and the facilities and amenities are fantastic. We would recommend this KOA to anyone with out hesitation whatsoever. Thanks so much to Maggie, Zaya, Gene, Isaac, Sue, Beth, Natasha, Casey, Ron, Carmen, Celia, Rose, Heidi and Linda (also sorry forgot the name of the gentleman who cooks breakfast) for making our stay FANTASTIC. Make sure you take time to eat the breakfast and dinner, you will not find better food or better value any where in the area. the huckleberry ice cream is the best you will find anywhere. if you are wanting to stay at a campground that will treat you like royalty while staying in a setting that is spectacular then look no further, this is the place to stay.........thanks to everyone for making our holiday so enjoyable. we look forward to returning in the future. Keep up the great work. there should never be a negative review of this KOA

Room Tip: if you are wanting to stay in a standard cabin, number 13 is a great cabin that will give you the af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtrtfromyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

With many other options in the area, this is no bargain. Look for non-branded campgrounds. You will pay far less and get much better service. We were so dissapointed by this property we will not use KOA unless no other options are available in the area we want to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulSchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very nice campground. The sites ranged from tenting spots at the back to sites with full hook-ups (except cable). The fully serviced sites are reasonably well spaced (typical KOA siting) and have fire pits and picnic tables. Our site was on the end of a row with full hook ups so we had plenty of room. The back in sites in the trees were quite crowded together but the place was full anyway. There is a good ice cream bar on site. We didn't try the restaurant but it looked good and the prices were reasonable. The washrooms and laundry were very clean and the showers were hot (go in the evening though). Beth at the front counter was very helpful and told us of a few places to go and see besides the park. Go to Pine Bridge on Saturday for the prime rib. Go early because it sells out FAST. We thought it was a bit pricey for a KOA but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful campground just a few miles from the entrance to Glacier NP and the Going to the sun road! There are several choices of campsites from the premium patio site to back-ins that are in the trees. My wife wanted the premium patio site and I have to say it was awesome! Nice concrete slab with tile picnic table, 4 burner gas grill, fire pit with benches and beautiful landscaping! Not any shade trees in these spots (which is what I like) but the amenities made up for it. The price was a little steep($90 a night) but then again seems like everything out there was high, typical I guess for a tourist location. They had a nice pool and playground area for the kids, bike and walking trails in the woods that were fun for the kids, ice cream shop, and even had someone that grilled steaks and stuff for evening dinner. The only negative thing I can say about this campground was the bathrooms/shower houses, they were to small, only 3 showers and I think there were maybe 3 shower houses. Not enough showers for a campground this size and I found myself waiting in line for a shower at times which I think is ridiculous if I am paying $90 a night to stay here! We have stayed at smaller KOAs with bigger showers and cost us a lot less! Other than that it was great, just wish they would build bigger and more showers. With all that said we would still stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

As in other posts, this KOA is close to GNP, it's clean and the staff is really good (thank you again to the gents who corralled our wayward pooch).
The BBQ flat iron steak is fabulous. You cannot beat it even in Kalispell.
We did notice some troubling water color (brown) arising from the ground after a rain. Not sure what that was - looked like perhaps a septic clean out is in order.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leonavalleydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The park is well laid out with pavement in the front area (store, ice cream parlor, bathrooms, playground, dining room) and gravel on the rest, but they seemed to treat the gravel as to keep down the dust, which was very nice.
The bathrooms were kept up very well and the staff was always friendly and helpful.
They have a program twice a week (Saturdays and Tuesdays, if I recall), where famed nature photographer Tom Ulrich comes in to do a one-hour presentation of his work in GNP as well as the rest of the world. It is quite extraordinary and worth the effort to make it.
Our site was a little tight (we had to roll in the awning to have a fire), but was not awefull.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-Staunton-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
2.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
292 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier KOA

Property: West Glacier KOA
Address: 355 Half Moon Flats Rd., Highway 2, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Glacier KOA, we take personal interest in your camping experience and we want to make it your best. As a past KOA campground of the year, a recipient of the 2010 and 2011 KOA Founders Award, and a regular recipient of the KOA Presidents Award, you can rest assured we know what it takes to make camping great. Our resort-like atmosphere and amenities make us a premier choice for your stay. Located only 2 ½ miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park, you’ll find plenty of outdoor activities to keep you and your family busy and relaxed while vacationing with us. Tour Glacier National Park, reserve a Red-Bus Tour with GPI, book a rafting trip, hit the trails with a guided horseback ride, catch a trout or two in one of Glacier’s many pristine lakes, or be adventurous and take a helicopter tour! Whatever activities you decide to fill your day with, West Glacier KOA is the perfect place to relax from a long day of adventure. We offer a playground complete with a basketball court for you and your children. Our outdoor heated pool and hot tubs provide you with ample opportunity to unwind. Our game room is supplied with multiple arcades for the young ones or the young-at-heart. And if you’re worried about finding the ideal place for breakfast, we have you covered. Start your day right with breakfast straight from our own kitchen. Dinner? That’s a breeze too, with steak, fish, chicken, and ribs fresh and hot off the grill. Finish the evening right with a visit at SCOOPS, our very own ice-cream shop. So if you’re looking for a campground with great location surrounded by mountain panoramic views and northwest pine forests, West Glacier KOA is your campground. Please, take a moment and explore our site-we promise you’ll find plenty to keep you interested, entertained, and most of all, looking forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Glacier Koa Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing