We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Lake Five Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Five Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at many different camp sites in canada and the usa, and Lake Five is by far the best! The resort is beautiful, the lake is warm and the owner, Ron is so friendly and accommodating. We have booked for this summer once again, and we are already counting down the days! We are from Medicine Hat, Alberta and will gladly make the 5 hr drive every summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudytremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    24
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
33
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Lake Five Resort this past summer and we were so pleased. Honestly I don't even know where to start. We had just camped for about five days and decided to treat ourselves to a cabin. My fiancé had just proposed to me the day before in East Glacier and we wanted to celebrate. We knew we would have to look for something that would fit within our budget and we just took a chance and turned down the road with the Lake Five Resort sign. I knew when we pulled up that we probably couldn't stay there.. it was just too nice. Ron greeted us immediately and handed us several sets of keys for us to take a look at the cabins that were available and pick one. We of course wanted the best one right on the water... it was so beautiful. It was just the start of the season so not many people were there and he worked with us on the price. He was so accommodating. He let us take life jackets and ores to our rooms so we could use the canoes at anytime for a flat rate. He encouraged us to go at night which was amazing.... bats were everywhere while the sun set on the lake and we were the only ones on the water. During the day the lake was a perfect blue with bald eagles soaring overhead and mountains in the background. Our cabin was super clean and everything worked properly. Ron played music during the evening hours on his great outdoor sound system. I just loved Ron's attitude. He is so laid back and helpful with everything. We felt like we were not just his guests but also his friends... and for the one night we were part of his little community... this gem on this great piece of land. I would highly recommend this resort and am so thankful for the wonderful experience! Thanks again Ron and Cody!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I can think of nothing more rewarding than being third generation in a century old operation sharing a special place with special people. And only one thing is nicer than new customers discovering Lake Five, realizing our combination of scenery and accommodation, service and attention mixed with tranquility is unique. That's when you get a year or two coming back under your belt and you find you are part of our Lake Five family. They're from all over Montana, America and the world and they're the best. Together we live the good life and play the good tunes. We don't litter and we're nice. Bring CD's next time you visit with your favorite songs to run through the JBL's on the stage. You are welcome any time and we're glad you fit in.
—Ron and Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a fabulous time staying in Cabin 9 with our 8 month old baby. The cabin was so cozy and beautiful. Baby started teething while we were there and, if you are a new parent trying to include your new addition in your adventures, this was a great cabin to stay in. Lots of space around you so you don't have to worry about keeping the neighbors awake. We were on a 2 1/2 week road-trip and I am SO glad we found this place. Very warm, clean, and comfortable with a refrigerator, stove, and oh-so-valuable kitchen sink with hot water - an absolute must for washing bottles. Built in the 19-teens or early 20s, simply staying in such a place was almost overwhelmingly peaceful. In response to the earlier post complaining about no utensils in the kitchen - duh. When you make reservations, you will clearly know what is available. I must say, not having utensils was really no big deal. We bought some paper plates/utensils at the local store and brought a camping cook pot set with us. If you are planning to visit Glacier National Park, this really is a gem. I am going to recommend this resort to all of my friends, and can't wait until my next opportunity to stay here. We stayed in the early fall, when temperatures were up and down and having such a cozy place to stay, with a nice old-fashioned wall heater, made us so glad to arrive "home" each night. My expectations were exceeded, and I got a lot of points from DH for finding such a quiet, relaxing, cozy, clean, affordable, and perfect place. He just reminded me that staying here was the highlight of his trip.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is more isolated than the others - perfect if staying with a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are happy you were pleased with your stay at the Lake Five Resort and hope the teeth that broke through gums at Lake Five stay straight. Bring the child back any time you want. There's no better place in the world to learn swimming and socializing with other kids. We will try to live up to your kind recommendations. We're cooling off and the nights are starting to freeze so we're probably going to blow the water lines soon and call 2013 a done deal. It's been a great summer and fall and sharing our place with patrons who recognize the deal we offer is our pleasure.
Always welcome, Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend a relaxing weekend in Lake Five Resort's cabin 12. What a delightful retreat! Having read the amenity descriptions on the web site before arriving, we were well prepared to enjoy the cabin for our three day getaway! The view of the lake from the deck is breathtaking and we spent many hours telling stories by the campfire. Our friends brought their camper and were able to hook-up right next door to the cabin! It was a memorable weekend!

Room Tip: Be sure to read the details of the cabin you will be staying in - like many resort cabins, you must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for sharing a nice weekend with us and thanks for complying with our request that you provide your towels and cooking items. The establishments that do provide kitchen supplies are not meeting the stringent regulations set forth by the health department. The regs are just this side of impossible so thanks for providing your own. We will continue to try to make up for it with cleanliness of quarters, friendly service and the nicest location this side of the promised land. Our customers help these days by keeping the grounds clean. We're getting better and better around here every year. It's our pleasure to provide the place. Thanks for providing the company. —Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Who ever heard of a kitchette without one utensil, not one cup, not anything to cook with!

The cabin was beautiful and the lake area was nice but it is wayyyy to expensive for what we got. We are midwesterners and didnt want to ruffle any feathers but the bill for how sparse the kitchenette was a shocker. We will be back Lord willing to fish next year but will look for other cheaper off season accommodations that have supplied kitchens.

Campground is quiet and private.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricjoyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed because we do not supply cooking items and utensils with our kitchen equipped cabins. Our web site clearly tells our guests about this and suggests they send a box of their own items to our address before they arrive. The requirements dictated by the health department are nearly impossible to comply with when it comes to sanitizing these items for use by the public. We chose years ago to avoid this by suggesting guests provide their own pots, pans and dishes. If asked, we can provide the necessities and it is then the responsibility of the customer to clean things to their satisfaction prior to their use. You were told of this situation prior to your arrival and you did not request any supplies. You said in your review that you are a mid-westerner and do not like to ruffle feathers. You apparently, won't even request a favor to avoid your disappointment yet you will go to a reviewing site and post a negative comment for others to read. You would probably have been issued the items you required. The comments we heard while you stayed with seemed to be positive. We can't read minds and can't tell when somebody needs attention unless we are told of the need. A request for an item or two does not ruffle a feather around here. A negative review while not being told of the situation during the course of a customer's stay does. We're up front and wish you could have been too. Try us again sometime because we try harder than the rest and are way more honest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovell, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you like history and authenticity, Lake Five is wonderful. The cabins are each uniique, old but updated. New beds this year. If you like artistic, the lake reflects the surrounding mountains in shades of green trees. If you like to swim, this is one of the warmest lakes in the area.

And if you are looking for quiet, come in September. I go to mend my soul.

Be sure to bring your own towels, and it you forget, or come spur or the moment, ask.

Lake .Five is only a few minutes from the main road, access is easy, and Ron has two rules. Be nice. And have fun.

Room Tip: Ron has excellent sites for travel trailers and tent spaces, and some lake shore teepees as well. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarefootPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. I don't know however if some folks would appreciate a rule requiring they have fun but we sure like seeing it happen. Don't litter and be nice will probably continue being our primary rules. We hope having fun is more appropriate when being nice and one can always hope those finding fun while not being nice learn the difference. Our pleasure is easing the tensions of life with a peaceful stay at Lake Five and glad it worked for you. May that influence your sermons and your folk.
—Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We rented an RV in Kalispell and headed to Lake Five for four nights with our son and his wife and two boys. It was an easy drive and quick set up at the resort on a site backing on to the lake. Our two preschool grandsons loved the lake and easy hikes in the area. We enjoyed the easy access to nearby Glacier National Park. The management was friendly and very helpful. This is a great location for RV's and for spending a family vacation.

Room Tip: The lake side sites and cabins are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertwford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
337 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
252 reviews
10.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Five Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Five Resort

Property: Lake Five Resort
Address: 540 Belton Stage Rd, PO Box 338, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Five Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, RV sites camp sites and tipis right on Lake Five. Boating, fishing, volleyball, horse shoes and a playground for the kids. Three miles west of West Glacier. Best swimming in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Five Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake 5 Resort
Lake Five Hotel West Glacier
Lake Five Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing