We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!”
Review of Lake Five Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Five Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful getaway for families and couples. The campground is the cleanest we've ever been to and the hospitality was second to none. The lake is breathtaking, clear blue and warm. Ron took very good care to make sure our experience was the best we've ever had. Just meeting Ron for the first time this trip, we felt very comfortable and were sorry to have to leave. We spent a week at Lake Five Resort and we will definitely be back. The washrooms and showers are very clean. No garbage or debris anywhere to be found. The entire resort is very well looked after which means a lot to us. We even enjoyed an ice cream while listening to awesome music from the Belton Stage! We truly enjoyed our camping experience and everything this resort had to offer.

Karen and Bill Angus, Calgary, AB Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you. It's nice to see our efforts are noticed and appreciated. Sharing with observant and conscientious folks is our pleasure. Slick really appreciates the door mat you left for him too. Come back any time. September and October are perfection. —Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    24
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
33
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were there for a Family Reunion a few weeks ago and the place was GREAT. After an exhausting 6 hour drive in extreme heat, we were greeted by Ron (and his dog) which was a pleasure and all our travel stress melted away. It was a BEAUTIFUL campground and the lake was VERY CLEAN, WARM, REFRESHING AND A LOT OF FUN. WE WOULD LOVE TO COME BACK AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in our travel trailer with 4 and 5 yr old daughters for 3 days...it was quite an experience.

The grounds are heavily used and extremely congested small sites, but to the keepers were diligent at maintaining things. The sites are all wooded, but that doesn’t' mean much when the 4 inch of tree trunk is the only thing separating your camper from the neighbors. I got lucky that our site was near the front as I would have never been able to get into most of the other sites. In fact one guy in a 30 ft travel trailer went around 3 times trying to get in and other folks had to move to make room for his maneuvering.

There are several permanent sites (folks with appliances installed outdoors and decks built on the ground) and a ton of ATVs...being driven by kids. Not being a burly local Montanan, I didn't fit in. There is virtually no grass at the sites, so it was a chore to keep things clean, especially after a rain shower.

The dump station is in the middle of the campground, right by the playground (gross!!)

The folks running the place are very nice people, but they are a very strange mix of hippie yet so tyrannical with rules that it was uncomfortable. Ron was very helpful, but their business practice left a bit to be desired...writing a check to make a reservation for example.

The lake was awesome! The water temp was at least 75 degrees in the first week of July. The beach was more rocky than sandy, but the kids still had fun. They had a trampoline, diving board, slide, canoes, etc.

The price was nuts...almost $200 for 3 nights.

If doing Glacier again, I would camp elsewhere but come here and pay the daily use rate for the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Alisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Some folks require the corporate experience. The Lake Five Resort is not but our attention to detail will not be rivaled by our franchised competitors. You have to fit in here and be friendly. You can't litter and you have to be nice. Many of our customers have been returning for decades. They are burly Montanans, Americans and Canadians. They are farmers and roughnecks, rallroaders and engineers making the machinery for our world. They know how to back up a trailer. They vacation with us because they love Lake Five. They fit in. Some don't and they have to go away. —an old hippie who loves his customers—most—Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Cabin 12, which was absolutely fabulous. This cabin is secluded from the rest of the campground and is perfect for anybody who wants to have some time to themselves. And the campground itself was pleasant and well maintained. Our hats off to Ron and his crew for providing such a nice place to stay. We live far from MT, but will come back to Lake Five when we visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks. You must be a burly Pennsylvanian. Just kidding. Always, you are welcome. —Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort was packed when we arrived. The beach was well used, and the speakers on the oval were blasting out some great music.
We thought this was a great spot, but then we were given our site. Absolute tiny, with neighbors so close that we could hear snoring through the night. The sites were sloped from a steep hill and the rain washed onto the tent.
Sorry, but we left a little damp and dirty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We don’t please everybody but we try. Had you voiced your disapproval to us we would have tried to find you an alternative site and had that not met with your approval we would have written you a check for refund. You could have patronized any of our competitors and the guy filling your void would have likely been happy with the site. It would have been better for you and for the guy wishing he had your spot but you failed to speak up at the time. That’s how it works. Next time you are in a camp and disappointed, have the determination to voice your disappointment to the management so they can try to help you. Running to Trip Advisor to express your disappointment after saying nothing to the establishment is a little lame. We try to warn people about how our place gets when we’re full. Most are happy to have a spot in our camp by Lake Five but not all. The following disclaimer is copied directly from our web site.

The Lake Five Resort offers a delightful atmosphere and we have the best customers in the world. There are smiles on faces and fun goes on. July and August are busy. Cabins are often full. Sites are packed with RV’s, tents and people. Bathrooms and showers are in demand and the lake can be wavy from boats but even when it’s busy, tranquility and fun mesh and magic prevails. Almost a hundred percent of our guests enjoy our camp. They like the diverse crowd and they meet friends.

There are weekends when campsites are full between Flathead Lake and Glacier Park and we will be too. It might be, that the ideal Lake Five experience lies in the timing. If you desire a private vacation environment, the seven-week stretch starting the first week of July might not be for you. Try us in June or in September. The crowd has not arrived or is gone and the place will be yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love Lake Five Resort. This was our second year camping there and we loved it again! We have searched the surrounding areas and have found nothing that compares. Ron keeps a very well maintained resort. The beach is fantastic, the campsites are treed and well kept. It is THE family destination in Montana.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCanuck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the attaboy but I'd be in the deep stuff without my far out crew and our far out customers pulling their load by not littering and being nice and earning their Good Guy Discounts. We all work hard to keep our place clean and comfortable, you guys included. It makes my days way nicer. Attaboy to you and your family too. —Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite lake in MT. It's warm and absolutely beautiful. We hadn't been there in 14 years and it was just as great as I'd remembered. Only problem is you never want to leave. Ron takes extreme pride in his property and it shows!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtimesx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakefivehenry, Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the nice words. It is my pleasure indeed to share this little place with conscientious people. Please though, don't wait another 14 years to return. Try us in September—reduced rates plus the Good Guy Discount. It's pretty good for sure. —Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
2.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
337 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
304 reviews
4.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Five Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Five Resort

Property: Lake Five Resort
Address: 540 Belton Stage Rd, PO Box 338, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Five Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, RV sites camp sites and tipis right on Lake Five. Boating, fishing, volleyball, horse shoes and a playground for the kids. Three miles west of West Glacier. Best swimming in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Five Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Five Hotel West Glacier
Lake 5 Resort
Lake Five Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing