We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of attention to detail drags this place down to "just average."” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Northern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Northern Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lack of attention to detail drags this place down to "just average."”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

My parents, aunt and I booked the Wapiti cabin at Great Northern based on the reviews posted on this site. Our first reaction upon seeing the cabin was dismay – it gives a very unpleasant first impression. Once we spent some time there though, we realized it wasn’t that bad.

The problem with this place is the lack of attention to detail. As you walk up to the office from the parking lot to check in, you’re greeted by a terrace garden full of weeds and dead/dying flowers. It looked as though someone had planted it in the early summer, and then completely forgot about it. Other establishments in the area had beautiful flowers, so it wasn’t due to weather or time of year. The rest of the grounds, and to an extent the cabins, suffer similarly.

The deck and front entrance to the cabin were dirty, as were the chairs there. I realize that outdoor furniture gets dirty, but for the price we paid ($235 USD per night), I don’t expect to have to clean chairs before I can sit down. When we entered the cabin it looked dark, gloomy, sparse, and dirty. On closer examination, it was fairly clean (except for the filthy, bent, metal horizontal blinds on all the windows). If they replaced the window treatments with something more in keeping with the rustic cabin theme, and opened them up to let some light in before guests arrived, it would help considerably. There was a small stack of old, worn mismatched (but clean) towels and potholders on top of the microwave in the kitchen that added to the initial sense of grime. A few new matching linens, which can be obtained at minimal expense, would brighten up the kitchen area immensely.

The main problem we encountered was the lack of furniture. The cabin’s three queen-sized beds allowed for sleeping room for six, but there was only room for three to sit comfortably in the living room area. A single couch and a wooden bench for two, along with the two wooden benches that went with the dining table were the only places to sit. In addition, the couch is placed facing the dining table. If you want to sit on it and look at the fire or watch TV, you have to rearrange the furniture. The inadequate lighting is all placed overhead, which gives the rooms a dark, gloomy look and feel. Some table lamps would help considerably. Upstairs, there are no closets and only one armoire in the loft area for hanging clothes. The only dresser was located in the other bedroom area. If you were there with another couple, you’d have to go into each others’ rooms to get your clothes. It’s as though the owners/manager never visualized staying there or gave any consideration to functionality.

We also had trouble with the electrical outlets – about half are loose from the wall and won’t hold an appliance plug. There was no hot water the last night, and although none of the circuits were tripped, flipping them seemed to restore power to the water heater.

There was some noise from the highway out front and the railroad down the way, but probably not enough to bother most people.

It’s sad that there is so little attention to detail and upkeep, because this could be a really nice, comfortable place. The scenery is magnificent. As it is, it’s merely clean and basic, which if OK, but not at the prices charged.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciersnow, Owner/Manager at Great Northern Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Thank you so much for your review. All your points are very valid and are already being addressed. Great Northern Resort (as it is now called) has been under new ownership since April 1st 2010. We are infusing new energy into the business and are very excited to have taken on this project. The West Glacier area is just the best place to be (in my view of course) and we hope that our cabins will reflect our love of the area.
We are grateful for the constructive criticism and we are looking forward to looking after our guests and making sure they have a wonderful vacation in Glacier National Park and the surrounding area. See you in West Glacier, Montana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    26
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

Stayed in the Two Bear cabin for one night. Be sure to read their cancellation policy as it requires payment well in advance and is not very forgiving. However, our stay was satisfactory in almost every respect. Clean two story cabin with sleeping quarters on second floor with nice balcony, living area, TV, bath, and kitchen on first floor. Requires stair climbing for trips to bathroom in the middle of the night. Trains pass fairly close and can be heard but are not too intrusive. If you are a sound sleeper they probably won't bother you. Actually, you can hear the trains from most places in West Glacier. The park entrance is within a half mile. Lovely setting with views of surrounding mountains. All in all, if you are certain of your schedule and will not have to cancel, I highly recommend these cabins.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bedroom & Bath on different floors
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow,MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

We were a party of 4 adults and 2 teenagers. We stayed in the Moose cabin for 4 nights. The cabin was spacious, with a full kitchen
(microwave, cook top, no oven ), one private bedroom with a separate door upstairs and the other with 2 beds that was open to the top of the stairs. There was a full bath upstairs and a half bath downstairs. A T.V with cable (but not a DVD player) was downstairs. The cabin had plenty of towels, shampoo, etc. WIreless internet was avaliable. The unit was well cleaned when we arrived. There was no housekeeping while we were there- which was fine with us. The resort is located right off the main road so it was easy to find.

The week we were there was hot. The cabin had fans, but no AC. The fans worked pretty well to cool things off.

Check the office hours before you go- they are limited and they may be different than those posted on their web site. We called before we got there ( we arrived at 8:15 pm)and because the office was going to be closed they left the key out for us.

Also note that the drive from Spokane will take closer to 5 hrs not 4 hrs as stated on the web site.

One of the best features of the resort was the proximity to the entrance to the park. We also took the all day white water rafting trip. The first few hours were pretty tame- we stopped for lunch (burgers, chicken, steak- nicely done) and then had the last few hours of more challanging white water.

Overall it was a great fit for our needs and we had a wonderful time at the park.

  • Liked — Proximity to the park
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed at the Wapiti for 7 nights. Both my husband and I, along with our 2 adult sons enjoyed the cozy atmosphere and also the size of the Chalet. Our son's room had 2 queen size beds and our room had 1 queen size bed. Both rooms have cathedral ceilings with both rooms having access to the upper deck balcony. We truly felt like it was our home for the week. The staff will take care of your needs, but not intrusive to come in every day. All the rooms are spacious and decorated appropriately for the area. The chalets are very close to the entrance of West Glacier. Although the water was too high to do the paddle & saddle, we did do the 2-hour horseback riding trail across the road at the Rawhide Trading Post, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Liked — felt like home
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RandR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

First -- a little background. We decided this summer to do a 10-day driving vacation, starting in Seattle, then Vancouver, Banff, Glacier National Park, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, Jackson Hole, and ending in Salt Lake City. As the date for our flight to Seattle drew closer and closer, my work deadlines were keeping me from making reservations. Finally -- with about a week to go -- I turned to tripadvisor.com, read the top hotel reviews for our key stops, then made my reservations. As those of you with more than four in your family (we have five: my wife and me, plus two teenagers and a nine year old) know, it can be a real challenge finding suitable accommodations that don't leave someone sleeping on a sofa or on the floor. Almost without exception, our hotels were real winners, with a couple real gems, and just one clunker. And no one had to sleep on the floor.

Of course, our vacation just happened to fall during the HEAT WAVE OF THE CENTURY. When we arrived from Banff by way of Glacier National Park -- at about 8pm (still sunny, that time of year) -- the cabin (Two Bears) was completely closed up and very hot. There is no air conditioning, just one fan upstairs. I set up the fan to push the hot air out, and by 11pm it was almost comfortable enough to sleep. Other than that, the accommodations were fine for our family of five (two beds upstairs, a sleeper sofa downstairs) and I liked the rustic feeling of being in a cabin in the wilds of Montana. We ended up booking a whitewater raft trip at the resort, which turned out to be a GREAT call. My wife and kids had never before done whitewater rafting, and we had a great time. Food at the resort was nothing to write home about -- we instead had dinner at a trading post/restaurant in town that was quite good (the name escapes me...). Long story short, a good choice, but it would have been nice if the place hadn't been so hot when we checked in.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank bizzwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed at the GN Whitewater in early September - being just a party of two, we opted for one of the two smaller accommodations (Osprey). The size of the cabin was absolutely fine - downstairs had a small living area and kitchen, and a small (and reasonably basic) bathroom. Upstairs was the bedroom with two comfy double beds and a balcony. It was all reasonably clean too. We had a gas barbecue outside but it was very old and didn't work - luckily there were no guests in the cabin next door so we were able to use theirs instead, which was much newer and actually worked! We had a chance to look in the bigger cabins and I must say they are better appointed (with air conditioning for one thing, which Osprey didn't have, although a fan was provided).

The location is just off a main road and I would not say that the views were particularly impressive, but it was far enough away from the street not to have any noise at night and was very peaceful. There is a restaurant over the road, otherwise other shops/restaurants are in West Glacier whuich is just a couple of minutes' drive away. The main entrance to the National park is also just a few minutes' drive away.

The staff were all lovely - all very helpful and happy to answer any questions we had. We also did a rafting trip which was very enjoyable.

Overall I would recommend this accommodation, especially if you are looking to stay in one of the larger cabins.

  • Liked — Lovely looking cabin, nice staff
  • Disliked — no air con in the smaller cabins
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Our group of 4 families stayed in 2 of the larger cabins. Plenty of space for sleeping, cooking, eating, and relaxing. The grounds were ideal with a fire ring, barbecues, volleyball court, and pond. Great view of the surrounding mountains and forest leading to the entrance to Glacier National Park. Other accomodations in the area did not compare in terms of age, quaintness, setting, location, and comfort.

  • Liked — Enhancement of national park experience
  • Disliked — Grocery store 15 miles away
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
1.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
11.7 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Property: Great Northern Resort
Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Northern Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 log cabins provide a perfect base camp for exploring beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you. Enjoy a full kitchen with all linens, dishes and cookware. Resort activities include whitewater rafting and fishing trips, as well as paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Great Northern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing