We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Northern Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

2 Bears cabin was great, plenty of room for 4. The view of the mountains was beautiful. The cabin was very cute and everything was in good shape. Lots of big fluffy bath towels. No problem cooking, kitchen was well equiped. No oven, but the burners worked fine and the gas grill was great. Also had toaster, microwave and coffee pot. It was quiet and relaxing. The train and street noise were minimal. Stop in Columbia Falls to grocery shop. The closer store in Hungry Horse is very limited.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shaoyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Great Northern Resort and can't say enough about how great our vacation was! Our group of 14 had three chalets and all were very clean and spacious. Loved the sleeping setup (one bedroom plus a loft with 2 additional beds in the larger chalets and a loft with two beds in the smaller chalet) and also loved that there were full kitchens in each. There was a nice bonfire area with plenty of chairs to sit around at night and we also enjoyed sitting on the deck up by the office area and playing horseshoes.

We did a scenic float and shoreside dinner our first full day and it was a great way to get familiar with the area and take in the scenery. Our guides (Kevin & Tomas) were fantastic! They were so friendly and helpful with our large group! The dinner they cooked for us was delicious and all had a great time. We also went whitewater rafting with the resort and had a blast!

All of the staff/guides were awesome and we can't say enough about them. They were eager to give us recommendations for restaurants/bars, hiking trails and anything else we had questions on.

We would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Great Northern Resort…we’re already trying to figure out when we can get back!

Thanks so much! – The Adams

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kladam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed in the chalets for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. We went whitewater rafting with our guide Kevin, who was very knowledgable and safe. The park is almost right outside your door and the views from your cabin are amazing. Thank You, The Busboom's

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank busboomx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at the Great North Resort in West Glacier. We stayed at the chalets in January, but that didn't stop our fun! We had absolutely amazing food provided by Earth Angel Organics, who I hear also provides the food for the raft trips in the summer. We liked having the kitchen in the chalet too so we could warm the food back up for snacks at our leisure.

We also went to the Belton Chalet for drinks one night and had a great time in their Tap Room. The chalet is about a quarter mile east of the chalets.

My husband and I enjoyed getting cozy together in front of the fire watching TV or reading while a blizzard raged outside. But that blizzard didn't stop our fun either. Nic, who owns the resort with his wife Victoria, not only brought over a snow blower to make sure we had a path to our car after the storm subsided, but he also took us snowshoeing in Glacier National Park. We've been to the park in the summer, but it was really cool to see the park from the winter perspective. The views of the mountains covered in snow from our windows was a real treat, too.

I highly recommend the Great Northern Resort!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had great weather and spent most of our days outside, but at the end of the day we enjoyed having all the creature comforts...grills on the deck, tv, friendly hosts. Our guide was knowledgable and patient and gave us enough info for us to venture out on our own the next day. Highly recommend this place for both lodging and guide service. They do rafting trips too but we will have to come back for that.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spalabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We went on a vacation with extended family to celebrate my in laws 50th anniversary. We stayed at the Great Northern Resort. It was great. The place was spacious and there was also a place to cook and eat. We rented two of the larger "cabins" definitely nicer than we expected. We also went rafting with the same outfit, the guides were great and the dinner that they cooked us on the beach was wonderful! This definitely was one of the highlights of our trip as also the was the sights of Glacier National Park. What was great was that this place was just 5 minutes from the west side of the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justhavingfun2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed at the Great Northern Resort Sept. 26-29 and wished we had stayed longer. We stayed in the Wapiti unit; an open bedroom with 2 queens along with a more private seperate bedroom w/ queen, both of which are upstairs with a roomy full bath. Beautiful bedding and so comfy. Perfect for the chilly West Glacier nights. The cabin had everything we needed and then some. We enjoyed the fireplace downstairs AND the fire pit outside. What means the most to us is cleanliness and this place was spotless. We enjoy traveling in the Fall and this was a great find for us, on many levels. West Glacier has a lot to offer in the way of hiking trails, scenery, fishing, kayaking, etc. This was the perfect base camp for us. Travelers included myself, my husband and my Dad. We all adored Great Northern Resort and hope to come back again and again. Thanks to Victoria for a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakesaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
1.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.2 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Property: Great Northern Resort
Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Northern Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 log cabins provide a perfect base camp for exploring beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you. Enjoy a full kitchen with all linens, dishes and cookware. Resort activities include whitewater rafting and fishing trips, as well as paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Great Northern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing